Google Pixel 3 XL review

11 November 2018
The Pixel 3 XL is Google's latest flagship smartphone. It promises to bring everything we have come to expect with the Pixel brand, including a clean build of Android, fast performance, quality camera and some cool software tricks that only Google can come up with.

Sort by:

Since android 10 installed on my 3xl i got a problem on my WeSing app, on scrolling song comments for about 3-4 minutes the app lags & freezes;(

  • akolakan

Got a problem on WeSing apps on scrolling song comments, it lags and freezes for 2 to 4 minutes:(

  • Worst phone ever

This phone is very problematic. Buyers beware!

  • Neelabh110

As soon as I looked at my 3XL after using the OnePlus 7Pto and the Galaxy S10+, the notch was like ughhh... I have disabled it from the developer settings. Now it looked like the vanilla 3, just bigger.😁

  • phawk

Azza, 29 Apr 2019Got this phone new from retailer in Australia. Didn't know this... moreDisable "Digital Wellbeing" and see if it helps. I

  • Azza

Got this phone new from retailer in Australia.
Didn't know this at the start but the phone is a dud.
Can't sms out, have to reconfigure my Bluetooth to both my cars every time I get into them.
Also the phone just cuts out from 4g to h+(whatever that is) intermittently.
plus is sluggish, very sluggish.

Tried everything know to man to fix it, but the retailer and their support/technical team coulnd't fix it.
Well the policy for google is that I have to send my phone back to them and then they send me one back. 15 day turnaound.

If this bothers you, don't get this phone.
Stick to an Iphone.

IMO, adopting a notch for Pixel 3 XL is a bit strange. I think many people may prefer basing on the design of Pixel 2 XL (without notch), or at least use a smaller notch. Yet its notch is one of the largest among current flagships. I think Google has followed the design of iphone X, yet Pixel 3 XL had no face unlock and why did it need such a large notch? Fortunately, it had LED screen and "hiding" the notch is possible.

  • dip

camera is good

  • steve

no good , i using messenger cal and black screen appear a faulty phone

  • flmngo51

Battery is horrible. Have to charge in middle of day with regular use. will never recomment this phone.

Abdul Rafey , 14 Nov 2018Wow its really amazing to see this Google pixel 3XL The first l... moreThis phone can be stored in Pakistan

  • Anonymous

SpiritWolf, 13 Nov 2018Well, i am pretty sure Pixels camera is ok, if you take pictures... moreGotta admit HTC U12+ camera is an absolute beast. Seriously underrated phone.

  • Eek

nate0, 15 Nov 2018Why didn't gsmarena do lab tests for the Pixel 3 XL review?I was just wondering myself. I'm debating between this and the 3 and it seems like the battery on the 3 MIGHT be a bit better and it seems like the charge is slower on the XL too. Very thorough review on the 3 and it would be cool to see some battery info like like this page:

https://www.gsmarena.com/google_pixel_3-review-1­847p3.php

Why didn't gsmarena do lab tests for the Pixel 3 XL review?

  • Abdul Rafey

Wow its really amazing to see this Google pixel 3XL
The first look i have seen it was very good the camera is very good quality is a good way of creating a better quality piece with a good quality camera mind blowing i want this phone it's amazing

  • Anonymous

Pure android and nice spekers borrow from great motorola rokr: xperia xz2 and xz3. Pixel always follow iphone design: hardware flaw in most series.
Just focus make faster update, xl2 duo is big joke

  • Anonymous

JIMBOB81, 12 Nov 2018Just my opinion dude, if you get chance to have a go on one try ... moreWell, your totally-real-friend's Mate 20 Pro must be faulty because the cameras on that beast are much better than this thing's.

  • Camera

Camera is good but the rest is TRASH!! Go for 6T, Mate 20, or wait for S10 with new UI - Going to be beast phones. Who buys Pixel anyway?

Jimbob81, 13 Nov 2018Thanks for the insight, however i actually do know about image q... moreWell, i am pretty sure Pixels camera is ok, if you take pictures of close and simple objects. But landscapes and anything that contains detail, is big no no. Look at first sample photo. Is it grass or is it green rug? I can't tell because lack of detail. And that's the problem all tiny sensor 12 mp mobile cameras have. Some are worse, some little better but not a one can beat my Nokia 808. After looking pictures snapped with 808, all nowadays 12mp mobile cameras make pictures that look like water paintings. Objetcs you can see but no detail. For more casual photography i have used Lumia 950XL and lately i bought Sony XZ3, because of camera. I don't mind little noise, but lack of detail is infuriating. So, i still think that this 'miles ahead of competition' is joke at best. Pixels camera (if we are talking about detail) aren't even best in 12 mp snappers class (that would be HTC U12+). And gets completely destroyed by latest Sony and even 3 years old Lumia cameras. Only thing it has is multistacking for wide dynamic range.

  • Jimbob81

SpiritWolf, 12 Nov 2018Camera miles ahead of competition? You just proved that you don'... moreThanks for the insight, however i actually do know about image quality and cameras as its part of my job to take photos. I've used pixel cameras in place of my SLR at times and the results have been brilliant. The consistency and quality I personally have got im extremely impressed with, but everyone has an opinion!