Fairphone 3+
MORE PICTURES

Fairphone 3+

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

AlexMason, 15 Jan 2021Overpriced Green Phone. The phone design looks like a 10 ye... moreThe older design is pretty. Modern phones look all the same and it would seem like if they are regressing in usability.

  • brokemolotov

VA1DER, 20 May 2021Totally unobtanium in North America. It's already exp... moreIt's because they're still a relatively young and small company.
Shipping within Europe is way easier, thanks to the common market. Selling outside means a lot of different legal (warranty) and tax regulations, higher logistics costs and bureaucracy due to customs.
They are mainly focusing on consolidating in the European market and eventually expand, a little at a time, in more selected non-European countries.

  • John

I definitely love this easily repairable modular smartphone, but I do think that Fairphone can do with better hardware. If the next-gen Fairphone 4 has Snapdragon 678 or 860, an ultrawide camera, a bigger battery, and a bigger screen but no more than 6", that would be my next phone. I know that Fairphone is only available in European countries at the moment, but I do think that there are third-party retailers out there who can sell it outside Europe.

Aadrian, 17 May 2021The whole point of this phone is sustainability, durability... moreHe gets it, he simply doesn't care. Money is the only priority for him and many others.

  • VA1DER

Totally unobtanium in North America. It's already expensive, to buy here you have to buy from a second or third party reseller and pay even more. Why will they not ship to anywhere outside continental Europe?

I need money, 09 Apr 2021This phone is totally overpriced with such poor specs. The whole point of this phone is sustainability, durability, fairtrade and easy repairing. Organic food is also more expensive than not organic food. Buy a fairtrade chocolate bar at 100 grams and you pay twice as much a a non-fairtrade chocolate bar. The fact that this phone is FAIRTRADE means it is more expensive even with lower specs, because they only use fairtrade raw materials which are more expensive. If you don't care about fairtrade phones, buy a cheap other phone made by kids or people who work from 12-12 in mines. I really don't understand why people simply don't get it.

  • I need money

This phone is totally overpriced with such poor specs.

YUKI93, 27 Mar 2021Even if you buy a refurbished phone, it won't change t... moreAlso this is the most ethical mobile phone company as well. Blackberry comes second and Nokia comes third

AlexMason, 15 Jan 2021Overpriced Green Phone. The phone design looks like a 10 ye... moreEven if you buy a refurbished phone, it won't change the fact that repairability will still remain the same as usual. So if that refurbished phone is hard to repair, it will stay that way. So in the long terms, I would better off buying this phone. Heck, even the Fairphone 2, which is a 2015 model, has received an official Android 9.0 Pie update. I know that an Android 9 Pie update in 2021 sounds like a real joke, but for a 2015 Android phone with OFFICIAL support? That is not a joke at all! If only Google can do the same with the Huawei Nexus 6P...

AlexMason, 15 Jan 2021Overpriced Green Phone. The phone design looks like a 10 ye... moreI'd rather not.

  • Anon

sebastian, 19 Dec 2020and yet, it's people like him who reach the elite stat... moreWhat's the point? What can be gained can be lost. Running after stupid things like status like it is permanent. What's the logic behind that?

asd, 17 Jan 2021Yes that''s why redmi 7 is so cheap. It has all t... morebut you can kinda just erase the data of that thing and install different ROM. it probably has an unlocked bootloader. If you're not a person that likes tinkering, you might opt for cheaper, android one handsets. And still have better specs, while cheaper than this

AlexMason, 15 Jan 2021Overpriced Green Phone. The phone design looks like a 10 ye... moreIt looks more like a mid range phone from around 5 years ago

ValdikSS, 15 Jan 2021I'll buy it because Fairphone provides 5 year tech sup... morePlease inform if it has FM radio or not. I am also planning to buy the phone.

AlexMason, 15 Jan 2021Overpriced Green Phone. The phone design looks like a 10 ye... moreYou pay more for fair recourses, fair manufacturing etc. Same phone from another brand would be half the price, but hey they don't care about the environment or human rights or anything else that much, as long as it's affordable for people no matter how that affordability comes forth. Same like food, you pay more for organic food.

  • asd

xkonstantin, 14 Jan 2021So i get the concept of this whole thing, but they could pu... moreYes that''s why redmi 7 is so cheap. It has all the bloatware. Basically some apps paying companies to install software on phone. /e/ is earning only by selling you phone not by selling your data to others and is not getting money from other apps just to preinstall them.

  • AlexMason

Overpriced Green Phone. The phone design looks like a 10 years old android phone. I would rather buy a refurbished phone than this.

  • ValdikSS

xkonstantin, 14 Jan 2021So i get the concept of this whole thing, but they could pu... moreI'll buy it because Fairphone provides 5 year tech support, replaceable parts, and FP 3 has official /e/ and LineageOS support. That's basically all I need from the phone: long software support period, parts availability and custom OS with sources.

These aspects are almost never gets mentioned in the reviews.

So i get the concept of this whole thing, but they could put a better chip here. 360$ is really a lot of money for a phone with these specs. For comparison there is the redmi 7 for less than 100$ and the same specs. Now don't get me wrong, the concept is really good, but it could be a lot better

  • JK

So many bizarre arguments/discussions on this thread, when we are all on the same planet.
1. If your ethical/moral focus is just the environment, then buying a second hand phone is the least damaging thing you can do (assuming the person you buy it from doesn't use the money to buy a new one).
2. If your ethical/moral focus is worker rights, mining conditions and environment then this is a good phone.
3. Telling people that they aren't Fairphones client base, doesn't help them understand the ethos of the company and what they are trying to do. It just alienates its current client base and polarizes the discussion.
4. Don't hate all plastic, stating the phone has plastic in it is irrelevant. It depends how that plastic is made and what happens after its useful life. It also depends on the recycling facilities in your country. Making the phone out of a lightweight metal such as aluminium or magnesium (like macs) would be no better given the high energy cost for mining, extraction and refining. Random fact, synthetic plastic helped reduce the ivory trade, without it we could have killed off elephants and rhinos. It was invented as an alternative to ivory pool and billiard balls.

Fairphone tries to tackle the following:
1. Worker rights
2. Resource extraction and supply chain - Many mines have poor working conditions and are run by militia or cartels.
3. Improve the product lifecycle and longevity - By ensuring the product can be easily upgraded or repaired, you reduce your impact on the environment, since you don't have to buy a whole new device. When you get a flat tyre on a car you don't replace the whole car. The idea of buying something and throwing it away a year latter would have been very alien to our grandparents.