Sony Xperia X Performance review: Chief of staff

17 June 2016
It's the best Sony’s got. The Xperia X Performance is the chosen one to fly the banner of Sony's revamped smartphone lineup. The top of the range, the Deus X Machina, the one to make you forget about your ex – the Z-series.

Sort by:

  • Abhigna

Hi i am using xperia x 64gb in built past 1 yrs but now a days i am suffering there camera not working properly. When i took 6-8 photos countiesly. This mobile indicates device temperature is high so camera is not working until cool down. So please suggest me what to do now?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 15 Oct 2017wow.. i dont know why google drop me in this page. but my opini... moreDrop your cbrands smartphone more than 10 times and join to compare quality.

  • Anonymous

Dual heatpipes, 05 Jul 2016You're try to missleading people, I wouldn't believe you again, ... morewow.. i dont know why google drop me in this page.
but my opinion is still unchanged. this phone is such an overpriced failure without any good features. kbrands have far more superior devices with the same price. so shameful.. sony can't even beat cbrands

  • Anonymous

I am using the Xperia XPerformance and recently i have experienced overheating issues followed by a batter being drained instantly.
How can i solve the issue?

  • AnonD-436505

I currently own this, note 7 and LG G5, prefer sony, but that's just me, when I hand back my note will wait for the Xperia XZ

DenisXD, 03 Aug 2016It doesn't matter if you don't listen to radio, many others do, ... moreGood for you and all those still listening to the radio, I salute you and all that. But you asked what impresses me in a smartphone, and having a radio simply doesn't.

As for DXOMark knowing their stuff, we'll all I can say is that their conclusions are often at odds with many in the professional camera world. These are the people after all that said the camera on the iPhone 5S was better than that on the Lumia 1020...............nuff said really.

So you carry on liking your Z5 and its little string hole, I'll carry on not really liking it so much and on we'll go.

Lex79, 02 Aug 2016'An area to put a string on'............really????? Well I ha... moreIt doesn't matter if you don't listen to radio, many others do, I do. It certainly has more features than any other flagship atm, that's a fact. as for the camera i doubt dxo doesn't know their stuff, and I doubt my eyes can't see if the photos it takes are good. Many opinions my friend, all agree whenever I ask them. As for the string area, yes. No other phone has it and it's very useful. Considering I have a string with an opening to pass my hand into, like a strap. Z5 won't fall even if accidentally drop it. So yeah if you know how to take advantage of it it's a feature.

Keep believing whatever you like bud, you can't deny that it's the most feature packed flagship of all.

DenisXD, 02 Aug 2016Sorry lex but what exactly else is impressive on a smartphone? G... more'An area to put a string on'............really?????

Well I haven't listened to radio since the 90's, so that's not an important factor as far as I'm concerned. Yes it's water resistant (not proof) but as I'm not Aqua Man, that's also not high on the list.

Stereo speakers are always a nice touch, but they are hardly the best examples of their kind on the Z5, and the camera is an under performing, thermal-plagued dissapointment, high mp is no guarantee of quality

The design is no more durable than that of the S7 and the battery life and sustainable performance are both a step backwards when compared to the Z3.

So no, the Z5 didn't impress me, neither did it impress the majority of reviewers out there.

Lex79, 22 Jun 2016I'd agree with that to an extent. For myself however I can sa... moreSorry lex but what exactly else is impressive on a smartphone? Generaly speaking.
Unlike the other flagships, Z5 is a waterproof smartphone with stereo speakers, radio, high mp camera, durable design and an area to put a string or something. It might skipped your eyes but no other flagship offers all of the above in one package, except Z5.

So please, enlighten me about what else would it take from a smartphone to impress you. (mind that s7 impressed you. Although it doesn't have stereo speakers, radio, or durable design, it still did).

  • AnonD-405646

Anonymous, 15 Jul 2016Sony never be the best performance device among other. But when ... moreWhere do you come from? In my country too bad service. If the average of other countries equally

  • Anonymous

Sony never be the best performance device among other. But when you use a sony phone, you won't feel that different like what those benchmark difference. I use HTC, Samsung before, after I switch to sony, I don't want to use other brand anymore, no lag no hang, other brand can't give me that. I use z2 for more than 2 years, sony upgrade to mm 6.0 too, poor aftersale service? If you don't like sony phone, then just buy another brand.

Omid46, 14 Jul 2016Dearest readers+dearest old chap Sony.X logically means the UNKN... moreAnd W series

  • Omid46

Dearest readers+dearest old chap Sony.X logically means the UNKNOWN!However,Just one is adaptable with the world technology of nowadays!!It could have been a best flagship 5 years ago,but not todays!!!So,dearest Sony,go to Y series with creation,innovation,invention and Sonyfications!!!Please just look at your close neighborhood China at Xiaomi just with 34 rising ascending products is conquering the world markets!!!Even implicitly,uncle Samsung the giant with C7,A9 and Ap pro is following Xiaomi not to loose the markets!!!Why not the pioneer Sony with perfect new Y series!!!?Thanks mentioned names.Justice Rights.Omid12omidvar.Only Hope.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-537624, 03 Jul 2016Could every body stop arguing many people like this phone many d... moreWe dont tell any people to buy sony phones.
And we never tell them not to buy sony phones too.
Heatpipes, tann, etc said sony is better.
I (and the others) said sony is worse.
Just that.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-537624, 03 Jul 2016Could every body stop arguing many people like this phone many d... moreIf you dont want to see people arguing, you better not to read any comments in here.
Praising/blaming/insulting any good/bad products is allowed here. The comment-sections in all articles are not the place for a faint-hearted person like you :).

  • Anonymous

AnonD-436505, 11 Jul 2016The review forgot to mention LDAC, which the competition does no... moreThat's why sony has very stupid marketing strategy.
Most bluetooth headphones doesnt equipped with ldac technology. Sure there are some headphones which supports ldac, but they are very expensive. You can buy premium analog headphones with the same price and with a lot better sound quality.
Real audiophiles dont like bluetooth headphones, they prefer analog headphones.
Analog headphones always sounds better than any bluetooth headphones.

  • AnonD-436505

The review forgot to mention LDAC, which the competition does not have yet.

  • Anonymous

meh, 04 Jul 2016The video reveals sony's tricks to gain more profit. 1. Make ... moreBut Sony phones are well optimised and never lag. It is true dude.

  • AnonD-557580

Its edges are round which fits in pocket better then z series..