Google Pixel 8a review

29 May 2024


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • 0U2
  • 15 Jul 2024

Anonymous, 16 Jun 20244.1 is far too generous a score on here. Should start with a 3.If the Galaxy A35 gets a 4.1 as well, then this should be 4.5 =P

    I need magsafe so that a magnet can be attached to the phone, a bunch of different useful accessories cannot be used, and if you buy a ring and stick it on the case, it won’t charge, in my case the ring got hot :)))

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • sXY
      • 11 Jul 2024

      Anonymous, 11 Jul 2024You clearly don't own one mate is it not worth buying it?

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • pP6
        • 11 Jul 2024

        Anonymous, 16 Jun 20244.1 is far too generous a score on here. Should start with a 3.You clearly don't own one mate

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • 8CP
          • 10 Jul 2024

          Anonymous, 16 Jun 20244.1 is far too generous a score on here. Should start with a 3.i bought one may 31st and i don't have any complaints apart from the slow charging (which isn't even that slow, about 1:30 hours from 20% to 100%) it never overheats, i got used to the bezels and i get 7 hours of screen time on a full charge idk what y'all are on

            GSMArena Team, can you post some more camera samples? Preferably the same set as the Oneplus 12 and Moto Edge 50 Ultra. Thanks.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • m51
              • 16 Jun 2024

              PorkataUK, 02 Jun 20242 hours to charge... Just average battery (labeled "g... more4.1 is far too generous a score on here. Should start with a 3.

                • B
                • BlahBlah
                • Lec
                • 14 Jun 2024

                PorkataUK, 02 Jun 20242 hours to charge... Just average battery (labeled "g... moreBtw, your profile nickname says UK, so when did you test the Pixel 8a on summer days?

                Sorry if i'm being sceptical.
                I mean, you are right about slow charging. It really is super slow, but things you said about overheating in the most basic tasks... Sorry but that just don't seem right for me. i can't say for sure because i'm using a different Pixel model, but still...

                I have a Pixel 7 and i'm living in a city with really hot summers (Dubrovnik, Croatia, EU) Not a single problem. I'm not a gamer tho.

                Yes the charging speeds are not deserve to call it fast, but i k ew that before i bought the phone. I red the specs before i bought it and i was prepare for those speeds.

                When i see people critisize the charging speeeds on phones they got i'm always confused why did they even bother to buy it in the first place if that's a issue. You are not buying a pair of socks, you are buying something expensive and it's on us to find out about the product before buying.

                Slow charging is not an issue for me, but for you guys that want faster.. why did you buy a phone with slow charge? There is a zillion other phone models with faster charge...

                Anyways, thanks for reading

                  • B
                  • BlahBlah
                  • Lec
                  • 14 Jun 2024

                  PorkataUK, 02 Jun 20242 hours to charge... Just average battery (labeled "g... moreWhich phone you had before Pixel 8a?

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • NhR
                    • 13 Jun 2024

                    Blanco56, 08 Jun 2024Huge bezels means budget?? What about the Xperias? Why don&... moreAll around the screen is a clear indication of a budget phone yes, while it's a design choice for Sony as they don't want to go the punch hole/notch, and they also want to preserve the dual front speakers since many of their customers love these features. I guess they are a bit niche nowadays, since I can see most people have accepted the new designs, which is sad.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • 0Uc
                      • 12 Jun 2024

                      ashish98, 11 Jun 2024Camera hardware is 64MP but camera output is 16mp why so?Pixel binning.

                        Camera hardware is 64MP but camera output is 16mp why so?

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • NEx
                          • 08 Jun 2024

                          Blanco56, 08 Jun 2024Huge bezels means budget?? What about the Xperias? Why don&... moreBecause theirs is more of a design choice. Where with the 8a it's just the bezels being chunky all around.

                            Huge bezels means budget?? What about the Xperias? Why don't you mention that in their reviews?

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • 0U2
                              • 07 Jun 2024

                              Anonymous, 01 Jun 2024My phone was at the repairshop. Oneplus 11 . Bought cheap p... moreCamera differences between A15 and OnePlus 11 are pretty significant. Sure, the more expensive the phone, the less value you get. Best value, at the moment? Galaxy A35 - has everything you want / need (except wireless charging and DeX).

                                • g
                                • gc8
                                • kfi
                                • 06 Jun 2024

                                Charging speed of 18W is a joke in 2024.

                                  It costs too much, with a few euros more you can buy Pixel 8

                                    RaviSS, 01 Jun 2024Yeah, the launch/pricing strategy for 'A' series ... moreSpot on. Just introduce at $399 and stay at that point. Manufacturers can do that if they want

                                      The ultrawide lacks Autofocus and so, can't capture these awesome macro closeups like the Pixel 8. NOTHING in the review about this.

                                        • l
                                        • lunatrigger
                                        • t@M
                                        • 04 Jun 2024

                                        7->7a 90hzscreen, bazel similar, good replacement.

                                        8-