Huawei P40
MORE PICTURES

Huawei P40

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

.

Steve, 12 Apr 2020You can get almost the same specs on the Xiaomi Mi 9 SE. fo... moreI have a Mi 9 SE in front of me. I think the P40 is overall, better, but there are some trade-offs. Huawei doesn't allow bootloader unlocking so you'll pretty much never ever get a custom rom on this. The P40 does have considerably better cameras, a significantly faster SoC and the ToF for face unlock. From a hardware aspect it's considerably better, but the software side is lacking if you want Google or custom roms. Or both. 🤔

Liv, 26 Mar 2020Not much of a difference compare to p30 spec except it has ... moreIt has the ToF sensor for secure face unlock and the cameras are better. The design is also a lot nicer IMO.

Skad, 01 Feb 2021Bad News: EMUI 11.0.0 Bug. No Google Services (I wouldn... moreJust go to App Gallery and search Gspace

  • Anonymous

Duan, 04 Feb 2021I've been using mine for over a month. Got it for $400... moreWhere did you get the deal?
It's around $480 here and waiting for price to go down

  • Duan

I've been using mine for over a month. Got it for $400 brand new and it's a great deal. Most things have been said but here are a few of my tips:

- there is a mistake in GSMarena specs, there is no OIS on main camera. You can check out by yourself and on huwei page
- i was worried ab battery life, but after flashing the latest update and hard reset, debloat unnecessary apps, i can achieve up to 10h SOT. That's n excellent result.
-cameras are stunning. Didn't get to play a lot with ultra wide tho
- using aurora store you can now have almost all apps you want, no more restrictions
- screen is not the greatest , it's good but my $350 xiaomi mi 9t from 2019 has a better screen. This one can show green tint under angles and the colors are not the most vibrant
- I'm not sure the back is made from glass. There is no mention of tht on huawei page , some reviews say it's gorilla glass on the back but it does feel cheap and plastic-like.

Overall, it's a great purchase

  • Rana

Skad, 01 Feb 2021Bad News: EMUI 11.0.0 Bug. No Google Services (I wouldn... moreVery helpful your review

Skad, 01 Feb 2021Bad News: EMUI 11.0.0 Bug. No Google Services (I wouldn... moreWhat do u mean by EMUI 11 bugs by not having GMS?

  • Skad

Bad News: EMUI 11.0.0 Bug. No Google Services (I wouldn't mind about it) Good News: Better camera. Big Storage capacity. High end processor. Fastest Network 5G (4G,3G,2G). Good screen quality. 4k@30/60 fps. Good for gaming (PUBG,League of Legends, CodM, AoV, GFF, Asphalt 9, Heroes evolved, Avengers 5v5 Mona, etc). High quality chipset.
I totally would rate it 6.5/10.0 due to lack of Google Services and the EMUI 11 BUG. But still it's a good phone based on my experience, it has good camera, big storage, fastest chipset, could run mostly all apps available, etc,etc. What makes it interesting is it's design it may cost every penny available on your wallet, still worth it. May not surpass to Samsung S21 and Apple IPhone 12 PRO, Mini. Stoll recommend it though. Its a little expensive. (This is my Secondary Phone as I'm currently using Samsung Galaxy Fold) Good job huawei :)

Shui8, 24 Jan 2021Warning to P40 users: Do not update to EMUI 11 if u care... moreSeems like the only decrease quality that I'm aware of is when using FF video in indoor/low light. Its like 70% worse lol. Its not affecting me much as I'm using it mainly more into photography (rear cams).

- correction for my post -

Warning to P40 users:

Do not update to EMUI 11 if u care about camera quality. Somehow the quality decreases (low light, zooming - both on photo & video). Wait for another EMUI 11 OTA update for the fix.

  • Anonymous

Girlie , 20 Jan 2021The battery capacity seems bad for me. I havn't owned ... moreTry checking comparison on youtube.
The capacity should be enough for most people.
It's like similar to how iphone manages to do well with small battery

Girlie , 20 Jan 2021The battery capacity seems bad for me. I havn't owned ... moreMine the same as last Mate 20 with 4000mah. Let it settle for a week first, its AI learning our usage pattern for battery optimizing.

  • Girlie

The battery capacity seems bad for me. I havn't owned this brand before.

  • Anonymous

GaZ, 01 Jan 2021You can enable those on screen navigational keys in the set... moreSamsung phones are disgusting in the camera department. They're only useful if you will use Gcam. Other than that, Samsung's software is despicable, slow, laggy, etc. I've been using Samsung phones since the S1 and all the way to S10. I'm returning the S10 and searching what phone to buy next, all because of the bad camera quality that makes it worse than my S9 (and screen burn in at the bottom).

  • Anonymous

It's scary feeling knowing that bank app may or may not work
last time my bank app locked out for some reason, I had real difficult time fixing it
and I don't want to risk, so I guess I'd pass this device or wait for a while

  • Anonymous

I want this phone but lack of GMS is critical.
Sideloading GMS may work for a while, but who knows if it'll breaks later or no?

I definitely don't want my bank app to all in sudden stops working or whatever the security risk is

Just get myself brand new, for $540.

Main camera is mindblowing, telephoto usable up to x5 zoom, front camera good quality. Got Play Store using DualSpace method (just under 2 minutes work).

Still playing around, will give feedback after few weeks.

  • Duan

Can anyone chare what SOT can you achieve?
I wanna buy this phone, 400$ brand new, i like everything but I'ma but worried ab battery life.

  • GaZ

A, 23 Sep 2020I've been totally let down by the phone. For this pric... moreYou can enable those on screen navigational keys in the settings.