Sony Xperia XZ3 long-term review

08 March 2019
We used the Sony Xperia XZ3 as our main smartphone for an extended period of time, trying to evaluate whether it might serve most people well in day to day use, away from benchmarks, sales numbers, and objective tests. So join us over the next few pages as we explore what the Xperia XZ3 has to offer in 2019.

Sort by:

  • fre

As Sony user cant be so happy have different type of phone among other million people using the same one.

Anonymous, 12 Mar 2019Here you go.... https://www.gsmarena.com/sony_sold_only_16_mill... morefunny that this is the drop period for Sony coz they ruined it that time, that's why you don't see many buyers... GSMA posted the lowest sales for Sony mobile.

whatever comes up, eventually will fall.... and maybe will rise again.... nobody will stay on top all the time.

  • Anonymous

Ball, 12 Mar 2019Google wishes they could sell that many Pixels. Also you might w... moregoogle can't sell many phones because they dont sell their phones worldwide. many people want to buy pixel but sadly it doesnt available in their countries.

And sony, sony cant sell many phones because users avoid to buy xperia. Hence.. making sony stop their mobile business activities in many many countries.

  • Ball

Anonymous, 12 Mar 2019Here you go.... https://www.gsmarena.com/sony_sold_only_16_mill... moreGoogle wishes they could sell that many Pixels. Also you might want to check the median price of Sony phones comapred to Chinese OEMs

  • Anonymous

Crytek, 12 Mar 2019did you check whos buying and whos not? how did you know that as... moreHere you go....
https://www.gsmarena.com/sony_sold_only_16_milli­on_phones_in_last_fiscal_quarter-news-33980.php

Anonymous, 12 Mar 2019But no one buy xperia anymore these days..did you check whos buying and whos not? how did you know that as a fact? or you just assumed that by yourself? not coz you won't buy it you assume that no 1 will buy it too...

where I find those laggs, because in my XZ3 is hided wery well?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019It's lag. Gsma proves it in this review.sony is trying to copy samsung in every possible ways. The design, and the "Lag". All copies samsung.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019It's lag. Gsma proves it in this review.even top high end pc sometimes have rare case with suddenly stutter lag..but still it can concluded it is lag-free..

as at the moment im using xz2 and note 9 as daily..
in term lag is comparable..
lag in this thing is lag in premium league not same in low budget..
people sometimes miss this things..
so xz3 i expect similar performance..

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019It's lag. Gsma proves it in this review.Except their review isn't lining up with people that also own the phone... Like myself.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019Sorry mate... Real world SONY cell users vs Review user like... moreBut no one buy xperia anymore these days..

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019Sorry mate... Real world SONY cell users vs Review user like... moreMore like all those 5 people that actually have genuine interest towards Sony's phones are unable to notice lag when they see it. Like I compared earlier, it's like watching a stable 60 FPS game after you've gotten used to 144 FPS - you will notice all that lag 60 FPS has. I'm suggesting you haven't experienced anything better, so you think it's all good and runs smoothly.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019It's lag. Gsma proves it in this review.Sorry mate...
Real world SONY cell users vs Review user like gsm is very different and agree with SONY has great updates!

  • 1

Ralesk, 11 Mar 2019I love how the review focuses so much on Sony using "dated" look... more
People shouldn't take these reviews too seriously, especially when speaking about software features and design. This is more a personal opinion than a review. Criticising big bezels? There is no point in arguing about that, but the overall design is premium as always from Sony. Sony's video and audio enhancements, differently from most others, actually work.

I have several XZ series phones and all of them deliver great user experience.



I love how the review focuses so much on Sony using "dated" looks -- well, not everyone wants bezel-less, not everyone wants a hole or a notch in the display, and certainly not everyone wants those overly rounded screen corners that seem to be the fad this past year (the XZ3 fails to deliver on that last one). Somehow I'm not seeing reviews banging on all the other manufacturers that all the other phones on the market look exactly the same ("we're all individuals!"), and there's no way to buy a phone that *doesn't* look like that. Unless you buy an entry-level one. You have no choice but to buy a notch or a hole (I doubt anyone actively *wants* it), and ridiculous-to-9 ratio phones that we were joking about in the past when iPhone finally moved away from 4:3, at sizes 6"+

Sony is apparently also "dated" for not having the Pie-style app switcher. I have recently upgraded to Pie (on LineageOS) on my Oneplus 2... That app switcher was a mistake. Seems like a copy of iPhone's and for no good reason whatsoever. Uncomfortable to use, apps waste screen estate, you name it. Oh, and the double-tap lag is available here too -- starting to wonder if it's not Pie being dumb there (that some vendors fixed maybe).

I have never had a Sony phone, but I'm glad they're one of the very few phone makers (another seems to be Nokia) that aren't following the rest of the flock and I'm definitely eyeing them if I need to replace my current one.

(Edit: being UTF-8 incompatible in 2k19, come on GSMA)

Eldamri, 11 Mar 2019Yes the snapdragon 810 SOC has heating issues even with non sony... moreA good example for that is the Oneplus 2. Warms up at the slightest use.

  • Anonymous

Slayer, 10 Mar 2019I have to agree with that. XZ3 no lag, speedy up dates, close to... moreIt's lag. Gsma proves it in this review.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019Such baseless accusations singling out a particular brand is ext... moreSonyfans hates all other brands

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019actually you don't have xperia xz3 you are just samsung fanboy w... moreSuch baseless accusations singling out a particular brand is extremely common on Sony threads. I wonder what's with the insecurity of these people.

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2019Wrong. Not due to SOC because all sony flagships have heating is... morei have never had any heat issues with my XZs which i had for nearly 2 years, i don't know about, sony phone don't heat much even when doing all task, but i don't play games with touchscreen, i do use ps vita and 3ds, don't even listen to music, playing fighting or action games on touchscreen to me is like using a steering wheel to play music based game