OnePlus 6 long-term review

18 Sept 2018
The OnePlus 6: still a top notch deal? If so, is that despite or maybe even thanks to its top notch? On the surface, it definitely seems like this is a worthy contender in the flagship realm even today, with its glass back, minimal bezels, and top of the line internals for 2018.

Sort by:

  • Aks

I purchased the phone in Aug 2018, still the phone is running smoothly, long battery backup, fast charging, superp camera, fast working, latest os android 11 update, everything is up to date to the compare of new phone. Salute to makers

  • Jp

No issues with the phone but a concern is 11 update
It still runs smoothly

  • Anonymous

Mohit, 19 Jun 2021Purchased June 2018 and it's going good so far. The on... moreOnePlus 6 is an Amezing device. I purchased on the very first day of its launch. And still i m using without a problem. In 3 n half years i dint have a single issue.

  • Mohit

Purchased June 2018 and it's going good so far. The only concern I have is that it's not still 3 years to my phone but I have not received android 11 update on this. Wonder if they have stopped rolling out updates for this one. Looks like they are 'Finally Settled'

  • Raven

I got the red 128gb when it has launched. It has been an excellent phone over the years until it suddenly decided to shut it self down when I'm playing games like pubg mobile or wild rift. At first I didn't suspect much until it happened more frequently after couple weeks, if the phone gets warm because is running some application it will shut down and if I restarted it will shutdown either instantly or after an minute or so. I had to leave it to cool down before booting up again. I have tried factory reset but issue is not solved. Prob some damage in the battery? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  • Anonymous

I dont care about fast charging. I'm fine super slow charging my phone every night instead but it must be able to function all day. Oneplus 6 does not.

  • Satish Kolli

Purchased in August, 2018 256GB Variant. Lives up to expectation till date. Never face any issues of struck, restart or slow.

  • Niru

Purchased on 22May 2018 posting from the same phone at the end of 2020 and expecting it to last another year without trouble.
Played pubg on this like 7 hrs a day and still no sign of slowness...love this beast.

  • Raj

As heard new op8 have bad camera than OP6. Op should improve their front camera.

  • Me

Kristian, 12 Dec 2018Of course you will get more missing features if you combine... moreNo you are wrong every update since it came out has been the same like android oreo and pie.

  • Jordaliz

OnePlus 6 Is a killer phone. I have Android Pie & 201901 security patch. Almost a year since I got it and It still flies.

The OnePlus beta program has even more frequent updates.
No complaints here about this beast.

  • Anonymous

Steve, 30 Oct 2018500$ V30 - 2k Oled Screen - IP68 - wireless charging -... moreYou forget to mention that no update lol.

  • Kristian

Steve, 30 Oct 2018500$ V30 - 2k Oled Screen - IP68 - wireless charging -... moreOf course you will get more missing features if you combine ALL of the available devices or comparing to a device that is way beyond it's price. Out of all 2018 flagship devices you mentioned which device's price is NOT (or almost) TWICE the price?

Also, not everything is based on specs alone. You have to consider the hardware and software, how clean and smooth it is. OnePlus is the 2nd smoothest next to Pixel but based on MKBHD after a while Pixel becomes slower but OnePlus is still as fast as it was.

It's true that OnePlus 6 is not anymore a flagship killer, well not anymore after Pocophone F1 being released. But before that Oneplus is still the flagship killer.

PS. OP6 is still better than POCO F1 based on a lot of aspect. But POCO is too cheap to not be considered a flagship killer.
PPS. Even though OP6 has no IP rating, based on JerryRigsEverything's Teardown it has all the water protection that a IP68 rated phone has. POCO doesn't have any of these.
PPPS. OnePlus has the FASTEST Charger called Dash Charge(superVOOC for OPPO).

  • Nice

I have an IOS device (XS MAX) and android all the time, my android phoneOF CHOICE is still a Note 4, at the moment which lags at the currently and is slow to load some apps. I will look at this phone and the mate 20 pro, as well as the S10 and upgrade my android device.

Currently think it will be S10 but I have been wanting the 6T for such a long time, great device for the price.

  • Gwynd

"First off, the small notch seems to have impacted the reliability of the proximity sensor."

How bad is it? My OnePlus 3 has actually managed to make calls whilst I am already on a call, because the screen's come on whilst I am talking on the phone.

  • Slayer

El Natan, 02 Nov 2018That's not the point, and some of what you said is complete... moreOnly his comments regarding Fast Charging and arguably S Pen are incorrect (not many phones have it). The OP is generally seen as a mid ranger competing with flagships and representing value for money. It is absolutely not a flagship killer, not by a long shot. Absolutely great phone for the price, though.

The OP6T will be judged more harshly as a function of removing the headphone jack, notification LED and still no IP Rating as the company is starting to SETTLE! May have to drop the Never Settle tag.

Anonymous, 19 Sep 2018I've been wondering for some time. What makes the Pixel the... moreGo to google type in this 2 words “software optimisation” and study for yourself ......also search runtime virtual engine

  • El Natan

Steve, 30 Oct 2018500$ V30 - 2k Oled Screen - IP68 - wireless charging -... moreThat's not the point, and some of what you said is completely false.

  • MOHAN KUMAR R

When one plus 6 ll get it's next update 9.0.1 because my slow motion camera getting prob. And I read it LL be solved in next update...wen the update LL be released

  • Steve

500$ V30
- 2k Oled Screen
- IP68
- wireless charging
- way better camera : photo&video
- better battery life ( 93h vs 90h gsmarena )
- Quad DAC
- HDR10 compliant
- Always-on display
- microSD card Slot
- Headphone JACK
- Ultrawide camera - extremely usefull
- Stereo FM radio with RDS

And that is 2017 Flagship
If we compare it to 2018 flagships : Mate 20 Pro, Note 9, Lg V40, Iphone Xs etc etc IT KINDA LOOKS LIKE MIDRANGER
WHY THEY KEEP CALLING IT FLAGSHIP KILLER ?

- No STEREO SPEAKERS
- NO IR BLASTER
- NO ULTRA FAST CHARGING
- NO S PEN
- NO NOTHING SPECIAL ....

I mean, it's a good phone for the price. But NO flagship killer here...