Samsung I9100 Galaxy S II preview: Second encounter

13 April 2011
Having earned its place in the Android hall of fame, the original Galaxy S can start thinking about retirement. And these won’t be thoughts of fear and worry. With a replacement on its way, the veteran can look forward to getting the respects it deserves...

Sort by:

vatson, 14 Apr 2011wel i think its just waste of money....will prefer Nokia symbian... moreQuite expensive, but this is the cure for people who are sick of slow and frustrating web browsing experience. Mainly Nokia, and in my case WinMo 6.5... =.=

wel i think its just waste of money....will prefer Nokia symbian 3 device, C7 or N8.....its better n value for money.....

  • Anonymous

What about the UI auto rotating problem someone reported in a Russian review?

Laurynas, 13 Apr 2011For example look at this, people has voted! http://www.mysams... more102 person sample doesn't justify your hypothetical statistic of 35% of Super AMOLED has this issue. If the user finds this problem, they are more inclined to visit forums and those don't find a problem won't bother talking about it. There are many factors that affect the poll on that site and many other sites that have similar poll. Over 10 million Galaxy S were sold world wide. 102 is just too small of a sample to say that 35% have the issue.

Also note that 10 million Galaxy S were sold and if this was such a huge problem, there would have been more articles and discussions about this. I'm sure GSM Arena would have had a front page article on it too. I wouldn't worry about it.

I think I just fell in love with TouchWiz 4.0 home screens. Perfect for checking out many information at one glance. It's great how you can fill a whole screen with information.
And finally a real fast, real smooth web browser!!! I'm sold... Now it just needs to be released.

Burn in shouldn't be a problem if you're aware of it and take care for it. Bash all you want, it won't be a big enough hassle to give up on such amazing display.

  • Cricket

Hey Guys,

When this will hit the United States ? and is it coming for AT&T ? Help plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Snake

Best phone to date. I would like to know how it performs after installing many apps and storing data because my galaxy s started to lag after about one month. They should even test multitasking if it lags when opening many apps simultaneously.

  • Laurynas

For example look at this, people has voted!

http://www.mysamsungwave.com/i...topic=2988.0

  • Anonymous

i dont understand why samsung decided to have the microsd slot under the batt...so dissapointing....where as the first galaxy was hot swappable

  • Laurynas

Dave, 13 Apr 2011You are spamming stop it. You have posted the screenburn questio... more"There is no problem..."

If there is no problem then why internet is full of people complaining about a AMOLED and Super AMOLED "Burn-In" effect (Samsung Galaxy S and Samsung Wave both) ??? Just GOOGLE!!!

P.S. Sorry for spaming, but I'm just interested, because I like Galaxy S II and "Burn-In" effect may be a real problem. :(

Admittedly I am not a big fan of that Hub thing. The only hub I want is for Twitter/facebook. I prefer to keep my emails and texts apart and ind their own apps. So when I am getting a SGSII that is one of the things I will either not use or eventually remove.

Laurynas, 13 Apr 2011Remember that not only Samsung Galaxy S has AMOLED screens! Jus... moreYou said "Super AMOLED" which is [only] used by SGS series and Wave.
Agreed with Dave.

  • Dave

Laurynas, 13 Apr 2011And I'm not trolling, I'm just interested in it, thats why I'm t... moreYou are spamming stop it. You have posted the screenburn question on like 5 pages. There is no problem so stop spamming the same question.

  • Laurynas

chocoberry, 13 Apr 2011Over a 10 million SGS was sold, so if 35% of customers have real... moreAnd I'm not trolling, I'm just interested in it, thats why I'm talking about that.

  • rockambole

is SGSII multitouch?

  • Laurynas

chocoberry, 13 Apr 2011Over a 10 million SGS was sold, so if 35% of customers have real... moreRemember that not only Samsung Galaxy S has AMOLED screens!
Just Google for "AMOLED Burn-In"...

BTW, the video on page 3 writes "Motorola ATRIX 4G unboxing and user interface," not "Samsung Galaxy S II." Please correct it, lol.

Laurynas, 13 Apr 2011I have searched some info about a "Super AMOLED" and i... moreOver a 10 million SGS was sold, so if 35% of customers have really experienced burn-in, it would have been a large problem. NO, it did not happen. Here's the fact: you have been trolled, or you're trolling.

Laurynas, 13 Apr 2011I have searched some info about a "Super AMOLED" and i... morei dont think so.

  • Laurynas

I have searched some info about a "Super AMOLED" and its "Burn-In" effect and seams that about 35% of "Super AMOLED" users are telling that their screens are affected by Burn-In effect. And that is pretty sad!
So, it would be useful to know more official news about "Super AMOLED Plus" lifetime and "Burn-In" effect, I think it may be a big disadvantage! :(