Poco M4 Pro review

1 April 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • U{w
  • 30 Jan 2023

Threize, 08 Jan 2023Why would you play 4k on 1080 screen?Because 4k captures more details and even if you play that in 1080p, it still produces better results than a 1080p shot video. Try the same thing in a 720p screen but playing a 1080p video.
Let me give you a best case scenario. Take 1080p screen and watch a video where there would a desktop screen recording and see the text. Now do sange thing by changing the video quality to 2160p and then see the text. You will find hell lot of difference.

    • T
    • Threize
    • KiC
    • 08 Jan 2023

    Anonymous, 15 Nov 2022No it doesn't support HDR. In YouTube and in display t... moreWhy would you play 4k on 1080 screen?

      • U
      • Usman
      • r3a
      • 21 Dec 2022

      Dan, 14 Oct 2022Hello everyone, has anyone noticed that the light sensor of... moreWhich Chinese phone has a very good light sensor please?

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • r3a
        • 21 Dec 2022

        Dan, 14 Oct 2022Hello everyone, has anyone noticed that the light sensor of... moreThanks for sharing

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • rA}
          • 15 Nov 2022

          Nico Robin, 06 Nov 2022Does HDR screen support?No it doesn't support HDR. In YouTube and in display test app it's showing as not supporting HDR and not supporting DCI-P3 wide colour gamut. Even 4k can't stream on YouTube only 2k 1440p resolution is max supported by this device because of it's processor Mediatek Helio G96. You can play 4k 30fps on MX Player only by SW decoder. HW and HW+ decoder doesn't support 4k on this device due to the limitations of the processor.

            • N
            • Nico Robin
            • txE
            • 06 Nov 2022

            Does HDR screen support?

              • D
              • Dan
              • P4x
              • 14 Oct 2022

              Hello everyone, has anyone noticed that the light sensor of the Poco M4 Pro 4G seems to have poor sensitivity in very low light environments (compared to other models)?

              In low-light environments, it dims the screen a lot (automatic adaptive brightness). Using the "Sensor Test" app or entering the MIUI Test Tols ( * # * # MIUI # * # *) -> light sensor, I compared the light sensor sensitivity of this model with two other models: Redmi Note 6 PRO and Poco X4 PRO 5G. I noticed that the sensor of the Poco M4 Pro 4G seems to be less sensitive in low light environments. For example, in the room with only the brightness of the TV, the Redmi Note 6 PRO detected 5lx and the Poco X4 PRO 5G about 10lx. The Poco M4 Pro 4G, zero lx.

              In environments with a more light and outdoors, it works perfectly. Only when it is a place with very low light is it less sensitive. And that makes the screen darker more. I don't believe it's a hardware defect, because the sensor works normally and detects brightness variation. In environments with normal or external light, its sensor reading is close to that of other models.

              Did you notice that too?

                • D
                • D.
                • P4x
                • 14 Oct 2022

                Hello everyone, has anyone noticed that the light sensor of the Poco M4 Pro 4G seems to have poor sensitivity in very low light environments (compared to other models)? In low-light environments, it dims the screen a lot (automatic adaptive brightness).

                Using the "Sensor Test" app or entering the MIUI Test Tols ( * # * # MIUI # * # *) -> light sensor, I compared the light sensor sensitivity of this model with two other models: Redmi Note 6 PRO and Poco X4 PRO 5G. I noticed that the sensor of the Poco M4 Pro 4G seems to be less sensitive in low light environments. For example, in the room with only the brightness of the TV, the Redmi Note 6 PRO detected 5lx and the Poco X4 PRO 5G about 10lx. The Poco M4 Pro 4G, zero lx. In environments with a more light and outdoors, it works perfectly. Only when it is a place with very low light is it less sensitive. And that makes the screen darker more. I don't believe it's a hardware defect, because the sensor works normally and detects brightness variation. In environments with normal or external light, its sensor reading is close to that of other models. Did you notice that too?

