Motorola Moto G9 Play
MORE PICTURES

Motorola Moto G9 Play

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Netiev

william, 24 Aug 2021unfortunately i agree, this model is a big disappointment f... moreCool, so you replaced a $250 with a $1500 phone. Gee, I wonder which is superior.

  • william

nxio, 17 Aug 2021Never buy this plastic pile of crap, or any Motorola phones... moreunfortunately i agree, this model is a big disappointment for me, i replace it with samsung phone..

  • nxio

Never buy this plastic pile of crap, or any Motorola phones in general, I don't know how on earth they manage to market and sell this garbage, I've had problems with every single Motorola phone I've owned, one had calling issues, one had horrible performance issues, and this one, has horrible performance issues, horribly inconsistent data connection problems, and the battery is already dying, due to CPU under voltage, all after less than a years worth of use, and yes, this phone is cheap, but please, just buy something like a Samsung galaxy M12 or A22

  • J

For those that may be interested, i bought one of this on Amazon some time ago, and now it updated to Android 11

  • Xande

HelloBois, 19 Jan 2021In need of a clear cut answer.... Is it worth it or not ?Yes! It is! I have mine couple of months, very good phone!

john, 03 Dec 2020Just bought the G9 play but wont connect my square-even we... moreSamsung which model??

  • phool

Anonymous, 30 May 2021It has NFC and work when you touch it with your old phone a... morebro this phone hace NFC

FroggyJr, 29 Apr 2021Had the g9 play for a couple months now, it was an upgrade ... morelg v40 is double the price of g9 play where a live

and also only upgrade is the newer android

  • Anonymous

Adnan, 12 Mar 2021Yes, I brought it from extra too, I fully agree with you. A... moreIt has NFC and work when you touch it with your old phone and transfers everything

  • chrcol

Brought this phone to replace an aging Huawei Y6 2017 model. Another phone I was considering was the Samsung A02.

Its not a flagship of course but I feel the value is immense, I dont care for gimmicks like glass back, scratch proof glass etc. But I do always rate value.

My other phone is a ex flagship one plus 6, you will see why I mentioned this soon.

So this phone comes with 64gig storage, 4 gig ram, mid range chipset, and android 10. The wifi is dual band (many phones at this price point are 2.4ghz only), It comes with a plastic cover (finally a manufacturer who gets it), and the battery seems very powerful considering the low'ish power of the chipset.

Now back to why I mentioned the oneplus6, I kid you not, this has a better camera, the oneplus6 cost me over £500 2-3 years ago, this is a £150 phone and has a better camera. The one plus6 is higher spec'd everywhere else but this I highlighted to show how good a phone this is for the money.

Now its not perfect, I had some issue getting rid of the assistant pre installed on the phone, I understand why its there which is fine, but I felt I had to jump through excessive hoops, ended up having to fully disable the google app, just could not find a simple on/off toggle for it. In addition the phone seems slow at i/o, certain things have clear lag, but when you repeat them they become instant, so thats not a cpu/gpu problem but a i/o latency problem. Once cached in ram no lag. Even with this in mind though its a clear performance upgrade over the Huawei I replaced it with.

Also for the traditionalists. It supports storage expansion, has a fm radio as well as a 3.5mm jack, whilst supporting these features that seem to be considered deadwood on flagship phones, it also has a modern usb-c fast charging port. The phone is nice and thick so easy to pick up albeit a bit heavy. Also is a little bit of a gap between edge of screen and edge of phone so not too easy to accidentally touch screen, a problem flagships get.

I have yet to find a way to reverse the recent and back buttons though as since my android time originated on samsung many years ago I am still used to the back button been on the right hand side. I am not sure if moto is to blame here, it could be google restricting things as google I think want to get rid of 3 button navigation, but I absolutely hate using gestures.

The bloatware is minimal compared to other vendors.

PPi is low on the display which I am absolutely fine with, likely contributes to the battery life, and on tiny phone screens, not sure why people need massive resolutions anyway, I honestly cannot tell the difference visually to my one plus 6 which has a much higher resolution. A low PPI doesnt prevent you from having a compressed UI. Its as adjustable as my one plus 6 is.

In short I do rate this phone from the value point of view, its one of the best value android phones I have ever purchased.

FroggyJr, 29 Apr 2021Had the g9 play for a couple months now, it was an upgrade ... morelg v40 to g9 play is a downgrade

Had the g9 play for a couple months now, it was an upgrade from an LG v40.
The battery gets a little warm when charging but the instructions said it would because of the 20w charger. The motorola gesture controls take a little time to figure out but afterward it"s well worth it! I love it. it's touchy and will sometimes take input when your finger is close to the screen but not actually touching. I can't say anything bad about this phone in comparison to others i've used over the years. It is, in my opinion, the best yet. if i replace it for any reason I'm doing so with the moto g9 power. My wife just bought that one and is very pleased especially with battery life. The phones we've had in the past have always needed to be charged regularly but these we can charge at night and no problem going all day.

Anonymous, 04 Apr 2021Maybe you need to change idea. I have one, after a few week... moreThat sucks.

  • Anonymous

redmi5a, 01 Apr 2021This phone is in my buying shortlist. I need to upgrade my ... moreMaybe you need to change idea. I have one, after a few weeks, it got hardware problem mainly ghost touch, 5 times repair still can not solve it.
At the end Moto changed a new phone for me, but can you imagine you have no phone in your hand for 3 months?

This phone is in my buying shortlist. I need to upgrade my phone next month.

The review mentions that the UI lags sometimes due to lack of optimization. Now Motorola released the G30 which has the same chipset, SD662. The G30 review says the UI is fluid.

Now my question is, after all these months and updates, does the slight stutters in the UI still exist?

For anyone who'll say why I don't go for the G30 then, the G30 is still not available in my country. And it might take 2-3 months to be available officially. So I'm rooting for the G9 Play.

I have it from today my have nfc,looks good and fast....

  • Anonymous

Excellent middle ranger for the price, though listed here with NFC, my device doesn´t have it, I don´t know if the device doesn´t have the hardware for NFC or if it is desabeled on the software level for whatever reason.

Pleas confirm if someone has the G9 and if it has NFC

and after reading many comments can anyone say is this phone worth it?

  • Adnan

3absh, 05 Dec 2020I bought this phone from ExtraStores in Saudi Arabia for on... moreYes, I brought it from extra too, I fully agree with you. Add to to what you have mentioned: it doesn't have compass, and it doesn't have NFC too☹️, but it has a lot of other advantages as very useful shortcuts to do important functions as LED flash light and fast camera activation. However, it is vert recommended for your kids, but remember that it doesn't have NFC to make electronic payment

Endurance beast, fast enough and overall feel sturdy with clean Android. If your on a budget I can recommend this.