Oppo R5 review: One to remember

23 December 2014
The world’s thinnest smartphone record is as fragile as a piece of china. It was broken three times in the last couple of months alone. The Oppo R5 may not be the thinnest smartphone around anymore, but it’s pure class – and mind you, it’s the second time we meet it in person...

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Why my oppoR5 cellphone did not flash charging???

  • saket

A phone with worst battery life.. Except the battery, overall phone is awesome.. love this phone.. Please see to the battery..

  • muid

why not water resistant

  • Frost

I have this phone for 2 weeks now. Design and build quality is great, battery life (without battery saving mode) with some calls (10 min.), SMS (about 20), internet browsing on Wi-Fi (20 min.) and still turned Data on, is about 20 hours. That is not too bad.

  • AnonD-384052

I have already this mobile but battery is not good ....

  • AnonD-374546

Can I give this review a hug? Very well explained review I'm definatly going to buy this phone now.

  • vicky

Now a days every smart phone company is claiming that their handset is the slimmest smartphone.
Nothing new oppo had provided same configuration is available in different brands and too with more features.The best thing which I like about oppo is the video moving capturing technique.This is the only unique thing about OPPO which appeals to the masses.

  • AnonD-82281

AnonD-333110, 25 Dec 2014Lol seriously? Take a look at this: http://s14.postimg.org/wgd... moreBut it's not any of those things.

It's ok you like this handset, I can see and read all your posts. And it's ok no one else likes it. Face it - the battery is a universal deal breaker. IP6 is far better optimised than this, so it does better all round. The thinness of the Oppo is its Achilles heel. Too many compromises are made.

  • thecalmcritic

AnonD-333110, 25 Dec 2014Lol seriously? Take a look at this: http://s14.postimg.org/wgd... moreIf we can calm things down a notch, BOTH exhibits underscore 1 certainty; that until we get to better efficiencies by next year (which I doubt in any case, going by this up to QHD nonsense) 2000mAh batt capacity are at best a compromise at whatever price points.

Best way is to vote with our dollars.

  • AnonD-333110

AnonD-4340, 25 Dec 2014What are you smoking? iP6 can do 10+ hours in web browsing, this... moreLol seriously?
Take a look at this: http://s14.postimg.org/wgdlh9hf5/Untitled.jpg

Iphone 6 battery is as low as Oppo R5
But the difference is that, Oppo R5 is a lot thinner and its powering a 1080p display, While Ip6 powers a 720p screen (half the resolution)... I bet if the Oppo R5 had a lower 720p screen it will get 7-8 hours.

This shows how good the R5 is for its Thinness and great component and how s***y the fruit phone is... Plus the R5 cost 399 euro while the Ip6 is 700 euro...

  • AnonD-4340

AnonD-333110, 23 Dec 2014At least it doesn't bend or overpriced as the Iphone 6. Plus it ... moreWhat are you smoking? iP6 can do 10+ hours in web browsing, this thing 4 hours. You thought "lower is better"?

By the way, can anybody tell me what is "even backlighting" in AMOLED displays??

  • Unknown

AnonD-333110, 24 Dec 2014I don't understand you... Whats your problem? Many people like v... moreOPPO R5 look great in design and camera. The others, most importantly is battery life, just 4 to 6 hours heavy/moderate use and is very unacceptable for most users unless powerbank is used. Most of the user prefer single charge per day or 2 days. Frequent charge will cause minor damage on MicroUSB port. 2000mAh battery on OPPO R5 supposed can last in average one day because of ColorOS functionality too much and cause huge battery drain. Hope OPPO will observe the OPPO R5 battery life. That's why most user will prefer longer lasting battery life.

  • AnonD-333110

HATEALLYOULIKE, 24 Dec 2014What a peice of crap. I listen to music while charging my phon... moreI don't understand you... Whats your problem? Many people like very thin phones and im one of them i always wanted a thin 4mm or 5mm smartphone with great build quality (unlike the ip6).
I don't mind the battery life. 4-5 hours web browsing and video watching is ok.
I also listen to music ALOT more than browsing and watching video. With rapid charge i can charge it for 10-15 min, its not a big deal.
This phone is not ridiculous and it is an innovations. Cost 399 euro. If you like Oppo and you want a good battery then get the Find 7 if you want thin phone then get the Oppo R5. Simple. If you don't like Oppo or any other Chinese "OEMs" at all, then what are you doing commenting here? Or your expressing your ignorance?

  • Unknown

X, 24 Dec 2014I open the review n quickly go to batteryb life segment n quickl... moreAt least ASUS Zenfone 5 is not the worst battery life.

  • X

I open the review n quickly go to batteryb life segment n quickly went commenting. World most WORTS battery life 2014.Congrats for getting that award

  • Gibby

I've said it before and I'll say it again. ..
'Pointless ergonomics'

  • HATEALLYOULIKE

What a peice of crap.
I listen to music while charging my phone, and what is the bloody pointof having such a thin phone anyway.

These Chinese OEMs and their ridiculous "innovations"

where can buy that mouse toy ???

  • AnonD-237024

I bet it'd bend without you trying to bend it.

  • AnonD-333110

This is the probably most durable smartphone ever made!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyxArcKFRpw

4.8mm thick and it dose not bend. Watch and learn Apple watch and learn.