OnePlus 5 review: Doing the math

20 June 2017
Strange that with a name like that OnePlus doesn't know simple addition. Oh well, tetraphobia is real and many product lines avoid the number 4, so it's anything but odd for a Chinese company to skip straight to 5. That, and the 3T was sort of like a 4.

Sort by:

When I bought my oneplus 5 it was cracked in the top left and I dropped it and had to pay £70 for the replacement led screen. Since then the screen is not very good as I have to press it a few times to get it to work and the Bluetooth range is very short. Other than that it's a very good phone and I would like to buy the new one when it is released

  • Metfone

SohailSays, 20 Jun 2017Lmao GSMArena, you guys were so quick to review iPlus 5! LTE

  • Anonymous

Dear I got one plus mobile on 27October 2017 fro Amazon but compared to 2gb ram mobile best one 2gb ram Mobil.
Very very worested in the world I told cust support he told simply u have bill or on line purchasing slip but why give IMEI number.
Any open net social network also didn't open
Didn't open what's up videos also company is number one wrest service in the woeld.
While Sys updating very very very slowly downloading software why company is opened froad company in the world one plus this is equlant to (Vijay malya,)
Pls pls change one plus froad activities in futures.

  • AnonD-477126

I have been using it since Nov 2017. With the price I paid for 8GB RAM and 125G storage, i really can't complain, anyway, I likes the speed/functions and sleek design. Battery life is equally impressive. I used it on FB, whats app, games and emails. So far so good. Cheers!

  • Anonymous

That is a very good work keep it up am bishop sunday.

  • AnonD-465862

I've been using this phone for a few months now and am very happy with it. Good battery life, no lag, excellent sound, really responsive fingerprint scanner and dashed good touch/display. One flaw though is that the back is REALLY slippery. You really need the sandstone back cover to be able to use it properly. Without that it just keep slipping out of your hand like a wet eel.

  • AnonD-722103

I have an idea: here it is for free. An optical magnification for camera, placed inside telephone, taking some space on the top of the phone - it will have multiple lenses, as telescope (of course, miniature dimension), and everything will goes through the real mirror (instead of visible lens at the back of the phone). IN this case, optical magnification could be...just imagine. Your welcome.

  • ashish

phone does not have fm radio and inbuild music player. common guys this is basic function which must have enabled in this phone.

  • ravi

hi guys
i bought oneplus5 with lot of enthusiasm ... few features like creating album, copying or moving pic/videos/files option is not available... is it that i am unable to or a limitation of software.... similarly when i set ringtone of my choice other than default tones it doesnt take... the default ringtone gets played .. it overrides my selection?
can anyone help me.. if i am wrong

  • Ketan Patel

Best phone because we always click pick and look like high DSLR camera type pics and high speed phone best slim body so I like phone

  • AnonD-58993

For God sake you won't notice any difference in sharpness >400 ppi density..
why asking for QHD screen?

  • Anonymous

AnonD-711223, 28 Oct 2017This phone is perfect for me except no QHD screen. Why oh why!Better batt life. That's why.

  • imjp

They fixed the jelly effect or not yet?

  • AnonD-67138

Câmera very, very poor.If camera don't is a problem, OP5 is a good choice.

  • AnonD-711223

This phone is perfect for me except no QHD screen. Why oh why!

  • Bryan

Very helpful review, but I didn't notice any data on antenna receiving strength, which is a consideration for me. Did I miss it or is it such a non issue to most that no one even compares that aspect?

Muhammad Fadhli, 30 Sep 2017Where i can get the real Global version 8/128gb this Oneplu... moreOneplus.net

Where i can get the real Global version 8/128gb this Oneplus 5 guy's ,
At Gearbest.com sites or the other like amazon & e-bay ?

  • AnonD-701231

Hello everyone,
I recently shifted myself from Samsung Galaxy Note 4 to OnePlus 5 - 8GB.
I bought my Note 4 in 2015 January and since then I am a loyal follower of Note Series. It's stylus, large screen and big battery helped me a lot in various creative things I did for www.midnightcake.com being online business we had to use several applications and tools to monitor the performance of website and a lot of day to day designing stuff for ads and marketing. I waited a lot for Note7 refurbished version for almost 6 months. The current battery is my 4th original Samsung battery. Everytime I replace the battery it gives a new avatar to it.

After a long wait when I came to know the price of Note8 is going to be somewhere around 70k and that too after waiting almost a month after it's launch I prepared myself for my first One Plus Mobile.

I was sure I needed more RAM for multi tasking and openening several apps simultaneously. So I went with 8GB model. Thanks to Amazon exchange which got me discounted at 34k against a spare Moto. One more advantage I got was for cash back of 2k with Axis Bank which I may get in around November.

The experience of shifting to a new Brand is indeed dicy. It is a risk.
But believe me after using it for almost a week with rigorous usage and long hours of screen time for multiple apps, I feel I don't need a laptop now. I mean wow. No matter how many apps I open in background the swapping is like bread and butter. Thanks to Snapdragon series 8 processor.

OnePlus has earned the trust of performance at Rock bottom prices. Had this configuration under Samsung Brand it would have been a minimum of 75k price tag.

Literally I can have 2 Oneplus 5 - 8GB at the price of Note 8. What's better than that. And there is hardly anything like stylus and 9:18.5 ratio screen size which is not there in Oneplus 5 which is not that needful at that this price. Even Note8 has lesser RAM than this. The built quality is at par.

The camera quality is considerably good. The dual camera is capable enough of replacing the SLR camera in good day light with Portrait Mode. Battery is good enough to handle the full day with GPS and Bluetooth enabled for any wearable device.

Best part - Combination of Processor + RAM + Oxygen OS

Loved : the Black Theme with Blue Icons

The screen looks like super technologically sound device when turning to Black Theme. After several years under boring Touch Wiz of Samsung it gives a good feeling with such changes in theme. I know change always gives fantacy initially but that's why I am writing this review after intense use and under normal mood conditions. Nothing excited or over exaggeration.

These features if provided at 50k is not worth. But yes when you get lucky enough to get them all at 32k it's jackpot.

I remember I bought my Note 4 at 57k in January 2015 which was equivalent to the price of bike I drove.

Overall - to conclude in one line. It's worth at this price specially if you are into creative profile using multiple things else to with 6GB version. Attaching the photo I captured with OnePlus 5.

  • Anonymous

Syed, 26 Jul 2017"One good deed is not enough to redeem a company of lifetim... moreAhem touchwiz ahem..