Samsung Galaxy S20 and S20+ hands-on review

11 Feb 2020


Sort by:

Hi
I remember seeing a full review a few days ago and wanted to go back to it.
What happened to the full review?

Anonymous, 11 Mar 2020hey GSMArena, when shall we expect a full review of the S20? So ... moreWe are currently working on it! Expect it very soon.

  • Anonymous

hey GSMArena, when shall we expect a full review of the S20? So far we only get to see details of the S20 Ultra. Thanks.

  • Hush

Is there a way to buy s10 5g in Canada, if i bought it online would it work on canadian networks.

  • deep

tim, 13 Feb 2020just get an headphone jack adapter if 3.5 audio jack is ur main ... morefyi, Getting a headphone jack would not guarantee same quality of audio and totally depends on the jack. Ppl who r concerned about good audio quality will prefer 3.5mm over jack.

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 19 Feb 2020If I remember it correctly the pro mode doesn't allow you to swi... moreThis is where third party apps take over and give you the flexibility that the stock app doesn't.

  • Kutocer

It's been confirmed that 120hz will apply to all resolutions.

Reliable bullshit, 20 Feb 2020Well nothing that can't be fixed with a software updateMy bad, you can shoot in 64MP in auto mode from aspect ratio menu.

Anonymous, 12 Feb 2020Try galaxy buds, Sennheiser or Sony buds, Welcome to year 2020. ... moreI have them but they sound crappy. USB C headsets? All the more crappy. If you truly love good music you will not settle for less just to follow the trend because its a ridiculous idea and practice.

  • Reliable bullshit

Nick Tagataka, 19 Feb 2020If I remember it correctly the pro mode doesn't allow you to swi... moreWell nothing that can't be fixed with a software update

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 18 Feb 2020Yes, it isn't a 64 megapixel tele camera, it's a 64 megapixel wi... moreA few things I want to add:
-of course a 64 megapixel tele camera would have much better super tele capabilities than a 64 megapixel wide angle camera. Therefore Samsung is misleading its customers. At 52mm (equivalent) the 64 megapixel wide angle camera should be more comparable with an 18 megapixel 52mm tele, not 64 megapixel 52mm tele.
-Allegedly the physical focal length is 5.87mm, this means that theoretically at 51.5mm it should capture nearly exactly the same amount of light as the Note 10 51.5mm camera (in perfect light conditions as well as low light conditions)
-actually no phone camera has a true 2.0x optical tele camera, for example the second camera of the 11 Pro has a focal length of 6.0mm whereas the main camera has 4.25mm, so regarding distant objects the optical magnification is only 1.41x, that's exactly the reason why Apple needs to choose a smaller sensor for the second camera. The consequence is that such tele cameras don't capture much more light from distant objects than digital zoom of the main camera.
-how effective a Quad Bayer sensor is (the S20 doesn't have one), depends on the algorithms of the manufacturer and whether the scene has a lot of fine detail, so in some cases it might be maybe more comparable with 1/3 of the resolution of a Bayer sensor and in some cases maybe 2/3 of the resolution, possibly even better in the future

Anonymous, 18 Feb 2020Furthermore it should be possible to capture 64 megapixel landsc... moreIf I remember it correctly the pro mode doesn't allow you to switch between lens, so only the main 12MP sensor can be used alongside manual settings.

Anonymous, 18 Feb 2020Yes, it isn't a 64 megapixel tele camera, it's a 64 megapixel wi... moreI tested out the device myself recently and confirmed that that's not the case, at least on the current pre-production software.
A few days ago I went to the store to compare the "telephoto" lens on S20+ to the one on my S10. It turns out that even though S20+ did manage to capture more details than my S10, it was also substantially noisier (possibly due to smaller pixel size and indoor lighting). At 3x zoom, S10 performed better with less noise while maintaining the same amount of detail as S20+. As far as I could tell S20 and S20+ switch to the high resolution sensor at 2x crop factor, so they don't hold any advantage over S10 in terms of image quality between 1-1.9x, which is also rather disappointing given that the 64MP camera has a similar field of view to the main camera.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 18 Feb 2020Yes, it isn't a 64 megapixel tele camera, it's a 64 megapixel wi... moreFurthermore it should be possible to capture 64 megapixel landscape photos. Though I don't know whether the app offers that.
Using digital zoom with Samsung's 64 megapixel wide angle camera is basically nothing else than using a full frame lens on Aps-c or micro four thirds cameras.

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 12 Feb 2020I just read the spec sheet carefully and realised that S20 and S... moreYes, it isn't a 64 megapixel tele camera, it's a 64 megapixel wide angle camera. But that isn't necessarily a disadvantage.
The Galaxy S20 64 megapixel sensor is a traditional Bayer sensor. Traditional Bayer sensors capture much more detail than Quad Bayer sensors because Quad Bayer sensors need to "remosaic" (don't confuse this with demosaicing). A Quad Bayer sensor is more comparable with a Bayer sensor with approximately 1/3 of the resolution. So a crop can capture as many details as Bayer sensor tele cameras.
If the lens and the stabilization perform very well, then there is no disadvantage over other smartphone tele cameras. Actually it's even better because you get a continuous zoom.
Does it capture less light per time from distant objects than other smartphone tele cameras? No. It captures as much light from distant objects as the Galaxy Note 10 52mm camera. It also has approximately 19 effective megapixels instead of 12.2 at 51.5mm, so in good light conditions there should be even more details than the Galaxy Note 10 52mm camera, if the lens is sharp. Only in low light conditions, due to read noise, the result could be slightly worse due to 19 megapixels instead of 12.2 at 51.5mm.

  • bigly

Lonte bajingan, 15 Feb 2020How this cheap looking phone 1200$ big Lhow does it look cheap its all glass and looks stainless. foh

  • Lonte bajingan

How this cheap looking phone 1200$ big L

Mike, 14 Feb 2020I just ordered one from Amazon. It plugs in to the C plug at the... moreWhat is the product name? I'll be needing one or two of those for my S20+...

The S20 doesnt have sub6 5G, so it will perform about 20% faster than 4G tech products.

Pawellach, 11 Feb 2020Any rumors for s20e? That regural s20 is so big can we expect an... morelet's hope that iphone se 2 will be cheaper than s20 so samsung must counter using s20e