Acer Liquid X2 review: Switchboarding

14 May, 2016
Liquid X2, Acer called it, when it clearly should have been the Acer Liquid X3. Now, we understand how the smartphone comes to replace the X1, but how did they miss out on a chance to name a triple-SIM device the X3, even if it skips a digit? Yes, the Acer Liquid X2 has multiple SIM slots, three of them.

Sort by:

  • Eduardo Rocha

I like Acer liquid X2. I already bought it last October 2016. I bought it for these reasons; triple sim, battery life, screen size, 4g LTE capability, camera, flip cover and for games like Pokemon go .! I'm planning to get another one, different color of acer liquid x2.

  • Des

Not worth buying, no upgrade support from Acer, and it's already two Android versions out of date.

  • nano

My liquid e700 is still performing good, I am using it for more tha a year now. The phone is very durable too.. system apps are regularly updated, android version was even updated once.. a very good all round mid ranger, and I guess it goes the same with liquid x2, that's if you don't care much about design.. :) you can't find any other smartphones out there with 3 sim's + lte + very good baterry life..

  • Hoosana

Why is the newer model ugly compared to the older Liquid X1?

  • Jackey

When i try to record video using this acer liquid x2 i checked the details Why the format of this recording video is 3gp not mp4?

  • AnonD-442158

3 SIMs eh? And not one of them slots are hybrids. Only ACER can do this it seems.
But even for a good low-end smartphone to buy in 2016, I need a Snapdragon 615 + Adreno 405 combo or the Helio X10 offering (because by 2016 these used-to-be-upper-midrange/flagship are considered old). Just pop in huge removable battery (CHECKED) and a reasonably latest OS version with reasonably quick updates (NOT CHECKED !), enough RAM and ROM size (CHECKED) and you're set. Oh, cameras. But i don't use cameras on phones so what the heck.

I would leave the other two SIM slots forever empty for battery life sake, 85h Rating for 4000 mAh on 720p is pretty good on mid/low range. Albeit the Xiaomi Note 3 did posted 100+ score on equal resolution and battery size, but those (Mediatek version and the "PRO" Snapdragon version) Xiaomis uses better chipsets.

  • AnonD-442158

AnonD-179722, 16 May 2016Indeed the design is ugly. How long can the battery last with 3 ... moreUse the GSMARENA battery rating. In the site (under the Tools Section, named Battery Life Table. I think you need the desktop version of the site to access this) you can also alter the 3 values: Calls, Video play, Web Browsing (which standardised by GSMARENA at 1 Hour each for each day and the rest standby) by multiplying those values based on your usage pattern.

  • ryolasta

at least it's an improvement compare to my previous acer e700, better engine i said, 32GB/3GB + triple sim is what i'm looking for android phone, enough to handle my daily activities.

it's a midrange phone, and not most all people need three sim card, but in my case, it's pretty usefull since i can't rely my internet + phone activities to just one operator in my country :p. and since it's android, 32GB/3GB is sufficient for the next year.

  • AnonD-259759

Herodroid, 16 May 2016dont get me wrong people, but be honest, this phone front looks ... moreAcer does have a bad design taste on their phones, hard to believe they come from the same country like Asus and HTC.

  • AnonD-259759

AnonD-474992, 16 May 2016pixel count is indeed overrated as gsmarena once stated. I have ... moreIndeed, however as long as it's snappy and the photo quality is there, I think it's fair to call it a good selfie cam.

  • Sultan

Triple sim + dedicated SDcard + 4000mAh = great selling points

  • AnonD-474992

AnonD-179722, 16 May 2016Indeed the design is ugly. How long can the battery last with 3 ... morepixel count is indeed overrated as gsmarena once stated. I have seen 5mp front snappers produce more stellar quality photos compared to the 13mp on the Acer

  • AnonD-179722

Indeed the design is ugly. How long can the battery last with 3 sim cards on ? Half a day ?

dont get me wrong people, but be honest, this phone front looks UGLY just look what are these sensors/cameras random sh!t on top? they dont even care about order and design? lol

  • True friend

AnonD-259759, 16 May 2016I had terrible experiences with Acer phones. Just not going to ... moreI love this phone tho.. why don't you not buy cellphones so that you will not have worries

  • AnonD-259759

I had terrible experiences with Acer phones.
Just not going to try them again.

  • AnonD-473257

The plus point of acer product is ABFiles, this is great software for mobility

  • AnonD-98399

Neverever see any phone maker use the curve earphone design. the conventional phone design is much better than our flat smart phone earphone . at least its wouldn't make my ear pain after just 3 mins & above

  • AnonD-433808

Some great things about this phone - Other manufacturers may have forgotten that dual sim means dual sim only, not the hybrid slot. If acer can do it, all others biggies can do it. And 4000mah removable is also pretty cool.

  • AnonD-402029

viveksubhash, 14 May 2016i was asking gsma for an article on ram modules for mobile phone... moreif im not mistaken flagship phone usually use ddr4 vs non-flagship using ddr3