ASUS ROG Kunai 3 Gamepad & TwinView Dock 3 review

8 November 2020


Sort by:

  • Bejo

Twinview dock is useless, not even can use it as keyboard for typing, so forget the "Nitendo DS" or LG velvet features...don't buy it

  • Anonymous

JDS76, 09 Nov 2020Does a USB-C wireless headset dongle work on the TwinView d... moreIt definitely works but there is a bug that makes it interfere with game genie (specifically key mapping) the option goes away. Hoping for a firmware update

  • Asus fan

Can the Kunai 3 game pad case protect your phone

I just got my Kunai 3. As it turns out, the D-pad is 4-way only. You cannot go diagonal by pressing something like up and right at the same time. This makes fighting games basically require you to get good at using the analog stick.

This is a huge oversight. I'm amazed no reviews have caught it. I would not have bought into this setup had I known.

  • Naner

Hi just want to ask if someone already try to use Kunai 3 for Mobile legends or Wild rift game, does it work properly and maybe share how to do it, im not that really good in tech, mapping or something. TIA.

BiyoBiyo JunJun, 12 Nov 2020but...but ... but ... iphone have small battery ...and didn... moreπŸ˜‚πŸ˜…πŸ˜

3VA, 09 Nov 2020Whatever.. Iphones got better graphics games.. Compare life... morebut...but ... but ... iphone have small battery ...and didnt support 4k ... and ,... and... didnt have expend storage ... and... and... screen not support 120hz.... and... its iphone ...

  • Anonymous

Chavis, 09 Nov 2020Yes, the ROG Phones offer built-in mapping of onscreen cont... moreThank you for the answer, especially the proprietary part.

  • Auri

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2020Is there a dedicated thing in the phone that convert the jo... moreYes, keymapping in armory create

  • 3VA

Whatever.. Iphones got better graphics games.. Compare life is strange android vs ios.

  • JDS76

Does a USB-C wireless headset dongle work on the TwinView dock? They are confirmed working on the phone itself, but I have not seen if the TwinView USB-C port is just charging capable.

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2020Is there a dedicated thing in the phone that convert the jo... moreAsus has one of the best, low-level control mapping implementation out there. Even with the ROG Phone 3 alone, without any additional accessory, you can map the excellent triggers on its side to quite a few on-screen controls. These even support swipes and variable pressure and can be partitioned into 4 buttons. It is industry-leading stuff and is generally done at such a low system level that it just works and is pretty undetectable by games. With the Kunai 3 Gamepad, you can take full advantage of said mapping.

You can read more about how the mapping itself works in our full ROG Phone 3 review. https://www.gsmarena.com/asus_rog_phone_3-review-2137.php

  • AbdKarim

Dragan, 09 Nov 2020Can anybody tell me the name of the game that he's pla... moreGrimvalor ... Available in Google Play Store

Anonymous, 09 Nov 2020Is there a dedicated thing in the phone that convert the jo... moreYes, the ROG Phones offer built-in mapping of onscreen controls to the physical buttons - as long as you use the Kunai gamepad. The feature doesn't work with any other third-party controllers.

  • Anonymous

Is there a dedicated thing in the phone that convert the joypad to "fake" touch movement so games are compatible with controller? A lot of game don't support gamepad, and need a third party like Octopus, but even like that, it is not always possible with app crashing etc. I wonder how it works with this phone and gamepads...

  • Rog phone user

potato101, 08 Nov 2020Why no headphone jack though 😢😢On every accessory there is a headphone jack present πŸ˜‰

  • Dragan

Can anybody tell me the name of the game that he's playing on 03:33?

Thanks in advance

  • Anonymous

Kunai 3 gamepad is not in stock yet!

These accessories are just for name sake. They are very hard to get. No seller is selling officially. Asus needs to get their sh#t right.

SShreyas, 09 Nov 2020It looks very similar to Switch. Including color scheme.That's because... it really is a Nintendo Switch for real. I can only assume that GSMArena put the Nintendo Switch and Nintendo DS (or 3DS?) on the left and right side respectively to show how the ASUS looks like with the accessories strapped on.