Samsung I9100 Galaxy S II review: Brightest star

13 May 2011
It looks like the point where it all ends. A galaxy outgrowing its own limits. An explosion of energy and speed. An overdose of smartphone power. A phone that makes you love the smell of Android in the morning. The likes of Samsung I9100. Update: Samsung Dive overview added...

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

KPS, 14 May 2011Plus To Main disadv.: -screen is bad on the day light and colou... moreFinally someone that say the real things.

Samsung was bad with software lag, guess they still are.

Dual-core and things are still laggy like the phonebook. Fantastic.

FU Samsung, you won't be ripping me off with this so-called perfect phone. I will wait for another phone with fast UI response like the iphone, but that is not iphone before purchasing my next phone.

  • Anonymous

Now the review has been done (very good), can you confirm whether the facial recognition unlock with the front camera is included? Thanks.

Bricked, 14 May 2011No mention of the battery life *sigh* We'd best stock up on s... moreQuoted from page 3 of the review:

"In a real life scenario, it gave us over two days of moderate to heavy use (about an hour of browsing, some photos, several calls and half an hour of using the other phone features daily). We’ll be putting the Galaxy S II battery to a handful of tests in the coming days and this article will be duly updated. The most impatient among you should keep an eye on our blog on Monday when the first results will start to appear."

anonymouse, 14 May 2011be sporty man!!! Samsung has created a plastic monster like this... more
Plastic have their advantages too.
Compared to metal, plastic allows for thinner phones, gives less heat (as plastic is an insulator), is much lighter in weight, and doesn't slip, etc.
Moreover, Galaxy SII has textures plastic, so its immune to fingerprints, easy and secure to hold and quite good looking compared to glossy plastic.

Anonymous, 14 May 2011I heard the gs2 cant play tegra2 optimized games. Is that true?That's right, I've tried one of the "tegra2 optimized" games on SGS2 but error message popped-up telling it's not compatible :(

blame it on nvidia, they're using their old dirty tricks (desktop in the past, and now on mobile platforms) by forcing users to buy their products

it's all played in the drivers I think.

  • Bricked

No mention of the battery life *sigh*

We'd best stock up on spare batteries again.

Anonymous, 14 May 2011Agreed that this phone has raw power to handle heavy apps and vi... moreThats the third time you posted the same thing. Dont you have anything new to say other than posting the same thing again and again ??? To answer your ignorant questions, human eyes cannot distinguish between 60 fps or anything more. Most standard LCD monitors have a 60 fps cap. Modern games like Halo 3 have a 30 fps software cap. Yet its very smooth. Infact 24 fps is all thats required to give the illusion of motion.

"Touchwiz as usual looks very much cluttered like a 2yr old child's drawing"

Samsung has done a really good job with touchwiz in integrating functionality and cool gestures. If you don't like it, there are tons of launchers and other UIs that you get online.

"why would someone want a phone so much pricey with a copied design(even after copying iPhone this phone looks yuck...) and body made of such a cheap material ? "

There are millions of people who want this phone. If you don't want it, then why come here to post the same crap over and over again ????
And SGSII copies the iphone ? Really ? I didnt know that the iphone has its front side fully covered with gorilla glass, has a 4.3 inch phone, an S AMOLED+ display, a square shaped home button, camera at the centre, a huge samsung logo etc.

  • tungau

how about offline gps?....thanx


  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 May 2011Wow great review and has only 3 cons(disadvantages)and those are... moreThose within the reality distortion field.

  • Anonymous

Wow great review and has only 3 cons(disadvantages)and those aren't even big deal at all! Can't wait to play with it in person when it launches in my country! Who would still buy an iPhone when theres such monster phone like this one?!

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 May 2011Although the hardware of SS2 is average but i will buy it too!Th... moreaverage hardware, what phone you phone are you looking at

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 May 2011Agreed that this phone has raw power to handle heavy apps and vi... moreThe 60fps is a software cap to preserve energy. The fact is that the human eye can't see any difference above it (actually below it but you got to set the limit somewhere). Anyway, it's known that the mali-400 GPU in the SGSII is more powerful than tegra2 one, making it the most powerful GPU today. We'll have to wait for the HTC sensation to see how its GPU compares to the mali-400

  • Anonymous

Very Nice Phone but.... REALLY SAMSUNG?! Mono Audio Recording even in 1080p video?! WHAT????!!!!!

  • Anonymous

EskeRahn, 14 May 2011Ghee what a review! All pluses, and only complains about trifle... moreit is one hand useable, personally im appreciative that manufacturers have moved towards making larger handsets, for those of us built to a bigger scale its a godsend rather then the doll sized phones we used to get

  • Anonymous

I have had this phone for about a week and all i can say is wow. i can even play neo geo games like metal slug and shock troopers via the tiger mame emulator

  • jimu

Super slim body has poor grip when taking pictures

ahahahah!!! never happy!

one day you will complain like :"too perfect"

  • RejZoR

Impressive device. Though it looks almost exactly the same as LG Optimus 2X except for the back cover and the camera is not bulged out either. If Samsung will properly support this device, then it will be a killer one as cons aren't bad at all and there are just 3 of them.

Btw, any info on the glass used for screen? Is it Gorilla Glass or some other scratch resistant glass? I'm guessing there is...

  • KPS

Plus To Main disadv.:
-screen is bad on the day light and colours are not real
-laggy phonebook and dialer
-very poor battery life
-back cover became so hot after even 30 min of active using
-poor ergonimics,it is too big for one hand using
-and of course device without any taste in design,oh no it has so iphone style)))))))
-touc wiz is not practical for every day using!
-and because of this so high price tag!

  • paster

Plus To Main disadv.:
-screen is bad on the day light and colours are not real
-laggy phonebook and dialer
-very poor battery life
-back cover became so hot after even 30 min of active using
-poor ergonimics,it is too big for one hand using
-and of course device without any taste in design,oh no it has so iphone style)))))))
-touc wiz is not practical for every day using!
-and because of this so high price tag!

  • Owner

Hats off to you Gsmarena guys for a brilliant review....it was a little late but its certainly worth all the wait...keep up the good work and good luck.