Samsung Galaxy A3 (2017) review: Bite-sized

16 January 2017
Samsung was a prime culprit in the growth of smartphone screen sizes, but back in 2014 it tried something different with the Galaxy Alpha - a high-end phone in a small scale body. The Galaxy A3 is a spiritual successor and we’re here to look at the third iteration.

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Optimal, 20 Dec 2018Everything was ok, but after 8 months my batery is dead after 8 ... moreReplace the battery?

  • Clemens

GPS doens`t work mostly. Many others have same problem.

  • Optimal

Everything was ok, but after 8 months my batery is dead after 8 hours. Before it would last for almost 2 days. Even after I hard reset it, without any apps.

Anonymous, 26 Jul 2018One of the best phone ever I saw a32017Agreed.
I am amzazed how good this device is.
Used to have a Sony ST26i stars Earth difference...No Suprise.
For the price it is better than any iPhone or Sony compact or anything for that matter.
I looked at about 10 phones seriously and this won everytime.

  • Anonymous

One of the best phone ever I saw a32017

AnonD-672407, 12 Jul 2017Stop raving about always-on. It's been around on Symbian since 2009.Hm... Can you show me such a phone?

Ahong Surahong, 20 Jul 2017Hopefully the next year generation of A3 will improve on several... moreprice tag :400-500$

  • akw

Donny, 17 Jan 2017The 240 Hz flickering on Samsung's (and others) AMOLED screens i... morehuawei i think better, y7 prime
had lg seems not good enough
for blue light. dont know about sony or apple's

  • Anonymous

Ahong Surahong, 20 Jul 2017Hopefully the next year generation of A3 will improve on several... moreWell said

  • AnonD-688301

Donny, 17 Jan 2017The 240 Hz flickering on Samsung's (and others) AMOLED screens i... morereally, they are doing it with their TVs and PC Monitors too. I wonder why. IMO they should be flicker-free nowadays. I guess they thought is still a phone something we all use to call and check the weather

geewaiho, 30 Apr 2017This a3 2017 as a Mali t830 vs the alphas Mali t628. Also the al... moreIn antutu benchmark 3d is 10k on alpha and 5k on a3 2017. Alpha is at least twice better. S series will be always a better buy even after 2 years. S6 is far better than a5 2017. S7 will be better than a5 2018. And also staying on older versions of android is better.

  • Ahong Surahong

Hopefully the next year generation of A3 will improve on several key points:
- bigger battery (2500-2800 mAh), I don't care if it's a bit thicker and heavier as long as its other dimension stay the same or even smaller
- better software optimization (at least on top of the latest Nougat version)
- less bloatware (let us choose which Samsung proprietary softwares from Galaxy Apps that fits our needs)
- better camera hardware (OIS, wider aperture, dual tone LED flash, don't really care for 4K video recording and save dual cameras for 2019)
- faster and always on fingerprint scanner
- bigger memory configuration (at least 3 GB of RAM and 32 GB of ROM, UFS 2.0 will be really sweet)
- faster chipset (at least Exynos 7880 or Snapdragon 626)
- wireless charging capability (it currently has glass back, so why not?)
- free unique jelly case like they did on J Pro 2017 series

If Samsung read this and can approve most of those points, they will have better compact phones than what they're offering in 2017 now.
Man, I even won't mind if they charge $100 more if they can tick all those boxes.

  • AnonD-672407

Stop raving about always-on. It's been around on Symbian since 2009.

  • Anonymous

Apolodor, 03 Mar 2017I always dream that one day samsung will make the all-new galaxy... moreWell,I was the unlucky one to buy an Alpha based on gsmarena review.The phone remember was godly awful,and quickly forgeted for updates.
Never again,iOS user since than

Apolodor, 23 Apr 2017But gpu is more powerful on alpha, is'nt it ?This a3 2017 as a Mali t830 vs the alphas Mali t628. Also the alpha has an 8 core processor clocked at 4x 1.8 and 4x 1.3. The alphas clock speed is 8x1.6 plus is 64 bit architecture and 1n m processor. I'm inclined to believe the a3 2017 is better.

geewaiho, 23 Apr 2017The a3 2017 is a great phone and very comparable to the alpha. T... moreBut gpu is more powerful on alpha, is'nt it ?

Apolodor, 03 Mar 2017I always dream that one day samsung will make the all-new galaxy... moreThe a3 2017 is a great phone and very comparable to the alpha. The software on lollipop was awful for the alpha whereas marshmallow flies on the a3 2017 with grace ui. The processor is a tad weaker (1.6 vs 1.8, but the a3 has 64. Bit processor on 14nm) but it is allot smoother compare to the alpha which I use both still, better build, better battery, design, performance, camera. And sd card. Alpha has better memory and removable battery).

AnonD-636056, 11 Feb 2017A317 a517 and all the a series except galaxy alpha are crap.. sa... moreI always dream that one day samsung will make the all-new galaxy alpha 2017. But no. They prefer to sell us garbage and turn something good into garbage. At least a5 2017 scores 60k in antutu compared to alpha that scores 40k (at least my alpha)

  • Anonymous

I want to purchase a3 2017 where can I get this phone recently

  • AnonD-643758

Thank's confirms..GSMARENA😍..