Samsung Galaxy Xcover Pro
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy Xcover Pro

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • John

At first, I was tempted with the latest Galaxy A72 smartphone. Not only it has AMOLED 90hz screen and IP67 dust/water protection, it also has a potent Snapdragon 720G chipset, a 3x zoom telephoto camera, 6GB/8GB RAM, and 5,000mAh battery. More than that, it shipped with Android 11 and OneUI 3.1 out of the box. So by right, that should be my favoured choice. But then I found out that the A72 doesn't have Samsung DeX capability, so I ended up choosing this XCover Pro instead. It may have a less powerful chipset and smaller battery than the A72, but it has MIL-STD-810G shockproofing and removable battery.

Jack, 11 Aug 2020The Samsung website states - Testing methods include a drop... moreI dropped mine from chest height onto the street concrete sidewalk and all i had was a scuff mark from the corner that hit...whew!! Had mine a year and a half now no problem. Bought a spare battery from a Dutch company an no issues there

  • Anonymous

FenCPH, 10 Aug 2021 I'm doing my best. Are you Mr.annymouse? yeah

Anonymous, 10 Aug 2021how can you manage to spell environmental as invironmental ... more
I'm doing my best.
Are you Mr.annymouse?

  • Anonymous

FenCPH, 06 Aug 2021Some poor people just don't get it. It's not ... morehow can you manage to spell environmental as invironmental with todays spell checking software?

Anonymous, 06 Aug 2021It's only more durable especially if you work in place... moreSome poor people just don't get it.

It's not about a hazardous environment survivability.
It's about longevity in a broader sense.
Plus a lower inviromental footprint.
Come on

  • Anonymous

ProEtContra, 28 Jul 2021I got this phone from a Company. I used MI8, Galaxy S8 and ... moreIt's only more durable especially if you work in places with tough situations. Other than that, nothing is better in Xcover Pro compared to your mentioned models.

You forgot to mention that besides a decent cpu, this mobile has an easy user replaceable battery. A headphone jack and a sd card slot plus a dual sim.
Which all in all will have the phone be working for a long time with a security update and software that will last years.
Simply not found in other phones presently.

  • ProEtContra

I got this phone from a Company. I used MI8, Galaxy S8 and S5 previously. To be honest, Xcover cant be compared with Galaxy S. It is slower, the screen is worse, the camera is mediocre at best. Battery is OK, nothing more.
But Xcover is still a decent phone. It will do most of the things quickly and you do not need to worry about splashes, falling down etc. It is really robust, but in size that fits the pocket.
The Shortcut keys are very useful and easy to customize.

So, all in all, if you need a though phone that is a bit slow-go with it. Otherwise, buy a Galaxy or Xioami in this price range.

  • John2213

Dee, 08 Jul 2021Recently got SM-G715U1. Made the update ASAP, but lost th... moreDid you try removing the memory card and see if both sims are working ?

  • Dee

Recently got SM-G715U1. Made the update ASAP, but lost the dual SIM feature when I plugged in 2 nano SIMs + 64Gb microSDXC. Is there a fix to this cause I really need the 2nd SIM to function.

Shimizu Megumi, 18 Jun 2021In my country this phone is overpriced, 450 euro. The batt... moreI guess it depends on the country. In my place the original Samsung battery is readily available for less than €25. I could easily find it available in some other EU-countries, too, but sometimes costing more (€40 was the highest I found).

The screen is IPS. There was some early Samsung promo material that mistakenly had it as AMOLED, but the official Samsung specs and reviews have it as TFT/IPS, and that is quite obviously the truth if you hold one in person.

Speaking of which, have you actually used one? The phone is smooth and responsive, fear of bloatware is misplaced. While not a high-end phone regarding benchmarks, its performance is more than adequate, and it offers a number of features that are almost unique nowadays. Depending on the user priorities it is a bargain, or even almost the only phone worthy of serious consideration.

