Samsung Galaxy Xcover Pro
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy Xcover Pro

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • XCover Pro vs LG v20

To those of you who compared the Samsung XCover Pro to the LG V20 -- i tested both, and i would have loved them as a successor to my LG G4.
The LG V20 also had MANY disapointmentt, at least the version i tested in the middle of EU (Austira).
The V20's camera is WORSE than that of the elderly G4, in fact, images appear like WATERCOLOUR!
What was a no-go criteria: The v20 HAD VERY BAD OVERALL RADIO SIGNAL QUALITY.
In my home region with LTE coverage, i never had interrupted calls for many years. The V20 did not manage well in my region - calls were dropped, signal was frequently lost, many changes from 3G/4G back and forth. Practically unusable in everyday life. Probably because the battery back is metal and the positioning of antennas was more difficult.
In my opinion, neither the LG v20 nor the Samsung Xcover pro are of good quality. really ashame!

Anonymous, 25 Feb 2020So in other words, it will be the successor to LG V20? The missi... moreThere is an FM radio, actually.

It's nowhere as good as the V20 but I was still pleasantly surprised to see something of an ok quality with a removable battery. If it's rootable, it will be more attractive than the V20 which is now unrootable. I mean, the V20 has so many features and aftermarket removable, externally chargeable 10-12k mah batteries. Sadly, you cannot flash custom ROM on it and every time you look at your phone, you see google staring back at you, collecting your data and making you a part of the digital henhouse it's masters are runnning from the shadows...

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 25 Feb 2020So in other words, it will be the successor to LG V20? The missi... moreIt won't as it does not have quad dac. But we might see a v20 successor if the EU stops grandstanding and just walk the talk when it comes to imposing repairability on smartphones.

  • Anonymous

So in other words, it will be the successor to LG V20? The missing features are the FM Radio, IR blaster remote, and the lack of call recording feature (it's an Android 9+ limitation).

It has two programmable buttons, which will be good to map them for emulator games (Epsxe, PPSSPP).

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 19 Dec 2019Wow, did I just leaped back to 2011?LG V20 is a 2016 model with removable battery.

  • Anonymous

Dev, 23 Feb 2020Does the xcover pro field have buttons? I wish I could get the x... moreThe field pro, unfortunately, has buttons. I do prefer them over gestures and onscreen buttons, however. But that's just me.

  • Dev

Anonymous, 12 Jan 2020Not bad, but too big, 6.3 inch tft screen is big for that 4050mh... moreDoes the xcover pro field have buttons? I wish I could get the xcover pro without buttons and smaller 5inch screen

  • alex nurbel

Zakalwe, 22 Feb 2020Thank you, I'll see how I can adapt this!save it in a file called "backup.xml".
put it on your phone.

in tasker, 3 dot menu, import data, from local drive, select the file backup.xml

from now, you have my tasker setting on your own app. modify stuff to see what happens, and from that it's very easy.

tasker might ask for new permission, use adb to grant them.

alex nurbel, 22 Feb 2020gsmarena fcked up the syntax of the code, you can find it during... moreThank you, I'll see how I can adapt this!

  • alex nurbel

[deleted post]gsmarena fcked up the syntax of the code, you can find it during 24hours on this link :
https://codeshare.io/2KMyqo

ALex nurbel, 20 Feb 2020xcover button can be set up with tasker to work even when screen... moreInteresting, any hint on how to do that? I'm only a beginner at Tasker. I have used Tasker to set the Google Assistant to appear on long-pressing the XCover key, and this works fine when the screen is on, but not when it is off. I have tried adding the state of screen being off as a trigger in addition to the Tasker 2ndary App, but that does not help. Looks to me like the button basically does not exist when the screen is off. But I guess there may be some trick to wake it?

  • ALex nurbel

xcover button can be set up with tasker to work even when screen is shut, i have set mine to flashlight on single click when screen shut, compass on single click when screen on.

works fine, still not everyone know how to set up tasker so i think samsung didn't work very hard on this phone software.

Zakalwe, 19 Feb 2020As annoying as it is, this button-behaviour was already present ... more...and people were already discussing this problem three years ago with the XCover 4 (not 4S):
https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=­cache:2_ZHigvpJT8J:https://developer.samsung.com­/forum/thread/-samsung-xcover-4-user-button-issu­e

So yeah, doesn't look like anything Samsung is in a hurry to change. :(

Anonymous, 18 Feb 2020The already mentioned problems related to the 2 hardware-buttons... moreAs annoying as it is, this button-behaviour was already present on the XCover-key of the XCover 4S. So I don't think it is a bug resulting from urgency - Samsung either wants it this way for whatever reason, or they just cannot be bothered to change it.

  • Anonymous

The already mentioned problems related to the 2 hardware-buttons is actually another reason why i returned the phone.
I can confirm the following:
The 2 hardware-buttons DO NOT WORK when the phone is LOCKED, more exactly, they do not work when the SCREEN is OFF.
They do work when the screen is ON, or when the phone is completely unlocked.
When the screen is on and on the lock-screen, the 2 buttons work if the app they invoke does not need unlocking the phone.
The REDICULOUS thing about it is that if i configured the "xcover button" to flash-light, i would still first have to wake the screen, to then press the button to turn on the flash light. This makes the button rather useless.
All in all, my impression, samsung threw the phone far too early into the market, there was no time for (beta)testing and quality checking...
it really is a shame because i like the idea of the phone.

Zakalwe, 17 Feb 2020They certainly work when unlocked (just tested both to be sure),... moreYes..sorry my bad. I wanted to say locked screen.
Thank you very much for the answer.
Regards,
Eduardo

EduardoValente, 17 Feb 2020Hi! It's been reported that the programmable keys (xcover key ... moreThey certainly work when unlocked (just tested both to be sure), but I guess you may have meant _locked_? If you configure them in the settings to work when locked (must be done for each individually), then they work when locked - BUT the screen must be on. I.e. they will work from the lock screen, but not when the screen is off, and I suppose that could be a serious limit to their usefulness.

Underwatch, is that a game? I am not into phone games, I am afraid. If you point me where to find it, I may be able to test whether it starts, though.

  • EduardoValente

Zakalwe, 16 Feb 2020Well, I am quite pleased with mine. I cannot say I have noticed ... moreHi!
It's been reported that the programmable keys (xcover key and the one on top) doesn't work while the device is unlocked and, that underwatch also doesn't work. Do you had experience one of the claims?
Regards,
Eduardo

  • Anonymous

Can you guys that have this phone already, post your daily usage, for example SOT(screen on time), call time, social media consumption time (youtube, face, insta etc) gaming time (assuming you are gaming on this phone), and what percentage of battery u have left at the end of a day. Thank you in advance