Xiaomi Mi 9 SE review

03 July 2019


Sort by:

  • Fox

Still loving this phone after 1,5 years and never had any problems with it. I don't know what to do when it eventually becomes obsolete because apparently there are no compact phones anymore apart from the Pixels.

  • Se owner

Disappointed with this phone. Headline stats are impressive and good value, and it's camera, speed, and screen quality are undeniably good. But it's such a frustrating phone to use! The skin is awful and obtuse. You don't always have control over settings you'd like (ie max brightness is only available using the automatic brightness), and annoying little problems arise a lot. For example, Google pay has had and still has issues, adverts are everywhere, and now I have a new problem where my phone keeps automatically switching between normal white background and a yellow tinted one, even as I write this comment! If you're wondering, I haven't changed any settings, and I've checked through the reading mode settings etc, and can't yet find a solution. Perhaps I will, but the point remains something of this ilk shouldn't be such an issue. It's too consistent and predictable to be hardware either btw, in case you're wondering! So yeah, it's a phone that's fantastic value on the face of it, but everyday use has it's issues even compared to cheaper phones.

  • Anonymous

With MIUI 12 you can record 1080p @ 60fps.

  • John

ATOM, 18 Jun 2020my phone with blue screen after 8 month use , now whole scr... morei am having the same blue screen problem brother so please provide me any suggestions to get rid of it.......

  • agus

Featinwe, 25 Feb 2020Nope, I checked it by covering cameras. Bottom one is used ... moreWow!! I just tried that and it's true!!! though it kind of switches to the 1x camera when I cover the theoretical 2x camera.

  • Ahmed

vasanth, 09 Sep 2019Can someone help me chosing mi 9 se and mi 9t pro. which is... moreI would suggest to get the Mi 9t, cuz it's way better.

  • Marko 222

My Xiaomi mi 9se has a ' can't connect to camera ' notification . It has happened before and after trying several options I factory reset the phone. The camera worked for a few days and then the same notification came up. While the cameras out of action YouTube doesn't work through the Chrome by but works on other browsers. Any ideas on the fix for this?

  • ATOM

ktown, 20 Mar 2020bought the 8GB +128GB version in china at $200, great deal.... moremy phone with blue screen after 8 month use , now whole screen blue. when I contact the seller, it say not under warrant

  • Honcho

medya, 29 Mar 2020I am so disappointed with this phone I feel I've wasted my ... moreWhy? What is wrong with the device hardware or software?

  • medya

I am so disappointed with this phone I feel I've wasted my money.

  • ktown

bought the 8GB +128GB version in china at $200, great deal. one drop made the LED liquid leak, but repaired free under warranty. one OTA update damaged the OS again repaired free. except for poor battery and fake telephoto camra, great camera. I use this more than my iphone 11 pro, because of the weight difference, easier to carry.

  • Featinwe

MB, 02 Jan 2020From what I read, telephoto lens is activated in the Pro mo... moreNope, I checked it by covering cameras. Bottom one is used for tele in any mode (middle is main camera and top is UWA).

  • MB

peter, 18 Nov 2019just a quick note to the camera review. The 2x mode does no... moreFrom what I read, telephoto lens is activated in the Pro mode (otherwise you get digital crop).

  • Anonymous

So-so, 17 Nov 2019Fast battery drain by Google play services, up to 85% in so... moreI just buy this yesterday google playstore drain battery

  • Anonymous

buy mi8 chaeper price

  • peter

just a quick note to the camera review. The 2x mode does not use telephoto camera, but the main one being cropped from the 48mp image. This explains the big mistery why 12mpix images from 8mpix sensor. The telephoto camera is used only in the portrait mode. You do not need to search for the technical lists, just cover the lens with your finger and voila! Magic :) By the way, I tested telephoto vs 2x mode and 2x mode gives better results. This phone could miss the tele lens and invest to autofocus on the ultrawide.

  • So-so

Fast battery drain by Google play services, up to 85% in some cases. Clearing cache helps but has to be done frequently. I did and tried many ways to solve this but couldn't figure out what causes it.

  • Anonymous

I'm disappointed with the battery

  • Nordlane

Mare, 31 Aug 2019Get some battery monitor and try to locate what drains it. ... moreWhats apps u to use battery monitor?

  • Scottish selfie take

Agreed.great phone but battery let's it down