Sony Xperia XZ2 long-term review

24 May 2018
The Xperia XZ2 can’t be confused for anything other than a Sony smartphone. But we wanted to find out is whether the XZ2 can stand out in the very crowded field of the top-of-the-line Android handsets, in more ways than just its looks. To be able to adequately evaluate what it’s like to live with this smartphone every day, we’ve used it as our one and only device for an extended period of time. This is what that experience felt like.

Sort by:

  • Insomnicrap

AnonD-789897, 08 Sep 2018oh really sc@msung fanboy.....Is your wanna compare, camera on the Sony Ericsson K700 introduced in 2004, at that time, was unbeatable. I took a selfie on it and people kept asking what digital camera i used. I told them i took the pic with a phone. Everyone couldn't believe it.

And, yes. I'm a Sony fanboy - i can't help it cuz Sony PlayStation was my life for many, many years growing up, then came Ps2 and that was the end of the road for me - i don't use a Sony phone cuz i can't afford it. I think Sony just make phones to keep the fanboys happy. Since Samsung and Apple are dominating in that area, also not to mention all the Chinese competition, i guess Sony just don't wanna get into it.

  • Anonymous

Long-term review but you should trust a part. Reviewers have a lot of devices, so they can use it day by day as an usual user (I mean using time is not enough, even they claim they used those devices for 30 days or 60 days). I have been using XZ2 for 5 months and 'smoothness' is not a word for this device. Laggy, yes, it has though it doesn't often occur. Today, I just took my phone, unlocked with finger print, swiped down to view wifi and bum, it freezed totally. I had to hard reset to restart my phone. I admit that my phone has no hardware problem since I beggin using it, but as a flagship, it makes me disappointed.
On youtube, I saw so many comments under many videos such as "sony is the best" or "sony is king". But I think they are all sony fanboy who never forget the past and face to current smarphone market. Sony makes good phones, but they aren't comparable to SS or Apple flagship. Exp: 960 fps, a such useless function while there is no normal slow motion like 120/240fps. Does almost normal users really need it? No and no.

  • Cartier

Recent xperia can't much with old s4 cameras....?
But sony makes galaxies cameras
I mean you can't make your own cameras

  • Anonymous

DanishBeacon, 19 Jul 2018Im always amazed when i read abt sony smartphones how this ... moreSony have game console, camera, TV, Music, mobile division for entertainment product..

If their mobile division prod (Xperia) have the same quality of others division for the built-in camera, music, display, the other division won't sold well..

So mobile division create products that wont outperform others products, but give the almost reach the quality..

BTW XZ2 support connect to PS4 Remote Play..
And also they P-OLED display panel in XZ3 can't outperform TV division, because the size of the display for daily use a TV is a TV, phone display is not a TV..

FYI, other manufacturers like Samsung, Xiaomi, Samsung, Apple dont have division like Sony, so they can make their phones best..

  • AnonD-789897

Anonymous, 28 Aug 2018True. Recent sony flagships can't even match camera of old ... moreoh really sc@msung fanboy.....

  • Anonymous

DanishBeacon, 19 Jul 2018Im always amazed when i read abt sony smartphones how this ... moreTrue. Recent sony flagships can't even match camera of old galaxy S4. What a shame!

  • iOna

why bessels are no no for sony phones and fine on other phone manufacturers. why it is that if a new feature is first released by sony, it becomes a gimmick for sony phones once it was copied by other manufacturers.... tsk tsk tsk.

  • Mirko282

Funny, to me, is that you all decry missing 3.5 jack. The reason I started using wireless headphones was that my L3 compact had widely known issue with the 3.5 headphone jack.
Better to leave it out than to put on cheap easily borked one. And, personally, wireless is better for clumsy me, accidentally pulling on a wire all the time :D

Im always amazed when i read abt sony smartphones how this company is continuing to fail to produce a simple, good-looking and attractive smartphone.
Smartphone part of Sony Co. seams to be menaged by old and tired people.
This is the same company that produces the best camera sensors in the world but still is unable to produce a good camera smartphone.
They build their legacy on Sony Walkman but are removing the headphone jack and they do not even have descent music platfom even if there is something called Sony Music!
Why all of this shit is not intergtated into sony devices like PS4 controller on Z3?
Company is so fragmented that is obviously easier to earn money selling sensors and electronic parts to competitors than to produce a sublime audio/photo smartphone with your own parts.
... I better stop here.

  • Anonymous

JackTheiPhoneKiller, 22 Jun 2018A really good all in all but I just can't accept they made ... moreLet it 3.5" go, sony is well known for walkman, to improve sound, this should be done, every mobile phone must follow motorola z band wagon as the innovator

  • JackTheiPhoneKiller

A really good all in all but I just can't accept they made such a thick phone and were still not able to accommodate a 3.5 mm headphone jack. Or the phone shouldn't have been this thick to begin with

Berrykool, 06 Jun 2018Honestly, I prefer 16:9 ratio. It is sharper than 18:9, whi... moreXZ2 is nice try out for Sony, the XZ2 compact is fit in hand with 18:9 display ratio. I think the 18:9 display ratio trends will be the shortest trends and soon the more taller trends and notch trends will help people hate their shorter finger and thumb. XZ2 compact retain the perfect size for one hand usage and the 18:9 display ratio other 18:9 display flagships are not for one hand usages and stretching finger all day long like a dupe.

Honestly, I prefer 16:9 ratio. It is sharper than 18:9, which makes the screen longer, hence more expensive.

  • Anonymous

Tha beaSt cell

  • Anonymous

Thus Sony flagship is cell of the year 2018.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-521587, 28 May 2018still fairly certain that the pixel 2 and the p20 pro have ... moreIf so... there prob Sony sensors! Hahaha

Nzi97, 28 May 2018Pixel, yes P20 pro, urr nah, ugly purple fringing and over... moreNah, not Pixel 2...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qhGAVepS6hI

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mtb-yxhqSHQ

AnonD-521587, 28 May 2018still fairly certain that the pixel 2 and the p20 pro have ... morePixel, yes
P20 pro, urr nah, ugly purple fringing and oversharpening really make it bad, not to mention the DR, and I not even talking about the AI mode yet, which is worse

  • AnonD-521587

Shui8, 24 May 2018When it comes to details and natural color, both low lights... morestill fairly certain that the pixel 2 and the p20 pro have better cameras than xz2 still

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 May 2018You are comparing 12MP with 19MP. Of course there will ... moreIt is Sony's choice to use 19 MP.