Apple iPad 2 review: Love and hate 2.0

23 March 2011
The Apple iPad 2 is about to hit European shelves, fresh form a diet and exercise regime thatís helped it shed weight and build muscle. Faster, thinner and lighter is an accurate account of whatís been going on in the year that divides the two editions of Appleís...

Sort by:

  • Emz

Hi I'm just wondering what is the difference between iPad 2 wifi + 3G & the iPad 2 CDMA?? this is my first time .. What does CDMA mean? Thanks .. ^_^

  • Angelo

I gave my only phone to my Girflfriend cuz her broke. now i'm without phone or somteimes i just lend one from friend. i need really new one ;( and iPhone was always my dream. but i can't afford to buy it So please choose me ;( and help me !

  • Lorena

Anonymous, 15 Jul 2011well thats your opinion i think its a great deviceThat's a knowing answer to a dfiifcult question

  • Cecilia

Anonymous, 12 Jul 2011To be honest - I had a play on the Acer Iconia & to be quite... moreI haven't own an Apple product bfeore. I need to have this so that i can contact my parents when i am in school with the Messaging App . My most favorite hobby is also using the internet and i want to use it wherever i go. I want to win this because i want to receive this for free without my parents spending a very big amount of money. If you would let me win, i would always take care of it. Thank you for making this giveaway, i really appreciate it.

  • Iam

RAJPRIT, 20 Oct 2011Using the iPad 2 with two hands is pretty hard too in some scena... moreIf you want to try to install ufianocifl Android 4.0 ICS firmware on your Samsung Galaxy S, then you can download anda0 get more info from here.

  • Ernesto

Anonymous, 24 Apr 2011You can download Opera as an alternative to Safari. Otherwise I ... moreMarch 29, 2012 at 8:21 pmFYI I have the IPAD now but only the 1st 2weeks I was so excited but I had the cnahce to see use the GALAXY TAB its a very solid Tablet ( advance hardware than ipad, then the quality is SO GREAT, you can root do everything in it soon by help of XDA lots of android guys) 3 things ONLY IPAD has on it ( Much bigger screen but not as portable as the tab, it has more applications then IT HAS APPLE LOGO) GALAXY TAB has so many better feature much portable much solid built. GALAXY RULE! Reply

  • Nikki

If I was to purchase a ipad would I have to get a subscription thru att or verison in order for the internet and everything to work on the ipad? Please can someone help me

  • Anonymous

I own an ipad 2 since they were sold in usa. I think ios is ok for tablets but only once jailbroken I am on ios 5 jailbroken and I love ipad 2 + xbmc nothing like streaming media from pirvate ftp/samba servers. If it is not jailbroken media playback sucks.

  • Polar

Jack1059, 22 Apr 2011I bought the ipad2 expecting to really like it. Id read the revi... moreDude, believe me: for less than 10 bucks you can do all this tasks that you want. And if you pay attention on 'freedays app' (US holidays, for example) maybe you can do it for free. ;)

  • Cisco

I love my Android mobile phones, but there is no tablet that comes close to matching the iPad, especially for media content.

  • RAJPRIT

Using the iPad 2 with two hands is pretty hard too in some scenarios. For example, itís almost impossible to type properly unless you have very long thumbs (or huge hands). Itís also uncomfortable to interact with most of the apps this way

  • AKII

bert, 17 May 2011Apple is a movement.. You are hooked into a thinking that this d... moreyp........agree,,,,

  • AKII

To be honest - I had a play on the Acer Iconia & to be quite frank it was, well, a pile of poo. The lag was unbelievable & the screen was more unresponsive than my old WM6 resistive phones. Flip from landscape to portrait & wait a while - whistle a tune & then oh it's finally caught up. Couple that with the lack of apps at the mo & it's a long, long way behind the ipad in any variant. I also played on an ipad in the apple store & it was silky smooth. They have every reason to be proud of it. It just works.

The only one I've seen come even close is the original galaxy tab running on android 2.3.

Not sure if it's a symptom of 3.0 being soooo sloooow (as reported widely on tech blogs), or the vast majority of tabs being underpowered for a processor hungry OS. I suspect that Android is to blame rather than the hardware but at the moment none of them can match the ipad on real world performance.

I'll wait until ice cream sandwich comes out before making a choice on what to buy but if I was to spend money now - I'd feel like I'd wasted it if I bought anything other than an ipad

  • abhi

Anonymous, 01 May 20111st Generation iPad looks better than iPad 2 :/lol.. obviously ipad 2 is advanced. how can 1 look better?

  • Anonymous

Jack1059, 03 May 2011I owned one for about a day.Very slick device, light, great batt... morewell thats your opinion
i think its a great device

  • Anonymous

Davide, 24 Mar 2011The Motorola Tablet is c*ap, and so is Ipad. People only buy iPa... moreTo be honest - I had a play on the Acer Iconia & to be quite frank it was, well, a pile of poo. The lag was unbelievable & the screen was more unresponsive than my old WM6 resistive phones. Flip from landscape to portrait & wait a while - whistle a tune & then oh it's finally caught up. Couple that with the lack of apps at the mo & it's a long, long way behind the ipad in any variant. I also played on an ipad in the apple store & it was silky smooth. They have every reason to be proud of it. It just works.

The only one I've seen come even close is the original galaxy tab running on android 2.3.

Not sure if it's a symptom of 3.0 being soooo sloooow (as reported widely on tech blogs), or the vast majority of tabs being underpowered for a processor hungry OS. I suspect that Android is to blame rather than the hardware but at the moment none of them can match the ipad on real world performance.

I'll wait until ice cream sandwich comes out before making a choice on what to buy but if I was to spend money now - I'd feel like I'd wasted it if I bought anything other than an ipad.

  • bert

Apple is a movement.. You are hooked into a thinking that this device is a status symbol!

  • SpongeBob

Patrick, 13 Apr 2011"The real benefit of the newly-added cameras is FaceTime. H... moremeh..thats because theres more android device variety than iOS..

try to name a few iOS devices that doesnt begin with an 'i' in the name.. then try to name a few android devices that doesnt begin with 'galaxy'.

u'll understand it pretty easily why more android review vs apple review.

  • NICNAT

can i find it in south africa i really want it please help;

  • Jack1059

I owned one for about a day.Very slick device, light, great battery, super smooth UI. Trouble is it was far too locked down to apple for my liking. I figure I pay $500+ for a device I own it, not apple, and should be free to do simple little things like transfer files, get a new email client, etc. I also found my search results were filtered on the ipad2. Searched for ways to transfer files to the device without itunes and got very little. Tried the same search on the mac computer and bingo. All the search results I would expect. That was the last straw and despite its positives, I sold it. I'll wait until the android devices get better, or apple opens up.