Google Pixel 2 XL long-term review

03 January 2018
This long-term review is going to take a deeper dive into what it’s like to actually live with the Pixel 2 XL, as the main and only phone, for a few weeks (three, to be precise). We’ll try to answer the questions you might have about the device, regarding things that aren’t covered in our proper review. For example, can you actually get used to that screen? Learn to enjoy it even? Is the Pixel 2 XL a huge improvement over its predecessor? Does it really take such amazing pictures? (OK, so you probably know the answer to the last one). We’ll also cover how easy it is to set up and let you know about any niggles and issues we’ve encountered in day to day use. Let’s jump in and find out if the Pixel 2 XL really is worth your hard earned cash.

Sort by:

Still one of the best phones on the market, the screen is QHD is only 6 inches not the gargantuan blurry 6.5+ inches FHD+ display that most smartphone companies seem to think it's clever to manufacture these days. The Snapdragon 835 is still plenty fast for everything these days, stereo speakers aren't that common but are a wonderful addition to an Android device, big battery plus number 1 smartphone camera. The Pixel 2XL still delivers everything a person would want in an Android phone in 2020!!!

  • Anonymous

the battery is bad. i had 4.5hours Svrren on time on ly after android 9 update pls fix this issue.

  • Aravind

Does it supports esim and how to activate esim

  • Anonymous

How can I get Google px2 screen to buy for my Google phone

  • Anonymous

Guys It is 2018, the disign look old, give us something fancy and good looking.

  • Anonymous

Guys It is 2018, the disign look old, give us something fancy and good looking.

  • Dyerrm

AnonD-26314, 04 Jan 2018Not true for the WiFi networks, I transferred via USB c fro... moreIt was only pixel 2 pixel that that worked please read before you comment

  • GSMArenaReader

AnonD-26314, 04 Jan 2018Not true for the WiFi networks, I transferred via USB c fro... moreI believe they said Pixel-to-Pixel, because I am too, is hoping they would tackle that part when switching from other smartphones to Pixel.

Just having a beer, 08 Jan 2018You are really serious? Yes, the screen may have some minor... more Have some water instead.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jan 2018I'm a sucker for timely security updates (love my nexus 5x)... moreWaiting is a smart move.

  • AnonD-730285

Please solve the charging Problem..
Because still its have charging issue 0% to 100%...
Even its have QUICK CHARG 4.0 its take 2 hour 32 minit for full charged...
But google pixel xl take only 1hour 42minit...

  • Sergiu

Anonymous, 07 Jan 2018The best in terms of software upgrades and security fixes, ... moreI really think that Google doesn't want to make this a phone that sells very well. Of course they will not decline any extra money from it.

My opinion is that Google just tries to showcase where it wants for the Android phones to go, set a general direction and let the manufacturers decide on customization.
Google moneys come in the vast majority from publicity (adwords I think is called) and usage of their services and not from selling devices.

Anonymous, 10 Jan 2018You still don't get the message. The Pixel is the most crip... moreYou forgot to mention ton of bugs with every update...

AnonD-696746, 09 Jan 2018nothing to complain i used a tripod to take pictures of str... moreThanks a lot! I think I will re-consider it and sleep on it :) That said, it's more than likely I'll swap my current LG G6 for the XL in the very near future. I'll wait a couple months and see what the others come up with though.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-696746, 09 Jan 2018nexus and pixel never had SD card btw so they cannot return... moreYou still don't get the message. The Pixel is the most crippled android phone that doesn't sell because Google is stubborn giving it the usual features found in almost all android phones - sd card, true dual sim, headphone jack at the very least. And it costs a lot more than other flagships WITH MUCH LESS to OFFER and nothing special or exclusive about its version of vanilla Android.

  • AnonD-696746

Anonymous, 07 Jan 2018The best in terms of software upgrades and security fixes, ... morenexus and pixel never had SD card btw so they cannot return to having one ;)

  • AnonD-696746

Anonymous, 06 Jan 2018The Pixel 2 XL is the most iphone-like android phone. Ipho... moreWait a second you seem to like contradictions.

Battery life on the pixel 2 xl is on par with S8+ and note 8 ( based on GSM arena test wich are not biased ) its a tad worst than V30 but much better than iphone X and better than iphone 8 plus. stop smoking its bad for you. ( beside iphone they all have gigabyte internet lol )

most phone have those new aspect ratio now even mid ranger are getting it so good luck with cocacola bottle lol.

So i recommend you take a chill pill :)

  • AnonD-696746

Anonymous, 06 Jan 2018Still the best phone with best screen (IPS) .False.

the IPS screen on the essential PH-1 has better colors reproduction and contrast than iphone 8 but a tad less brightness.

Got to love apple fanboy..

  • AnonD-696746

Trump Fan 1980, 05 Jan 2018 I think it's ironic that LG phones embrace 3.5 mm headphon... moreMaybe because its was google that chosen to stay with no 3.5 mm jack ;)

  • AnonD-696746

.alpha, 05 Jan 2018-Check your transferred text messages. Only history newer t... more1- i had client transfert 100% of all text messages they had in the pixel to the pixel 2 ( more than 5 years of text )
2- iphone X screen is better that i agree but iphone 8 plus and older iphone screen look like crap compared to the pixel 2 xl sorry.
3- you can use an app to replace built in night mode many pretty good one around that you can easily make it look the way you want. this is not a limited iphone.
4- gaming you are so full of crap never had a game go under 60 fps with any of the current android flagship running SD 835. Also even compared to iphone X its has more pixel to push as well and some game look better on iphone others like World of tank blitz look way better on android flagship.
5- Camera is not too cold at all its the most colors accurate camera ever put on a smartphone but as you are using a too warm iphone camera its might seem this way to you.