Xiaomi Mi A3 review

31 July 2019


Sort by:

  • miA3user

SoDeep, 31 May 2020I am charging mi a3 with 24watt anker charger it tooks full... moreDefault charger is only 5v-2a that mean 10w only . xiaomi not provide adapter fast charger inside box. must buy saperatly. Thanks

  • SoDeep

HYPR, 08 Apr 2020So GSMARENA have reviewed and tested the charging speed tel... moreI am charging mi a3 with 24watt anker charger it tooks full charging 1.5hrs gor ful charge...but default charger tooks more than 2hrs

  • SoDeep

HYPR, 08 Apr 2020So GSMARENA have reviewed and tested the charging speed tel... moreI am charging mi a3 with 24watt anker charger it tooks full charging 1.5hrs gor ful charge...but default charger tooks more than 2hrs

hey guys, how can i get those wallpaper like those in this mi a3 review

  • DJ

Not updated Android 10...

  • Joe

Anonymous, 09 Apr 2020No coming android 10 updateAndroid 10 already installed via Update, Global Rom V11.0.11.0.QFQMIXM

  • Anonymous

No coming android 10 update

HYPR, 08 Apr 2020So GSMARENA have reviewed and tested the charging speed tel... moreThanks for your reply
I not try to get different resault, I want to buy a mobile and reserch it on different resources.
battry charching time is important for me and 100 min is very good but I dont khnow does I must use spesial 18W charger or any other reason cause this time.

My mi a3 Android 10 update not received

Jithu, 21 Feb 2020Initially how long should I charge my unboxed Mi A3Debatable. Generally many will say just leave it plugged in for 8 hours. Others will say that damages the battery. I'd say it won't damage the battery. Just the once won't hurt it at all. I would let it run down to 0% (it'll come with some charge when new out of the box) then leave plugged in for 8 hours for a full charge. After that when you charge your phone, always charge when is 20% or MORE. Don't let the charge get lower as this is bad for these batteries. Try to remove from charger when 80 - 85%. And always charge like this. Charging to 100% is not required. Above 85% the charging will slow down and trickle charge the last amount. This is damaging the battery. Search Accubattery for Facts about what I am saying. Follow my instructions and your battery will stay healthy for longer.

Usama Tariq, 26 Mar 2020Yeah Slow Charge But Better Battery LifeNo. Totally retarded. Slow charging at 1amp will kill the battery. Less time spent charging is better and creates less wear and tear on the battery. Slow charging is for car batteries lmao, not modern tech. Do not follow this fools advice.

MAN.One, 24 Mar 2020hi to all any body know how much time need to charge phone... moreSo GSMARENA have reviewed and tested the charging speed telling you that an 18w charger will take 100 mins to fully charge this phone. Yet you Google to try get different results?! Different models of phones take different times! Why do you 1 come here and read GSMARENA if you don't trust the review and testing and 2 then comment? What of time for you and all us. Go away.

Usama Tariq, 26 Mar 2020Yeah Slow Charge But Better Battery LifeNo. Buy a QC 3.0 18w charger. Charging is not slow.

Mhsn, 19 Mar 2020All of things are ok specially battry life But in android... moreYeah Slow Charge But Better Battery Life

hi to all
any body know how much time need to charge phone from 0 to 100 with 10w charger and 18w charger
gsmarena say "A full charge would require about 100 mins" with 18w charger but i cant find any video in youtube to show me it

According to my search
in 10w: 140 to 150 minute
in 18w: 130 to 135 minute

any idea

  • Mhsn

All of things are ok specially battry life
But in android we have problem it hasnt any good play music and gallery
About battry life i suggestion to use 1amper charger long charge but more life i think

I have had this device for about three months now. My impressions are as follows:
1. Build quality - The phone feels sturdy enough though the back and front are glass, with GG5 and a plastic frame. I will not comment on what happens if the device falls since I haven't tried to drop mine. I bought a nice thick case from Xiaomi Nairobi.
2. Display - I have read comments about the 282 PPI and the HD issue. You won't notice this if you are interested in a device as your daily driver for a pocket friendly price. If you are from flagship devices trying to review this unit you will dwell on the HD story which is a non starter really. I use my A3 under direct sun and i see no issue. The super amoled display is awesome, with Android 10 I even got always on mode. This is just great to view and use.
3. Chipset, GPU, CPU- I will not say much for the specs, GSMARENA are the best so check them. My user experience is that the SD 665 is smooth and fast enough for me. I had the Nokia 6.1 plus which was using SD 636, for me this is an improvement in speed and processing really. Now some heavy apps will stutter and some other lags here and there, but my device is worth the price I paid.
4. Internal Memory - I got the 128 GB version and I have not even used 30% of it, and the price was less than $200. Really awesome here.
5. Connectivity - I have no complains here, WIFI, Bluetooth, Infrared, telephony are great. Just that cant change the notification for call termination from Spanish to English, so trying to learn some Spanish i guess.
6. Battery and charging - the 4030 Mah battery is great. I can do two days with light use and with extreme use a full day. Charging depends on if I use the 12 watt fast charger or the packaged 5w. Within an hour or so i can fill it up with fast charging. Sometimes the device gets too hot, hope this can be resolved. I still have the iphone 6plus and noticed it also gets hot. My nokia 6.1 plus also would get hot. No complains here.
7. Sound and headphone jack - I get the headphone jack and it is great to use. It is on the top of the phone. The sound quality is really good, I have some jbl in earphones so the quality is awesome.
8. Camera and video - This is great based on am coming from the N 6.1 plus. The 2x zoom is lossless, the wide angle camera is brilliant. I can take incredible shots with this tripl camera set up at the back. The 32 MP from selfie is great. The video is also very good with the 1080 stabilized electronically.
9. OS - I bought the device when it ran on Android 9. I waited for a while and the first week of March i got Android 10. The phone has improved considerably in speed, responsiveness, features such as dark mode etc. I think Xiaomi took too long though, I understand some people are still running Android Pie because 10 had issues. Mine is running alright.
10. Conclusion - if you are looking for a budget device, this is a good phone. If want more, i think look harder elsewhere in the higher price points.

  • Zavael

Its not true that the resolution is not sufficient. Its pretty clear and sharp enough to even read on it. Yes, fullHD would be better but not with such margin as it is described in this post and verdict. If anyone can get a try, you should take it in your own hands and see on your own that you will not notice any discomfort while using it. The best phone for the price and maybe superior to many pricier, too.

best phone i ever had!

  • Jithu

Initially how long should I charge my unboxed Mi A3