Xiaomi Mi Max 3 review

25 August 2018
Remember when people made fun of the original Samsung Galaxy Note and its "humungous" 5.3-inch display? Oh, how the times have changed. Still, have we really come to a point where a 6.9 inch diagonal behemoth is able to avoid the "tablet" category and stretch the already confusing phablet category even further?

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Is there any reason why the Mi Max 3 is STILL not available officially in India? It's been some time now since it was officially launched.

Heck, the Poco F1 phone was launched much later and one round of flash sale is already over.

mukhi, 28 Aug 2018Good to know that you own it. Can you please confirm the follow... morewtf ! r u buying a flagship ? then go for xiaomi mi8 . it has everything you mentioned.

Note - Mi max is a budget device .

Anonymous, 27 Aug 2018Ummm...no. Last time I checked, human hands nor pants made for p... moreIt seems you have never held a Mi Max or Mi max 2....
My pocket has no problem with the Mi Max 2 and EVERYBODY who uses my phone wishes their screen was larger. Phones won't get wider but they will get taller (18:9 is not the end)
My wife has an Iphone 8 Plus....She now sees her screen is too small and Apple agrees and will launch a 6.5" screen phone soon.
I have been buying mobile phones longer than you (over 25 years), trust me I know the trend.

enjoyment, 27 Aug 2018i have mi max 3, and he have manual with shutter speed up to 32s... moreGood to know that you own it. Can you please confirm the following?
OIS yes or no
Stereo speaker good yes or no
TV control by IR remote yes or no
Possible to hold it in one hand during a phone call yes or no?
OTG (on-the-go) support yes or no

TIA

  • enjoyment

i have mi max 3, and he have manual with shutter speed up to 32sec. since mi max 2 - dont lie. Effects of manual in this phone is far far better than manual in newest galaxy's.

Bezels could have been lesser,,2 mm less each on sides and 5mm each off the top and bottom could have been achieved. Battery could have been 5000Amps which is v decent and great.

Or they can launch a max 3 mini: dims 162 x 82 mm. Display 6.5/6".

Anonymous, 26 Aug 2018now poco endurance is 94h. go check onceOh, yeah they admit miscalculating the video playback. Now everything looks inline.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Aug 2018Ummm...no. Last time I checked, human hands nor pants made for p... morePerceptions, mindsets and usages have changed over time.

Pockets have been adequate enough to accommodate large phones for ages. Two hands big enough to handle a large phone have been in existence since the arrival of mankind.

So as long as there is a HUGE demand for phones of 6" and above, you can continue having your own opinions, which shouldn't really matter a bit to the target audience.

Regards

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Aug 2018Ummm...no. Last time I checked, human hands nor pants made for p... moreI have been using Asus' Nexus7 (width 114mm), sometimes operating on left hand alone
so I believe MiMax3's width of 87.4mm should be no problem for my palm

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 26 Aug 2018now poco endurance is 94h. go check onceso if using Poco as base (94hr from 4,000mAh), MiMax3's 5,500mAh should deliver 129hr
means the flagship 845 is really efficient

  • Anonymous

Ring Tone, 27 Aug 2018Stop worrying about what you look like and focus on utility. Ta... moreUmmm...no. Last time I checked, human hands nor pants made for people have increased in size.

  • wkwkwkw

LuffySama, 27 Aug 2018Xiaomi Mi Max 4 with amoled screen and 845 snapdragon!in your country????

  • Anonymous

Nicolas F, 25 Aug 2018It's not so direct, because Honor Note 10 is both more powerful ... moreHonor 8x would be a direct competitor more powerful chip too.

Anonymous, 26 Aug 2018I'm STILL making fun of the humongous phablets on the market. Pe... moreStop worrying about what you look like and focus on utility.
Tablets are losing popularity as large phones dominate.
Only a few years ago people thought 5" was too big, now 6" is standard and even apple is releasing ....7" phones will be the norm in a few years and you will conveniently forget your lack of vision.

  • alca

I'm used to the width of the MiMax1 88mm. To obtain the same width with 18:9 you can go as large as 7.5inch. That's what I'm looking for now. I had hoped the phone would have a bit better battery life and slighty better chipset.

Oh wait, Max 3 doesn't have OIS? I have noticed this only after reading review of the Poco which doesn't have OIS either.

Xiaomi Mi Max 4 with amoled screen and 845 snapdragon!

  • Anonymous

I'm STILL making fun of the humongous phablets on the market. People look ridiculous holding their gigantic phones. It's reminiscent of the 80s.

  • Osaka

Nicolas F, 26 Aug 2018Honor Note 10 has 1.25 mm thinner side bezels (sum of both).Yes, it's 0.6mm less on each side, according to my calculations. Pretty much the definition of the same size. Yt reviewers comparing the two don't even seem to notice.

leledumbo, 26 Aug 2018POCO F1 4000mAh: 111h endurance rating Mi Max 3 5500mAh: 115h e... moreIt's better to compare screen squares, not diagonals) more space - more lighting (if comparing IPSs) - more energy.