Huawei P20 Pro long-term review

19 July 2018
It was an exciting flagship season this spring, yes, but once the dust has settled, there was only a handful of devices that left lasting impressions. On top of that shortlist is the tri-eyed beast that is the Huawei P20 Pro and it was high time we do a long-term review of this one while using it as a daily driver.

Sort by:

hhvdblom, 21 Nov 2018Dont buy this phone: 1. No gorilla glass, the glass is weak... moreIt's got gorilla glass 5 and is extremely strong, so yours is counterfeit...

HelarK, 12 Dec 2018Buy this phone because: 1. i have dropped P20Pro face down... moreYou dropped it on ass fault.... Who's phalt was that...

Shadeel, 02 Nov 2020I don't think so cause I have CLT-T29 MODEL which was ... moreI agree the screen is very very strong..

I had my first one for about a year then changed to S10 and not even 3 months later went back and bought another P20 Pro, belter phone, battery, speed, and performance are excellent had this one for 13 months now and I am still not considering changing yet.
I would like to upgrade O. S. To Android 10 as mine is still on 9, so if anyone know the easy way please let me know, I will be very grateful as I have seen P20 Pros running Android 10.
Thanks.. Great phone

Just got my p20 pro two weeks ago...... And still feel superior to all these 2021 midranger like the Samsung a72 and the Infinix note 10

  • Anon

Lonelo, 19 May 2021Had for 2.5 years. Does everything I need. Speed, battery s... moreAlthough it is swelling up, it will work just fine; and replacing the battery at a Huawei store isn't costly at all, too. I've had a battery swell up on a P10+ after being used for three years.

  • Anonymous

Have had it for 2+ years - amazing phone. A car even ran it over and it is working absolutely perfectly ( yes, I changed the front glass). Battery goes on for more than a day, depending on the use, charges fast, camera is great, fast, smoothly working phone. Never regretted it.

  • Lonelo

Had for 2.5 years. Does everything I need. Speed, battery still same. Was going to continue using this but recently noticed the battery is swelling up and lifting back cover up. A little worried but phone still works like before with no problem, battery life still good. Can go for a full day.

Mjare, 17 Feb 2019Very weak screen man, i already have few scraches but i don... moreProbably come from when you scratched it

  • Kiev

Had my phone since Sep 2018, still running good. I dropped it (unprotected) just a month after getting it and it has visible cracks on the front screen, back is unharmed. I chose not to replace the screen cause I can still use it, just pretended that it's not there. The lack of updates now is what makes it somewhat a let down. I'm happy I bought this and after 3 years I can say that it's a flagship that lasts. Another thing is it can still run new processor heavy games such as Genshin Impact(lowest settings and sometimes laggy but I managed). Camera quality still makes it great compared to low budget phones today with higher amount of megapixels.

  • Leeroy

Had my p20pro two half years, even kept it when my upgrade was due, best phone ever had, does all I need and more, can't fault it, exceptional

  • Shadeel

Mjare, 17 Feb 2019Very weak screen man, i already have few scraches but i don... moreI don't think so cause I have CLT-T29 MODEL which was thrown on ground and got slip while running a bike not even scratch on the screen

  • Qirex

This is the best phone I've ever had. After a long history of Apple phones in my life I decided to get this phone for a change and I don't regret it one single bit. Tough screen, fantastic battery I don't have to charge once/twice a day (looking at you, Apple), it handles games flawlessly without getting more than tepid, the camera is amazing and it looks incredible. 10/10 from me :D everyone's experience may be different but I can't recommend it enough.

HelarK, 12 Dec 2018Buy this phone because: 1. i have dropped P20Pro face down... moreVery weak screen man, i already have few scraches but i dont even know where they came from... Great phone but dont use without screen protection

  • Anonymous

1st of all, I have it and it's a nice phone, but on last emui 9 huawei decided to force lock the phone on pressing the power button or when the screen goes off.
Before (on emui 8) users had the chance to decide on that (for people with pin lock thats horrible as you have to put the pin every time the screen goes off, while before you could chose to lock the phone when no action for 2 min)

Every day huawei wants to be more apple.. locking user options, like disabling 16:9 on photo capture, locking the phone always on screen off,or like locking other bootloades or dev access...
I undersand there's no perfect phone, and again, P20pro is really nice one i use daily, but i'm just disapointed on software decissions that restrict the user. Hope they will correct in next patches...

  • harukaze87

I got the phone recently and was bugged about having all apps on home as well. Good thing there is Microsoft Launcher and I can have only the apps I need on home screens. Also I can disable the screen on the left with news and stuff.
Speaking off Microsoft, the now dead Lumia line had the long exposure feature on all the phones for 5-6 years now. It's not something invented on the Galaxy S7 or by Apple recently

  • paknon76

p20 pro go only for camera. that all

  • HelarK

hhvdblom, 21 Nov 2018Dont buy this phone: 1. No gorilla glass, the glass is weak... moreBuy this phone because:
1. i have dropped P20Pro face down on the asphalt at half a meter. Barely made a scratch on the glass, nothing visible (had no protection).
2. Camera does have a very good lighting in shadows and dark but MasterAI may decide to focus on something else and oversaturate, user can always turn it off or use pro or HDR mode.

  • Jani

More better, this: https://www.gsmarena.com/oneplus_6t_5t_3t_evolution-review-1861p3.php or Huawei P20/P20 Pro.

  • hhvdblom

Dont buy this phone: 1. No gorilla glass, the glass is weak. 2. The camera does not have good lighting. The S9+ has gorilla glass and has good lighting. The condition when there is shadow and you have to turn your phone to get good lighting on the subject the Huawei sucks and the S9+ shines. Strange that is not noticed during testing of reviewers. The weak glass is already mentioned by professional reviewers, but the lighting conditions not. My girlfriend has a S9+ so I could compare. If there was a shadowed environment, the S9+ was much more capable to deliver a good picture, the Huawei not.