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • tZ4
                  • 07 Aug 2022

                  Mary, 03 Jul 2022I just got this phone yesterday,but the battery is not what... moreNew phone will need up to 1 week for the Adaptive Battery to learn your usage patterns. Even my Samsung A52's battery draining like crazy when I first got it and it is giving me good battery life after the first few weeks.

                    • Z
                    • Zagzig
                    • iIa
                    • 16 Jul 2022

                    Oops! My apologies! You do include information about the compass! Thank you! I'm annoyed with other review sites which don't have this information, You do! You do! Will always look to you for reviews!

                      • Z
                      • Zagzig
                      • iIa
                      • 16 Jul 2022

                      Does it have a compass? Nobody ever mentions it in any reviews, but Google Sky and many other orientation-dependent apps don't work without a compass. Consider including this information for someone like me who would like to know where the moon is going to rise, for example, and, yes, it matters to me when making time lapse films.

                        • D
                        • De holy
                        • r3b
                        • 14 Jul 2022

                        I have a problem with Poco m4 pro call recording function, can't I record conversation without alert the other person, voice alert like, ur call is been recorded and recording has stop.
                        Can I off this voice alert, if yes, how
                        Thanks

                          • M
                          • Masterianho
                          • a3w
                          • 09 Jul 2022

                          Skreepy, 07 Jul 2022Is the battery really bad ? Because I'm a gaming YouT... moreHello
                          I have this phone
                          an hour play pubg on low graphics and ultra frame rate
                          takes 17 perecent of battery.
                          it's not too bad but could be a little better.
                          and its temperature goes to 42-43 digress.

                          I think this will not be a great choose for playing game but you can watch YouTube very good with a great display.

                            • S
                            • Skreepy
                            • X5u
                            • 07 Jul 2022

                            Is the battery really bad ?
                            Because I'm a gaming YouTuber and I wanna get this device for a better gaming
                            How long can the device last when gaming?

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • X5u
                              • 04 Jul 2022

                              To me charging a phone twice a day ain't bad neither do I care about the cameras I just want a phone with a decent processor that's all🤷

                                • M
                                • Mary
                                • r39
                                • 03 Jul 2022

                                I just got this phone yesterday,but the battery is not what was said. The battery is running fast. I'm not sure is up too 5000ah or what they call it. I just regret buying it with the my account so big

                                  Dz1, 26 Apr 2022I got a sony a5100 camera. So what do I care about a trashy... moreThe best camera you have,is the one that you have at hand..
                                  You might have the best camera money can buy,but do you always lug it about like a Smartphone?
                                  When the perfect scene presents itself,do tell it to wait,while you rush home to grab your expensive Sony gear?

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • 0mD
                                    • 24 Jun 2022

                                    Thanks for the review, very informative and detailed.

                                      • M
                                      • Muhammed
                                      • nCe
                                      • 10 Jun 2022

                                      I have buyed this phone two months back now the display is getting stuck and not working, after restart only it gets normal again

                                        • M
                                        • Mr. JJ
                                        • tZ0
                                        • 06 Jun 2022

                                        Bought mine exactly 2 months ago for around USD200 with free gifts worth around USD25, 6/128 version.
                                        Pretty neat I must say.

                                        1. Oled display. Can't go wrong with Oled.
                                        2. Capable processor. Definitely not on par with those flagship processor but not bad either. Everything runs smooth most of the time.
                                        3. 5000Mah battery is ok. Definitely can last the whole day on normal usage; FB,TT,YT,IG and browsing with around 1 hour game time. Usually I charge before sleeping with around 15-20% left at 11 p.m. Mind you, I start my day around 5:30a.m almost everyday. On times when I go game intensively for 3-4 hours mostly on CODM, definitely need to recharge before 5 p.m.
                                        4. Headphone jack, IR blaster, 2 sims plus MicroSD. It's there if you need it.
                                        5. Cameras - used mostly for work so I don't care much of it.