Xiaomi Mi 11 review

17 February 2021


Sort by:

  • Vladan

Compared to Huawei,they are all laughable.
Only thing saving them from being eaten alive by Huawei phones are US fake stories and monopolistic bans.
Cant wait for Harmony OS to come to Europe­čśÄ

  • Anonymous

React 2 Gadgets YT, 01 Mar 2021What makes it an great UI you ask me? Plenty of reasons, li... moreIf there was a like button on here, I would have pressed it.

Anonymous, 01 Mar 2021I would think that those first 2 issues are what makes it n... moreIt is just isn't 90% perfect like the OxygenOS. Oxygen OS 10% is because of the lack of any animations and transitions (which is sometimes what people wanted and they don't care). And also the Nord N10 and N100 destroys the OxygenOS, it doesn't feel smooth (given the low end Snapdragons), only 1 year of updates which is dissapointing considering it launches at the year of Android 11 and it ships with Android 10 in the box which means you will be stuck with Android 10

Anonymous, 01 Mar 2021I would think that those first 2 issues are what makes it n... moreWhat makes it an great UI you ask me? Plenty of reasons, like :

1. Animations and transitions in every tap, swipe, scroll gesture you make. It is very good in 90/120hz displays. You simply just notice it the difference between 90 and 60hz. Whereas stock android and oxygenos doesn't have those animations, so high refresh rates doesn't look as good as MIUI.

2. Plenty of customization, you can change icons, super wallpapers, themes, lock, charging/fingerprint animation

3. Just like the first point, every actiom you do will have an haptic feedback, yes even cheap phones from Xiaomi do. So even if the feedback isn't as good, it is still better than not getting an feedback. In Xiaomi Flagships, the feedback for every action you do even outclasses Apple's Taptic engine and Ios.

4. Promised Updates for at least 3 generations of MIUI (not android) no matter what phones you choose, cheap or super cheap. I mean, even Redmi Note 7 , which ships with Android 9, gets Android 11 and 3 versions of MIUI, sure you will not get Android 12, but you will later get MIUI 12.5 which is better than Oneplus giving only 1 years of updates. Even though the update is a bit slow, but still better than not getting updates. Even Realme, Oneplus, Oppo, Vivo, Huawei, Samsung entry level phones only gets one year updates.

4. Plenty of featues, like scollshot, screen recorder, DC dimming, vibration customization, clear speaker, and even fun ones, like an app exploding in your home screen when you delete it.

5. Extreme levels of details just like Point 1 and 3. There's just so much attention to details. But at cheaper phones, this skin may be a bit too heavy for them. While on high end xiaomi phones, the UI is so awesome and also without ads (which i don't mind). The scanner app i also found it to be able to be deactivated, but i just let it on so it can continue to scan my apps from unknown sources or play store.

I am not an Xiaomi fanboy, i just like what i think are the best parts. And the positives of MIUI overshadows the negatives of it. Not like Huawei's EMUI and Vivo's Funtouch OS

  • Anonymous

React 2 Gadgets YT, 28 Feb 2021MUUI is in my opinion, the second best operating system beh... moreI would think that those first 2 issues are what makes it not a 'Great UI'.
If it's not even good how can it be great?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 28 Feb 2021Specs and real-world performance are not the same. Despite ... moreThird class quality iOS can't even get their White balance right.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 28 Feb 2021Specs and real-world performance are not the same. Despite ... moreAre you calling Gsmarena a Chinese-financed $Hill site?

  • Blabla

Anonymous, 28 Feb 2021Specs and real-world performance are not the same. Despite ... moreWho are you Anonymous?

  • Anonymous

Android-Authority, 28 Feb 2021Did you read the camera section in the Gsmarena review of t... moreSpecs and real-world performance are not the same. Despite what Chinese-financed sites shill, Apple and Google do a much better and more balanced computational photography, with generally better end results. You may get excited by pumped up crazy colors and overprocessing, but many of us don't.

The processing on the Mi 11 looks to be better than previous Xiaomi phones, however, so that's a good thing.

android user, 27 Feb 2021One big problem of mi 11 is the old 2019 gen main cam senso... moreDid you read the camera section in the Gsmarena review of the Mi 11?
I highly recommend reading it before you come to conclusions about the HMX sensor.
This isn't a small outdated sensor like you find on Pixel or iPhone.
A large 1/1.33" sensor should be good enough for the next 5 years. With gcam, it becomes even better at night.

android user, 27 Feb 2021One big problem of mi 11 is the old 2019 gen main cam senso... moreBut at least better than IMX 363 on the latest Iphone Non Max and Pixels device as well as Samsung non ultra 12 MP sensor

Android-Authority, 28 Feb 2021I don't understand why these big companies can't ... moreMUUI is in my opinion, the second best operating system behind OxygenOS. It could be the first, but it has very huge issues :

1. Camera issues when the photo is processing, then you go out of the camera app, the photo wouldn't process at all. Instead, you will be left with an 720p image that is blurry. Don't know if it is an bug or what

2. App scanner is so annoying. Ever experienced that when you download an app, then you leave the play store to do some thing else, then suddenly the scanner app appears and disturbs your activity. It is **** annoying. Especially if you download 10+ apps at the same time.

3. Ads in cheaper phones ( i don't care, the first 2 issues are huge drawbacks to the great MIUI)

React 2 Gadgets YT, 28 Feb 2021Yeah. When jerryrig teardown the Iphone 12 Pro Max, there i... moreI don't understand why these big companies can't put adequate cooling. I can understand Samsung not caring about thermals on budget phones, but what's the excuse for flagships?
Looks like they did not learn from last year's Exynos blunder. The gpu was the Culprit. Same is the case this year.
Meanwhile, Companies likes Xiaomi actually listening to consumers. Their image processing has vastly improved, miui 12.5 has the least system bloat and is way more resource efficient compared to previous versions.

Android-Authority, 20 Feb 2021The game isn't poorly optimized. ROG 3, Mi 10 ultra, H... moreYeah. When jerryrig teardown the Iphone 12 Pro Max, there isn't any form of liquid cooling or vapor chamber. Samsung has it, but it is small. While chinese phones typically Xiaomi and Huawei, as well as gaming phones all have large surface area of vapor chamber

React 2 Gadgets YT, 24 Feb 2021Omg, Midrange SOC? It is between the Snapdragon 855+ and 86... morePixel 5 with Snapdragon 765 is indeed mid range.
It's performance is lower than Snapdragon 855.

  • android user

One big problem of mi 11 is the old 2019 gen main cam sensor hmx, 108mp 4in1 binning which is even inferior when compared to last year Mi 10 ultra 48MP OV. With this hmx sensor no way mi 11 can compete with flagship camera of 2021, its price will soon be discounted heavily.

  • Anonymous

It looks like Xiami has toned down the terrible overprocessing it does on the 10 series.

I hope that the software changes get pushed down to the 10, which uses almost the same hardware.

Obviously the mi 11 only for moderate users, not for gamers. I hope xiaomi will send an update software to overcome overheat issue caused by sd 888 performance.

  • MrDong

Anonymous, 25 Feb 2021Gary gimmick has been exposed. His test doesn't matter... moreYour statement is a hoax.

  • Anonymous

MrDong, 25 Feb 2021Lol I did not even reference Geekbench in the first place. ... moreGary gimmick has been exposed. His test doesn't matter. In real world it can't handle temperature beyond 5 min and consequently throttles badly reducing performance to level of Snapdragon 855 devices.