Nokia 5130 XpressMusic review: Reporting for duty

22 April 2009
At a certain point everyone finds themselves in the situation where all they need is a no-nonsense phone that looks good and doesn't cost a fortune. The Nokia 5130 is exactly the kind...

Sort by:

  • The_One

Best phone.

Nice Looks, efficient, great music, affordable!

  • vijay

5130 is very fine phone and good music.

  • vijay

5130 is very good

  • Addy

hey i just bought this phone like two hours ago n i must say this is the perfect phone ive ever purchased and used.
its price is soo cheap in our country pakistan its just for 9500ruppees/ 110$ US dollars.
thumbs up for this fone.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 25 Apr 2009affordable?? certainly not. SE, Samsung or Motorola has s... moreUr SE or Smsng can't run most of the java softs, even most can't support Y! Go !!! So which one is the ultimate shit???

  • Anonymous

I amaze about sound quality test result of this affordable phone. Is there sound enhancement on music player like Megabass on SE walkman? I usually listen to hip hop music and powerful bass sound is important to me. Thanks

  • deepak

Very good phone, awesome, value for money

  • Anonymous

ardy, 25 Apr 2009good sound quality...but with bad headset...we have to spen... morethat is correct...5130 has the best sound on any mobile...so its better to get a good earset to take advantage of it

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 25 Apr 2009affordable?? certainly not. SE, Samsung or Motorola has s... morewould you be so kind to name some model numbers also please???
motorola has good cheap music phones but overall features at this price...is a big no

  • ardy

good sound quality...but with bad headset...we have to spend more money to buy a better headset...uh...

  • Anonymous

affordable?? certainly not. SE, Samsung or Motorola has same features but cost less than this ugly piece.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Apr 2009and what about SE....when was the last time they released a... moreSony Ericsson is either dead or dying. Their main problem is due to failure to address certain very important issues, namely:

1. handsets are too expensive featurewise
2. no 3.5 mm jack in walkman phones
3. very expensive m2 cards cannot match the ultra affordable microSD cards

The worse news is that SE is not interested in what the customers want, preferring to push the customer into liking their very expensive phones. That is not the world works, and now SE is paying for its lack of foresight and adaptation to consumer desires.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Apr 2009No wonder Nokia's profits are down 90%. Who'd buy this ... moreprofits are down 90%...but hey they did make some profit...what about sony ericsson???

  • Daneil

xman, 23 Apr 2009a review from somebody with a predisposed bias towards the ... moreOf course no cell phone can ever compete with a proper digital camera.
Even the 8MP cameras on phones will not do well against 5MP digital camera. In camera the focal lenght is more and it has a larger and better lens of harnessing more light. Also better shutter speed and a lot more functions.

  • sam

mi6lethaltool, 23 Apr 2009Every time i heard best sound of them all i ask myself wher... moreIf you look at sound testing results of ipods and 5130XM you will see that 5130XM is much better...The quality as they say is comparable to latest ipod touch 2G and better that previous ipods...

  • Daniel

helloct, 23 Apr 2009No Java multi-tasking??? Because some Nokia S40 have java m... moreI don't know to what kind of multitasking they mean...OK, now this is what I can do with this set...

1) I can play music and play games at the same the time...

2) Music turns off automatically if the camera is turned on

3) Music turns off automatically while attending a call(that happens in all sets)but, it can play amr format music files while we are talking on phone(even though its not the best quality format it will help if your talk for long time)

4) Music can play in background while accessing any other program except camera.

5) Messages can be sent with music playing, music doesn't stop while send or receiving messages.

  • Anonymous

No wonder Nokia's profits are down 90%.

Who'd buy this ugly whack.

  • xman

a review from somebody with a predisposed bias towards the operating system has limited value. As far as I can tell the only major fault you could find with the low cost handset is that you didn't like the operating system. when one looks at handset sales you'll find many more prefer it.

I find camera complaints such a joke my original 2 mipxel Point and shoot canon digital camera outperforms all 5 meg and below cell phone cameras. it's all about light gathering and optics not pixel count.

no office document viewer on a product that has no pretense of being a smart phone. some of us do not want a smart phone. doing a few things well (voice and music) is preferred to a handset that does many things either not so well OR at an outrageous price.

no 3G, who wants a data plan or data charges on a low cost handset.



  • mi6lethaltool

Every time i heard best sound of them all i ask myself where are this supposely experts leaving the Nokia N91?
I have a N96 but for being honest, what its always connected to my B&W Zeppelin is my N91 its just Awesome!!! and my Ipod? i just gave it to my nephew!!!

  • helloct

No Java multi-tasking??? Because some Nokia S40 have java multi tasking? If yes which one? Or this is a kind of request?