Google Pixel 3 XL review

11 November 2018
The Pixel 3 XL is Google's latest flagship smartphone. It promises to bring everything we have come to expect with the Pixel brand, including a clean build of Android, fast performance, quality camera and some cool software tricks that only Google can come up with.

Sort by:

xformer, 12 Nov 2018such a lowsy review! this is worthless!! you should not pos... moreHave you even read it? Or this is just above your your standard and head lmao.

StraightEdgeNexus, 12 Nov 2018Wow it took you a whole month to put up a review and this i... moreI found this review to be really informative and it tells about someone's experience with the phone which a review is all about. Stop posting dumb comments.

StraightEdgeNexus, 12 Nov 2018Wow it took you a whole month to put up a review and this i... moreHa ha ha. You are acting like you have are paying money to get these reviews.

trospe, 26 Dec 2020As the gsmarena told "the phone it's fine" y... more250 ? The camera alone is worth the money. You can't get a better camera for stills even to this date.

Even to this day, the 3 XL's notch is still an eyesore. Even hiding the notch is a half-arsed job, LG did a much better job with the V40. Google got the design so right with the vanilla 3 as it has no notch, thus making it looks much neater and more elegant than the 3 XL. I definitely welcome the front speaker, it is definitely a very useful feature to accommodate the bezel.

  • Dom

Has anyone else have the phone overheat and crash?

Anonymous, 01 Feb 2021'The Pixels come with a heavily customised version of ... moreThen Nokia's version is completely barebones

  • Anonymous

'The Pixels come with a heavily customised version of Android'
Thats cause you installed alot of bloatware and apps on it

Naclesan, 25 Dec 2020What the hell are you ppl on about? Phone is great! If you ... moreAs the gsmarena told "the phone it's fine" yes. But you can get 90% of what pixel offers for the half money.
200 (say 250 because it's a "Google" product) would be fine , but is not a flagship mobile.

  • Naclesan

What the hell are you ppl on about? Phone is great! If you optimise it a bit and disable that digital wellbeing piece of crap, the phone moves like a 2020 flagship. Haptics and vibrations for me are just perfect! Better than the iphone 11, actually.

  • Papudo

Guaoo. I was thinking to buy this phone Pixel XL and reading sll of the reviews I believe it won't be wise yo do it!!

  • anonymous

Worst phone I've ever used.
It's really slow. I tried every methods possible. It's still slow. And its slowness is affecting my daily life: can't answer a phone call, can't capture a picture of my cat when he's doing funny things
Can't install anything from Play Store. I tried every methods possible. It worked once then went back to not working.

  • Anonymous

Great camera and a nice screen. However, Bluetooth is very unstable with frequent crashes rendering the phone all but useless.
Google doesn't seem to plan to fix it, (link below), so perhaps time to give Apple a chance.
https://issuetracker.google.com/issues/151033055

  • Falkis

I used my 3XL for six months. I do agree with this review. Just adding a few personal experiences.

My speaker phone is still not working. And there are many people reporting this problem. No upgrade will fix it. I tried all the branded self help there was until March 2020. Then gave up.
Android 9 or Android 10 doesn't matter.

MMS and SMS was totally unreliable until late May 2020. Many messages couldn't be sent or read. I'm not sure it's 100% now, but way better it is.


Why did Google quality control let faulty phones pass? Hoping we wouldn't notice? Only they know the answer. I think they care more about their short term sales than about us customers.


After reading about the poor Pixel 4XL, combined with my experiences of this one, I decided not to go for any piece of Google hardware again.

After six months I gave up with this phone. Purchased an 11pro Max instead. Hoping for better luck with next phone. Now sending this 3XL to service.

Crossing my fingers that the know service.
Will they fix it on the first try? I don't think so.

  • kris

Good review. It is technically very detailed and well written..

  • Androidmax

Still the best Android smart phone on the market even in 2020 we have tested over 40 new smartphones still Pixel 3 XL is on top of the list over all. Google is still selling the Pixel 3 XL for over $1000 on there website. Just remember with Android smartphones you get what you pay for. It's only just under the Pixel 4 XL by 4% in testing.

Since android 10 installed on my 3xl i got a problem on my WeSing app, on scrolling song comments for about 3-4 minutes the app lags & freezes;(

  • akolakan

Got a problem on WeSing apps on scrolling song comments, it lags and freezes for 2 to 4 minutes:(

  • Worst phone ever

This phone is very problematic. Buyers beware!

  • Neelabh110

As soon as I looked at my 3XL after using the OnePlus 7Pto and the Galaxy S10+, the notch was like ughhh... I have disabled it from the developer settings. Now it looked like the vanilla 3, just bigger.😁