Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra, S24+ and S24 hands-on review

17 January 2024


Sort by:

I like the flat front, as it is so much better when in use to view video and compose photographs as well as play games, and never have understood the curved screen/ narrow edge option at all. But hey Samsung, you are STILL only providing a 12MP ultrawide to go with the 200MP main cam? Not good enough as tthe ultrawides always need far more pixels than a standard wide lens simply because they should resolve and contain many times more detail than a normal lens is capable of at the same subject distance. I mean what is the point exactly of selling an ultrawide whose detail resolution is not as great as the main cam. You cannot pretend matching 12MP with 12MP is even reklevant here, and can you uktrawide even manage to do an ultrawide sweep panorama AT ALL?

    • B
    • BToastieX
    • Eie
    • 08 Feb 2024

    Anonymous, 07 Feb 2024Attention Smart Philippines! The mobile data of my SIM2 was... moreWrong place to complain bud. I suggest you call someone there and ask for help. This is GSM Arena. They are not going to help you with that.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • C9a
      • 07 Feb 2024

      Attention Smart Philippines! The mobile data of my SIM2 was deactivated a few days ago. It should be completey openline (SIM2). Otherwise, having a dual sim phone is useless. Please reactivate the openline mobile data capability of SIM2 of my S24 Ultra. Please be fair to your subscribers. Do not be greedy. Resolve this immediately.

        • A
        • Azza2
        • g8e
        • 06 Feb 2024

        Anonymous, 25 Jan 2024"My guesses are the reduced lens size with a larger se... moreInformative stuff. I don't know all the physics about hyperfocal distance and such like. However I do know worrying about these things on such a small scale is pointless.

        Your point about the lenses makes sense as they after all capture the images initially.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • G{E
          • 06 Feb 2024

          Anonymous, 18 Jan 2024Bruh calm down. It's just a phone. Don't make it ... morerare to see a sane person in the comments for once

            s24u: 111mm lens for the telephoto module
            s23u: 230mm lens for the telephoto module
            s22u: 230mm lens for the telephoto module

            It's basically a downgrade.

              • A
              • Adam
              • mYN
              • 04 Feb 2024

              finch, 26 Jan 2024Do you really think people that guess things in optics unde... moreI understood, thanks for the detailed explanation. Great to see that tech people gather here and we are not blinded by the light of the marketing signs :)

                I wonder how durable it is. I have a case on but because of no display curvature, I don't like the phone with a case on it and it's much less comfortable to use in an official case than ever before.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • CGH
                  • 29 Jan 2024

                  When are u dropping the review of the S24 series

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • CGH
                    • 29 Jan 2024

                    I can't wait to see the review

                      • I
                      • Inedian
                      • L2r
                      • 29 Jan 2024

                      SteveUk, 29 Jan 2024Too big? If you have small hands, maybe. Personally, I'... moreExactly... i need a premium 7.2" flagship like Huawei Mate 20X was (still my favorite phone to date).

                        DDDD19, 22 Jan 2024S24 ultra is too big, I prefer S24 6.2", but, I'm... moreToo big? If you have small hands, maybe. Personally, I'd like a 7.2" version!

                        BTW, 512gb is available on all three S24 models.

                          So yea basically the tldr, everything is marginally better in all ways, highlights could be the screen and build. However in that one way that counts to me, which is the 10x tele, things are not better, but in fact the 10x digital looks more like the 20x I get on s23 ultra.

                            finch, 26 Jan 2024Do you really think people that guess things in optics unde... moreYea, their bad for trying to inform you of the details, they should just put a large green bloco with good written on it if it's good or a red one with poopy written on it if it's crap so you can understand too. Why make it detailed and explain technical stuff right? After all most of you people just buy it cause it's samsung or just buy it cause it's apple anyway, that should be enough right? Silly people trying to learn and understand stuff... just ruining a goood yes or no question with an in dept review. It's either good or poopy right?

                              • f
                              • finch
                              • nDy
                              • 26 Jan 2024

                              Anonymous, 25 Jan 2024"My guesses are the reduced lens size with a larger se... moreDo you really think people that guess things in optics understand your posting with detailed optics theory? Not even all engineers understand it, so why bother? People buy megapixels, let them have it and be happy with it.

                                • f
                                • finch
                                • nDy
                                • 26 Jan 2024

                                Wow, how fast you did the review for the Samsung. Priority maximum possible, for a phone that doesn't really differ from the previous one. Nothing interesting for a majority of users that only use it for Instagram.

                                  • M
                                  • Maria
                                  • sEB
                                  • 26 Jan 2024

                                  Praisemelvis50, 25 Jan 2024Samsung products are the best one could ever thought of get... moreGood luck to you.

                                    Samsung products are the best one could ever thought of getting. I so much love my Samsung s9, doing what it knows how to do best. Well I'm looking forward to get the Samsung note 10+ anytime soon. Samsung phones still remains the best. Cheers!!!

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • gDf
                                      • 25 Jan 2024

                                      Regarding my previous post:
                                      I wanted to write that the equivalent f-number is useful for comparing the impact of diffraction on the sharpness of a printed photo (printed at the same size) (no matter whether wide angle lens or tele lens), but it's not useful for comparing the diffraction-limited theoretical amount of detail you can get from an object.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • gDf
                                        • 25 Jan 2024

                                        Azza2, 24 Jan 2024My guesses are the reduced lens size with a larger sensor w... more"My guesses are the reduced lens size with a larger sensor will still capture more light"
                                        No. Not more light per object because this depends only(!) on the effective lens diameter, not on the sensor area. A sensor can only capture the light that goes through the lens. It doesn't matter whether you use a telescope and take a photo of Jupiter with a small sensor or with a large sensor. You capture the same amount of light per exposure time from Jupiter, no matter which sensor size. The larger sensor only leads to a larger field of view, so the total amount of light per exposure time is larger due to the light of objects that are within the additional field of view. A sensor only measures(!) light, it doesn't gather light.

                                        Equivalent f-number is for comparing the total amount of light (total sensor area) or for comparing diffraction at pixel level, it's not for comparing the light from an object or for comparing diffraction per object.

                                        A Panasonic Zs80D at 720mm (129mm f/6.4) captures as much light per time from the moon as a 24mm f/1.2 lens because the effective lens diameter is 2cm in both cases. A full frame 24mm f/1.2 camera captures a larger total amount of light per exposure time, but that's solely due to the light from objects that are within the additional much larger field of view.

                                        "In fact, the smaller sensor the longer a zoom you can practically use in compact cameras.
                                        "
                                        It's actually not the sensor size what matters here, but the number of pixels per angle, which is proportional to focal length/ pixel size. More pixels per angle often lets you capture more detail from objects. Small sensors often have a small pixel size, so they don't need a high focal length for a high number of pixels per angle. Nonetheless, there is a limit due to diffraction. Even when you could make the pixels smaller and smaller, you can't capture more and more details from distant objects due to diffraction. The effective diameter determines the theoretical limit how many details you can capture from a distant object.