In my country this phone is overpriced, 450 euro.
The battery for it is 50 euro, except that there is a shortage and you cant buy it anywhere, you need to order from abroad using various services.
Also the screen isnt IPS but Amoled.
Anyway the removable battery doesnt mean much if you cant even buy it, all sellers asked and they are out of stock cant even order it.
Maybe you can get one from ebay, but please understand that 450 euro phone is just too expensive for removable battery to worth it, with this specifications, also samsung very resource intensive, and this hardware will feel even less with samsung bloatware

YUKI93, 07 Jun 2021"Dont wast your time & money on any Samsung, espec... moreAnother costumer who also disagrees is Wal-Mart.
They used their money instead of their mouth.
Unlike a lot of noobs. 🙄

Geoa, 20 May 2021Samsung does not make good rugged phones, all 5 active phon... more"Dont wast your time & money on any Samsung, especially if you need a durable phone, go with Sonim, Kyocera, Cat, Doogee, Ulefone or Blackview. They all make real rugged phones for much less money."

Mrwhosetheboss disagree with you. -> https://youtu.be/J1sIZguHwp0

Geoa, 20 May 2021Samsung does not make good rugged phones, all 5 active phon... moreWhy did you get so many Samsung Actives if you had problems with all of them? And how did the S7 have problems with rain if you never got it wet?

Anyway, I agree on the lack of warranty against liquid damage, unfortunately an all too common policy. I see Sonim covers it as long as the IP-rating conditions were not exceeded - any idea how this works in practice, who has the burden of proof?

The XP8 is a phone I considered in the past, but its user reviews are often negative, mostly about glitchy software. It also costs more than Samsung, at least in Europe, and Sonim does not have much of a presence here.

None of the other brands you mention have the Enterprise Recommended certificate, so their future regarding software updates is uncertain. I have heard good things about Kyocera's durability, but their phones are fairly locked down, non-removable battery, no memory card etc., hard to see as an alternative. CATs are Bullitt Group phones and as such traditionally lousy with software support. Doogee, Ulefone, BV are cheap phones with close to no support network outside China.

  • Geoa

Samsung does not make good rugged phones, all 5 active phones I've owned had problems like not actually being water resistant despite the IP68, and not even close to MIL-STD-810G, short drops on carpet and screen has pink lines, caught in the rain and just turns off and never starts again, My S7 Active was babied from new, never dropped or gotten wet and still had those and other problems. The Xcover Pro is $500. and is just not worth it considering just like the active line, is not warranted for water or drop damage, if it's a rugged phone it should be able to withstand water and light drops. I really like the Xcover Fieldpro but at $1,000 its just not worth the risk if a tiny fall or washing off in sink will damage or kill it. All my 8 Kyocera rugged phones are all actually waterproof and sanitized/washed regularly, been dropped on concrete, down flights of stairs and more, but still work 100% years later, and at a much lower price. My daily driver Sonim XP8 is a step above in ruggedness and is not death proof but pretty close, It has endured much more hard use and looks & works perfect years later, even after being run over by 18 wheeler, dropped in gas, cleaned with brake cleaner after dropped in dirty motor oil, and never one problem, The same just cant be said for Samsung, even the regular S series and other phones will develop screen lines, burn in & softwair problems, everyone I know with a Samsung eventually does. Dont wast your time & money on any Samsung, especially if you need a durable phone, go with Sonim, Kyocera, Cat, Doogee, Ulefone or Blackview. They all make real rugged phones for much less money.

  • TiWyX

Work phone, No problems with it for now, But for that price you can get something better.

Zakalwe, 23 Apr 2021The screen is Gorilla Glass 5, not plastic. AMOLED is susce... moreLol, I used to have an AMOLED phone but now I use an LCD phone, which feels better for my eyes ngl

  • Anonymous

4gb's of ram is more than enough for a mobile phone if your phone is lagging it's probably from the battery degrading which unlike 99% of phones you can do something about on this one.