LG Optimus G review: Grand Slam

22 October 2012
Designed to a flagship standard and powered by the latest in handheld computing, the Optimus G cannot hope for a warm welcome from rivals but is due every bit of their respect. LG is not asking for it its getting ready to earn it...

Sort by:

  • AnonD-171420


The G977 version does not come with USB - host, came without this functionality.

  • Groot

I got this phone (LG E970) in February 2013. I'm using it to post this comment. Since "Day 1" I have been more than happy with this phone. Using and "experiencing" other phones owned by family members does not compare to this phone. Meaning, I absolutely (still) love this phone better. It's my FIRST Android device. Today, these same family members have upgraded their devices to : iPhone 6 (1), iPhone 6+ (3), Samsung Note 3 (2), Samsung Note 4 (2) and HTC One M9 (1)...(I have a BIG family) Yet, the Optimus G E970 still keeps me happy and satisfied. I've RECENTLY read reviews on this phone (regardless of the date of the review). I'd have to say that GSMArena comes the closest to an unbiased and accurate review of my Optimus G, although I'm not 100% in agreement with EVERYTHING they wrote. Opinions are one thing but a product review is something else. Note : I didn't get this phone because of GSMArena's review. Also, this is my FIRST LG device. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing what LG has to offer late 2015. Good Luck LG and Great Work !

In 2012 yeah, the LG Optimus G is very good. I bought this smartphone in early May 2014 still using it till now. Upgraded to KitKat now, so far I am satisfy with it. Many other models are better, LG G2, LG G3.

  • rogerpjr

Antonio, 15 Jan 2014not true. LG has only better build quality. But no expandable me... moreDepends.
I had the Optimus G. Loved it until I saw its bigger be other, the Brilliant G Pro. Still love the finish of the Op.G. Durable. Fast. Would have kept it, but the G Pro was at a ridiculously low price point. And has that stupidly Brilliant Display! Upgraded. But if the Op G suits your hands better, go for it. It trumps anything Apple has. And the S3, although nice, pales in comparison.

  • bungo13

Antonio, 15 Jan 2014not true. LG has only better build quality. But no expandable me... moreS3 too much problem I have s3 quality not good.battery only for 3 hours working I shift in lg for speed in internet its so very fast camera not too much bad compare to s3.Samsung now costumer buying because of the name...

  • Antonio

Sunny '07, 25 Jul 2013LG Optimus One was my 1st android phones n still uisng it till n... morenot true. LG has only better build quality. But no expandable memory, no user removable battery, no working usb host, very bad camera, no software updates, very bad lg support. S3 is much more popular and overall better and cheaper.

  • Sunny '07

LG Optimus One was my 1st android phones n still uisng it till now. Later get another LG Optimus L7 n this phones really great. Now i am gonna to get my 3rd LG Optimus G to fill up my LG collection. Heard that this Optimus G is better than Samsung S3?

  • Martinnlmv

Mobilemaster, 09 Nov 2012Why do you say it's a loser?After the transition organizational skype by Microsoft comes to mind the conclusion that a change of leadership for the benefit . Skype now become much higher quality . Introduced a variety of fresh elements. For example , free and unlimited messaging in video format . çàðåãè&nti­lde;òðèðîâ&agr­ave;òüñÿ â ñêàéïå.

  • Afanasiiufjx

Mobilemaster, 09 Nov 2012Why do you say it's a loser?Following the acquisition of Skype, Microsoft organizational idea that you can make the move to benefit. Now skype became significantly better. Introduced a significant number of fresh elements. For example , unlimited messaging in video format . ñêà÷àò&­uuml; ñêàéï äëÿ windows 7.

  • swiftnimbus

Best mobile phone I had ever owned. snappy performance not even a single lag like galaxy s4 so much of issues with galaxy s4 lte which I owned. I sold my s4 in craiglist and bought this eye catching powerful beast..

  • Anonymous

i like

i say it again, the plastic that the reviewer of this phone talk, it is not plastic or polycarbonate, it is kevlar, carbon fiber. LG it would not make a phone like this, like Samsung make, in poor plastic.

  • Anonymous

"There is a single LED flash, but as usual it won't be of much help in most low-light situations." I would very much like to contest this statement. Being an Optimus G user for the past two months, one of the things that I am probably most proud of would be the LED flash. Don't believe? Pit all the 13 megapixel shooters together and test the flash strength. So far I have only managed to compare the Optimus G against the Xperia Z, and the flash alone beats the Xperia Z hands down.

  • AdamWE

Mobilemaster, 09 Nov 2012Why do you say it's a loser?just stopping by to say hey
free 4000 microsoft points

  • StephenZH

Mobilemaster, 09 Nov 2012Why do you say it's a loser?just stopping by to say hey
free 1600 microsoft points

  • Anonymous

good

  • Shadow

Got this phone few days back with JB...Best phone used till date....NO regrets...

  • B

Anonymous, 13 Nov 2012Can we please put an end to the notion that owning a smartphone ... moreTotally agree!

  • Reyn

Wow! I like it. Soo slim. || Dlanyerzone

  • Roland

Awsome .keep introducing new models