Apple Watch Series 5
MORE PICTURES

Apple Watch Series 5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • jejemo

can you tell me about the screen scratch durability? I just bought mine 3 weeks ago and so far so good

  • LardVader

Dot, 30 Jan 2020After a normal day at work with always on I return in the evenin... moreI concur. Normal usage leaves you with 2 full days and 1-2 nights (idle) usage. I had Samsung smartwatch (last year's model) which didn't last so long.

  • LardVader

scorpio, 24 Jan 2020Ha ha. I actually had my s10 converted to an e-sim. Would not no... moreHi.
Well there should be no difference at all from the user perspective - other than easy switch of cell op. While (e)sim on a phone is obvious feature it's not so much on a watch. Or is it? ;-)

  • Dot

Anonymous, 05 Oct 2019How long will the battery last if you turn off the always on setting ?After a normal day at work with always on I return in the evening with 60% battery.. provided I dont use GPS and heart rate monitor

  • scorpio

LardVader, 23 Jan 2020Appreciate your feedback. It might convince me to upgrade to an ... moreHa ha. I actually had my s10 converted to an e-sim. Would not notice any difference. Just hope it works ok when I go overseas as I hadn't considered that.

  • LardVader

scorpio, 17 Jan 2020Understood. I purposely chose the LTE version so that I could be... moreAppreciate your feedback. It might convince me to upgrade to an LTE version once mine breaks down for good. It's just that carriers here are slow on implementing eSIMs on a greater scale. Seems they have made bad deals with SIM card makers. What else?

  • scorpio

LardVader, 16 Jan 2020I guess part of the problem is LTE connectivity. While everyone ... moreUnderstood. I purposely chose the LTE version so that I could be independent of my phone if need be and still be contactable by my office. It works brilliantly.

  • LardVader

scorpio, 15 Jan 2020I have a Samsung Galaxy watch 42mm LTE version connected to my s... moreI guess part of the problem is LTE connectivity. While everyone reports 18h for the AW(5) mine lasts ~2 days (charge it evening, use one day, another day and charge evening and so on).
My Samsung Watch S3 didn't last so long and both watches are the non LTE versions.

  • scorpio

LardVader, 03 Jan 2020Had Samsung Galaxy Watch Active v. 3 for a while and while it's ... moreI have a Samsung Galaxy watch 42mm LTE version connected to my s10 phone. It is an amazing watch and does virtually everything - make and receive calls, send and receive messages both sms and WhatsApp, receive emails, photos, change watch face from digital to analogue and change colours etc all independently of my phone. Its greatest drawback is that since it is the small face watch it has a smaller battery and with all connections always turned on I can only get about 20 hours of battery time which means charging every night.

  • LardVader

Anonymous, 05 Oct 2019How long will the battery last if you turn off the always on setting ?I often use it 2 full days (plus one overnight, sometimes two - where it stays on top of the desk but on). Recharge 2nd evening with still some (small) amount of "juice".
Rarely use it with always-on since I prefer longer battery life. Besides I find the OLED too bright even at the low setting. It should be dimmer when on. It's not and I think the reason is not us, but the hardware. ;-)

  • LardVader

Had Samsung Galaxy Watch Active v. 3 for a while and while it's great with the Android it worked pretty bad with the iOS which is understandable. On the other hand: a good choice if you only have Android. Especially at Amazon's price of well under EUR200.
It made me crave AW for a while but it's understandable that paying 3xmore* for a smartwatch can be a decision hard to make.
Finally, at a promotional price (~15% less than regular list price) I could afford AW 5 (and I planned 4 at best and 3 was more likely). Here's my opinion:

- overpriced (and for no reason, really) but if you make a watch to compete with Garmin etc ... they had to overprice it, since people will still buy it
- best watch for iOS users (or prove me wrong) that fully (!) utilises the iOS/WatchOS
- well made, well-behaving: no fooling around, apps not working etc
- battery life with always on is well over a day and with auto off - 2 days (unless you workout all day, then maybe no, I don't know)

Of course it's not that you don't notice failures of the AW but then - which watch doesn't fail somewhere?

  • romtags

Overpriced! Battery life sucks... Huawei gt2 is the best smartwatch😄

  • Oz

You know you can save a lot of battery if you just turn off the watch when you’re at home right? I don’t wear smartwatches when I’m at home, the same way I don’t wear an ordinary watch if I’m not leaving the house.

why i can not use ecg function in my watch series 5
not available in my region !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Tester

Anonymous, 05 Oct 2019How long will the battery last if you turn off the always on setting ?I get around two Days of light usage (no GPS) with about 17% around 11PM on the second day. With AOD on I end up with around 56% (still no GPS) at the end of the day, but it consumes around 10% overnight if You don't manually turn it off.

  • Anonymous

How long will the battery last if you turn off the always on setting ?

  • Sinpai

Black dude, 26 Sep 2019I don't care about price...all I care is.,heart rate monitor..or... moreDon't you care about the price so you're rich ?

I don't care about price...all I care is.,heart rate monitor..or ECG facility...if they don't upgrade this I won't go for latest model I wil stick with the old version..
500$ can save your life but can't use your savings when u die..why not worth taking care of health with few hundred dollars

Ripcord, 12 Sep 2019So the new Apple Watch now has AOD? Wow, didn´t we see th... more200 IQ comment right there!
The series 5 has AOD thanks to a new techonology in the display which reduces its power consumption. They could have done it before but decided that it wasnt worth the energy draw.

  • H1T3R

It is not delicious