Sony Xperia 1 III review

05 July 2021


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Eima, 19 Aug 2021It gets pretty hot after playing games but it doesnt overhe... moreJust wondering about the bloatware FB, Netflix, Tidal and Amazon app, can you remove them or only disable?

  • raffe

Nick, 15 Aug 2021Any one got their Xperia 1 III yet and can report on the he... moremine overheat when i record video

  • ClausG76

Anonymous, 04 Aug 2021this phone doesn't have MIUI which that alone pretty m... moreI own the Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra. I was a little sceptical about the miui software at first. But it works very well for me. I have used a Nokia 9 Pureview with clean Android (Android One project) for a couple of years and before that, Samsung and Huawei.
But it could be because I'm using the .EU rom om a Chinese version, since the global version was hard to come bye.

  • Eima

Nick, 15 Aug 2021Any one got their Xperia 1 III yet and can report on the he... moreIt gets pretty hot after playing games but it doesnt overheat for me. Battery life sucks on this phone especially when considering the price. But overall im happy with this phone

  • Rich

"Daylight photos from the Xperia 1 III's main camera are really good overall... Noise is virtually non-existent in these images."
Which images are they looking at? The ones attached to the review are very noticeably fuzzy and blurry in lots of areas. Samsung phones have been producing much cleaner images for years.

  • Nick

Any one got their Xperia 1 III yet and can report on the heat and battery issues?

Anonymous, 12 Aug 2021GSM Arena my friend has this phone now in Norway and his zo... moreOr pre-update. That's why the pictures on the Xperia 5 Mark iii look even better. Updates fixed most issues with the photos.

  • Nick

What is the web browsing battery life like with 60FPS mode instead of 120FPS mode? I'd be interested to see what hit 120fps does to the battery life

  • Extro

Worst SD888 smartphone..

  • Anonymous

GSM Arena my friend has this phone now in Norway and his zoom images at 4.4x are sharp so yours must have been a bad unit

  • Anonymous

AW, 11 Aug 2021Why has this site repeatedly stated that this phone exists ... more512GB does exist, for the Asia market. You can get those and use them in the US but they may not work with 5G as is iirc, which should be as easy as flashing the phone with US firmware but who knows

However for the US market we only have 256GB, which sucks. Native storage is always easier to deal with than an SD card

  • AW

Why has this site repeatedly stated that this phone exists in 512 GB? I was beyond disappointed when I saw that this wasn't true at all.

Daany, 23 Jul 2021Wow... Like I care about you or your life or your opinions.... moreGet apple because it is best seller. But is it best.

  • Nick

Anonymous, 06 Aug 2021Had the phone for about five days now. Biggest problem with... morePlease update us on this! Was still looking to buy this at some point but overheating and poor battery life are potential deal breakers

You didn't do anything but some personal communication, and 1-2 minutes of youtube, no games, and the battery only lasted 12h? When was it overheating if you didn't play games etc.?

Anonymous, 06 Aug 2021Had the phone for about five days now. Biggest problem with... moreIs this with the latest kernel update?

  • Anonymous

Had the phone for about five days now. Biggest problem with the phone is overheating. Don't know whether it is due to the overheating or not, but the battery also drains exceptionally fast. I had it turned on 7:30 in the morning and battery basically gone by 7:30 at night with no games and may be just one or two short (few minutes) videos on YouTube yo go along with basic personal communication. Another problem is the lack of a built-in proprietary photo app. Personally not a fan of Google Photos and had to painstakingly search for a gallery app on Play store. Given how much Sony likes to brag about its phone's photo-taking capability, find it ludicrous that it doesn't even have it's own gallery app to go along with it !

  • Anonymous

haha bobo, 04 Aug 2021This phone is extremely underwhelming. It has poor battery ... morethis phone doesn't have MIUI which that alone pretty much worth the price

i'm really disappointed at sony.

i wish they actually made this phone better since it actually had so much potential. but the price is also holding back too. it's extremely expensive and i think it's only for loyal sony fans who's willing to spend their money on such phones.

however, i'm still not looking forward to this phone. as i know xiaomi still pulls out the best flagships yet.

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021"We certainly can't recommend it to anyone who is... moreIndeed, as this phone really is just overpriced, with underwhelming performance and on the camera output, I thought it would be a beast but it wasn't.
Turns out that the Mi 11 Ultra is still a much better option, or even the Samsung S21 Ultra even with the Exynos 2100 chip.

It has a much slower charging than the Mi 11 Ultra, hell, let alone the Realme 8 Pro which is $800 less than this. Then the fanboys would say it's for much longer battery lifespan, but faster charging doesn't degrade the battery, not even a single bit.

The cameras were very disappointing at this price, and it's ridiculous. This is as disappointing as the iPhone 12 Pro Max which is still stuck in the 12MP resolution whereas the Mi 10 Pro from last year had high resolution outputting sensors. (The main camera of the Mi 10 Pro had 108MP with a Tetrapixel color filter which outputs 27MP, which offers 60% more detail when you zoom in, aswell as the ultrawide camera, which is a 20MP RGB Bayer filter and it offers more detail than any ultrawide out there. Now imagine this with GCam, it should just go ham.)

Seems like Sony really is just doing it for their fans, but if they wanna have some of that money, then make it the best for all the people that's looking for the ultimate smartphone.

Very ridiculous actually, it's a very overpriced phone just like the iPhone 12 Pro Max and OnePlus 9 Pro. And even the Oppo Find X3 Pro, which is cheap and China, but is literally $1300 on other countries. They chose to downgrade the telephoto and have a mediocre, and a gimmick microscope camera.

Smartphone manufacturers nowadays are downgrading everything and putting their prices up.
Pretty funny.

This phone is extremely underwhelming. It has poor battery life, because of how high the resolution is. And how much of the 888 is a powerhog. I don't see the reason why anyone should buy this over the Mi 11 Ultra. Yes, this phone has sub-4K display, and 120Hz aswell, and a headphone jack, notchless, tall aspect ratio, but are those really needed? The headphone jack today is still needed, and it is very dumb how smartphone manufacturers are removing the headphone jack on their flagships and even flagship killers.

I have no idea why was this priced at $1300. It's overpriced, and no one is complaining about it. You can get a Mi 11 Ultra at around $900. This phone should be at least $700 or $800, then I can safely assure it is a bargain then. But no, there are better flagship killers which are $200 or $300 less.

Ridiculous innit?