Google announces voice support for 30 new languages

Yordan, 14 August 2017

Google invests a lot in its voice neural machine learning and now announced that it added support for 30 new languages. It has a thousand-year old Georgian, two of the biggest African languages and plethora of Indian languages.

Google listens and delivers

To incorporate all languages, Google worked with natives and collected speech samples. Using the specific sounds and words, the machines trained themselves to understand and improve accuracy when exposed to more examples over time.

The new languages are available in Cloud Speech API. Soon they will start appearing across Google apps like Google Translate and Gboard keyboard. To use them, the Voice Search feature must be enabled.

Here’s the full list of newly supported languages:

Amharic (Ethiopia), Armenian (Armenia), Azerbaijani (Azerbaijani), Bengali (Bangladesh, India), English (Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Tanzania), Georgian (Georgia), Gujarati (India), Javanese (Indonesia), Kannada (India), Khmer (Cambodian), Lao (Laos), Latvian (Latvia), Malayalam (India), Marathi (India), Nepali (Nepal), Sinhala (Sri Lanka), Sundanese (Indonesia), Swahili (Tanzania, Kenya), Tamil (India, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Malaysia), Telugu (India), Urdu (Pakistan, India).



Reader comments

  • Anonymous
  • 16 Aug 2017
  • GZY

finally!! Many Indian languages apart from Hindi!!. Especially South Indian languages!!. yay!! I'm happy. Thanks google.

  • AnonD-692320
  • 15 Aug 2017
  • J7N

nice to see malayalam in this list.

  • AnonD-681246
  • 15 Aug 2017
  • 7j{

Now Tamil is there. That's nice

Popular articles


Popular devices

Electric Vehicles