Motorola Edge+ review

20 May 2020


Sort by:

It's nice to see Motorola is back to compete with top-devices...but,sadly,only price-wise..display, camera,what matters the most these days,are level below Samsung,Huawei,Xiaomi,Oppo, OnePlus,Sony...

JDK, 25 May 2020what about vivo nex 3 with 88 degree curve? Or xiaomi mi mix alp... moreIf you noticed, the phones you mentioned are “old” phones. 2020 and forward, the trend is shifting away from these extreme curved edges. Samsung, the originator of the trend back in 2014, is already moving away from it. The Chinese, being copycats, will simply follow. Motorola just woke up late.

  • Kami butt

Required zoom like p40 pro or sam s20+

JDK, 25 May 2020Yeah, smartphone manufacturers should be serving us, but remembe... more"their purpose is to make money and popularity first" - of course it is. But, why should I (or anybody else) care about it?

  • Anonymous

JDK, 25 May 2020Yeah, smartphone manufacturers should be serving us, but remembe... morethank you! you worded what I wanted to say perfectly

Nicolas F, 23 May 2020It's not only my opinion, people support me on it. It's not "ju... moreYeah, smartphone manufacturers should be serving us, but remember, their purpose is to make money and popularity first, then serving customers second. Although only companies who respect customers(like amazon) are succesful, some can get away with not entirely being consumer-first.

And sorry, that's purely A opinion.

I also agree with you that smartphones are becoming more and more like samsung galaxy s10s rather than their own design. You know how oppo stupidly ditched their pop-up cam(which was what made it unique) and stuck a punch hole on their premium find X series? Same thing with oneplus 8 pro.

All I'm saying is that there are definetly people who like curved screens, and people who prefer punch hole cameras. But there are plenty of people who think the same way as you do. Just like curved screen lovers can't convince us that curved screens are amazing, we can't bash them and call them stupid cause of their different opinion.

potato4k, 25 May 2020Curved screen is on its way out. Even Samsung started to move aw... morewhat about vivo nex 3 with 88 degree curve? Or xiaomi mi mix alpha that literally curves all the way around the edges?

I feel like it's just a case of some companies moving away from it, some companies overdoing it.

  • Anonymous

Nicolas F, 25 May 2020For me, hole-punch is harder to ignore, and with notch I do not ... morethen You are just projecting your opinions on tech reviewers, it is their job to decide what is right and what is wrong. There is no objective metric to speak per se. So who are you to say that reviewers reflect your opinions on manufacturers. Some may like hole punch, some may like curved display, so why should reviewers scold manufacturers because manufacturers don't agree with your opinion on what a smartphone should be? and at least 300 my foot... even a 20/20 can't discern that let alone someone using iphones with 326 since 2009

  • Anonymous

Nicolas F, 23 May 2020Their reviews are their contribution to the tech world. Reviewe... moreWhat contribution?

Used to love moto. Now I am samsung. Recently Oppo (find x2 pro more specific) boy.

JDK, 24 May 2020yo, if you don't want hole punch, notch, nor curved screen, then... moreCurved screen is on its way out. Even Samsung started to move away from it. Moto is just behind with the trend (probably because they already designed this phone for a while).

7, 25 May 2020Notch is wayyy worse than holes. You can ignore a hole on side, ... moreFor me, hole-punch is harder to ignore, and with notch I do not have problem.
Commercials are for people that do not know tech.
I do not care about bezels; again, it is a smartphone, not a monitor!
It is about having at least 300, not having close to 300.

[deleted post]You did not read my comments properly. No notch is better, but notch was never critical for me; hole-punch and curved screen are critical.

  • 7

Nicolas F, 24 May 2020iPhone's screen is designed specifically to have ~450 ppi which ... moreNotch is wayyy worse than holes. You can ignore a hole on side, you can't ignore that ginormous blotch on screen. Even apple hates that, since they go out of the way to hide it in their commercials. Plus plenty of Android phones have smaller chins than apple. But Apple is only one with those huge side bezels. And if 458 translates to 300, I'm pretty sure 400 ( most of the 6.7 inch 1080p plus phones have this resolution) would be 265. Good luck discerning those 30 extra pixels

JDK, 24 May 2020yo, if you don't want hole punch, notch, nor curved screen, then... moreThat is exactly what I was talking about! Tech reviewers and customers missed (and still missing) their opportunity to vote against this unpractical nonsense and now it takes over smartphones' market.

I hope at least Apple won't succumb to this trend. But I don't think they will; in fact, they used curved OLED displays since 2017's iPhone X - but it was curved only inside at the bottom, to fit display's controller in bottom bezel and make all bezels symmetrical. That's, btw, why bottom bezel in Android smartphones is usually the biggest - they can't afford to repeat this technique, or something like that.

Nicolas F, 24 May 2020No, hole-punch looks worse than any notch (of course, no notch i... moreyo, if you don't want hole punch, notch, nor curved screen, then good luck replacing your old phone.

Eventually most companies will switch to curved screens on their entire lineup and then you have no more choices.

Thanks for the review.
But guys, I think it's high time to start testing cameras also for depth of field. Both photos and movies. The tech in the phones is so advanced now that you start to notice a nice blurred background. Static footage of the moving cars shot from the balcony will never show it. And I don't mean portret mode which gives you some software blur but depth of field which comes from the camera. Please consider adding new test.

Anonymous, 24 May 2020No 1440 p in iPhones either... Last I checked 50 PPI don't make... moreiPhone's screen is designed specifically to have ~450 ppi which is PenTile's equivalent to 300 ppi of LCD screen which was defined as minimum pixel density for a smartphone to produce sharp enough image (when it's used at a distance of 50 cm from the eyes, if I remember correctly). Android manufacturers don't care to design their screens that way, so we can only ask for 1440p (of course, more is unnecessary).

"There is no phone that satisfies all conditions no matter how you put it." - then why iPhone 11 Pro Max satisfies my conditions? Of course, I could ask for more (AF in ultrawide camera, USB 3.1, no notch, more RAM and 128 Gb in base model (could be in 12 Pro Max)), but it's the only smartphone that doesn't have critical disadvantages for me: curved screen, hole-punch, too low or too high pixel density, useless macro/depth cameras instead of useful telephoto/ultrawide, lack of OIS - any other smartphone has at least one of these disadvantages; is it that hard to have none of them or what?

  • Anonymous

Nicolas F, 24 May 2020No, hole-punch looks worse than any notch (of course, no notch i... moreNo 1440 p in iPhones either... Last I checked 50 PPI don't make squat of a difference. Plus Poco f2 pro is coming out regardless. There is no phone that satisfies all conditions no matter how you put it. I want a headphone jack so that I can plug in my Sony's which cost more than many phones anyways. Android gives me choice, iOS doesn't

Anonymous, 24 May 2020OLED displays?Well that's available on pretty much every modern day flagship