Samsung Galaxy S5 vs. HTC One (M8): Leather and steel

17 April 2014
HTC has made some of the best-looking smartphones in recent history while Samsung has some of the best-selling ones. Thatís very much true for the HTC flagship and yet to be seen about the Samsung Galaxy S5, but the clash is no less...

Sort by:

  • yogesh

I want to what's the quality of main(secondary) camera of htc M8

  • Glokings

The phone is very good, how much is it

  • AnonD-429183

I am currently on my 5th Galaxy S5 Active in 8 months and since it is now not working correctly....I have been given the option to switch to the HTC One M8. Thank goodness for warranties and fingers crossed the HTC One M8 actually lasts!

  • Anonymous

akshay, 10 Jan 2015Htc one M8 is not water proofApparently, it has an IPx3 certification.

  • AnonD-213026

Anonymous, 25 Aug 2014"If you twisted the s5 there is a bit of flexibility."... moreall i read is opinion after opinion. just go home and go to sleep. nobody cares about your generalizations and pathetic sarcasm.

  • akshay

Htc one M8 is not water proof

  • Vuut

People we should stop haring or bashing each other. Both phones are great and the best thing they both beet the iPhone 6, let's go fight the iphone6 comments section

  • zeppelin

From a durability point of view i think s5 is much better. Just check out those youtube strength tests. Hardware wise the difference is too miniscule to see an actual real world difference. Plastic as it is.. damn that s5 can take a hell of a beating. Not a fan of that design either, but ergonomically the spotted back makes it easier to hold. Checked it out the other day :D

  • clyde

MDayem, 14 Jun 2014Samsung lacks quality!I definitely agree

  • Garo

Ok, Samsung wins in terms of Screen and Camera. Yes it haves just a Little more Mhz, mAh's (battery), and other gimmicks. Personally I don't like the Touchwiz UI (It Have a LOT of Bloatware)

BUT HOW COULD YOU POSSIBLY SAY THAT SAMSUNG HAVE BETTER PHONE DESIGN????????

C'MON!!!!!!

Im not a HTC Fanboy o something like that (in fact I have a lot of Samsung devices: Couple of Smart tv's, a Smart fridge, Home Theather, Cameras and a S4) ), I agree in the mayority of the wins by Samsung in this review but In Terms of Design, HTC IS THE WINNER BY FAR.

Im not a metal lover but this design definitely feels like a REAL PREMIUM Phone

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Aug 2014The m8 is faster. Way more robust and not as flimsy as the s5. I... more"If you twisted the s5 there is a bit of flexibility."
You mean to tell me plastic is more flexible than metal??????
OMG WE HAD NO IDEA!!!
That flexibility is one of the reasons it's more durable.
What a foolish thing to say...Plastic being more flexible makes it worse.
More robust is your opinion.
Faster is by a small margin and mostly due to it being less featured. Small margin. Where S5 is still very fast.
They do not have much lower ram speed either.

That's because it has a soft touch back...DUH!? You know what that does???? Makes it more comfortable! To most. It's also more ergonomic.

Just because you PREFER metal or fall under the DELUSION that it's better does not make it superior.
Aluminum is no less a cheap recyclable material than glass or plastic.
Plastic is overall more durable and more practical.
It holds less heat, does not scratch as bad as aluminum or shatter like glass. Does not dent like aluminum either. It's flexibility helps protect it better and makes it more shock absorbent in falls.

The S5 also has water protection and dust tightness boasts large over the M8....

If you prefer the M8 that's good for you and it is great.....But does not change the fact that the S5 has many advantages over it in software, hardware, and durability/usability.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 Jun 2014Your opinion and fact are not the same thing. The S5 has better... moreThe m8 is faster. Way more robust and not as flimsy as the s5. If you twisted the s5 there is a bit of flexibility. The htc is solid. Samsung has the better cpu but much lower ram speed. That is what made me choose the m8. 3 of my family members own s5 phones And it just feels like a marshmallow to me. Im quite a big guy so i needed the extra strength of the htc. But like I said, the htc is the one to buy.

  • Anonymous

I'm still laughing over the Design tie.

So much Samsung bias.

  • Anonymous

Ted, 27 Jul 2014The m8 rocks - easier to navigate, nicer to look at and over tim... moreThe first two are preference. ABout more durable...Nope. Poly Carbonate takes damage much better and is easier and lost costly to replace.
Bugs like that happen on any device.

  • Anonymous

wakaka, 27 Jul 2014Hahaha, I like what you said there. OOOO , Expensive... btw, I h... more;)

  • Ted

The m8 rocks - easier to navigate, nicer to look at and over time looks to be more durable. My Samsung S4 has notification issues I cannot resolve and crashes regularly. Navigating the double app and widget home screens is a pain. Much easier to use, I prefer the m8

  • wakaka

Anonymous, 05 Jun 2014Exactly. But people....mostly just bias online people anyway...d... moreHahaha, I like what you said there. OOOO , Expensive... btw, I have a s5 and I have to admit, I like the design and it's plactic cover. It's not as bad as everyone says.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 08 Jul 2014I've owned both. You evidently haven't. HTC is to S5 as Corvette... moreSo in other words you probably have not even touched either. Yet you pretended to own them for a few seconds just so you can ramble in bias jealousy.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 Jun 2014Your opinion and fact are not the same thing. The S5 has better... moreI've owned both. You evidently haven't. HTC is to S5 as Corvette is to Yugo. Both serve the same function but are otherwise a huge mismatch.

  • Anonymous

S5 is really great. The best phone I've ever used.