vivo NEX S
MORE PICTURES

vivo NEX S

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Anonymous, 15 Feb 2021No.. if you want 2nd, just go for sharp aquos r2 or sony xz... moreYou are talking about two smartphone brands who have very limited geographical availability. Both brands are not present in India. So you suggestion is meaningless for me.

  • Anonymous

Shawn, 14 Feb 2021I Don't know how long can this phone last but I'm... moreNo.. if you want 2nd, just go for sharp aquos r2 or sony xz3, better price options

  • Shawn

I Don't know how long can this phone last but I'm considering buying this vivo 2nd hand.Still worth it ? Need your opinion

RishiGuru, 12 Jan 2021Received the fourth OTA update over Android 10 in India. Be... moreReceived the fifth OTA update over Android 10 in India. Below are the details:

Update Version: vivo rev 8.70.8 (145.42 MB)
1) Latest Jan, 2021 Android security patches

After the software upgrade:
Android Version: 10
Android security patch level: 01-Jan-2021
Vivo ROM: Funtouch OS_10
Software Version: PD1805F_EX_A_8.70.8
Compile time: 18-Jan-2021

Yet to figure out the changes, but it will be nominal if any.

The Indian users of Vivo NEX (NEX S in China) like me may have to do without Android 11. The latest timeline shared by Vivo India seems to skip this phone even though the Chinese variant will receive Android 11.

https://www.gsmarena.com/vivo_shares_its_funtouchos_11_release_schedule_for_india-news-47120.php

Sad but true.

RishiGuru, 16 Nov 2020Received the third OTA update over Android 10 in India. Bel... moreReceived the fourth OTA update over Android 10 in India. Below are the details:

Update Version: vivo rev 8.70.7 (178.22 MB)
1) Improved system stability
2) Latest android security patches
3) Optimized Bluetooth earphones connection stability with the phone.

After the software upgrade:
Android Version: 10
Android security patch level: 01-Dec-2020
Vivo ROM: Funtouch OS_10
Software Version: PD1805F_EX_A_8.70.7
Compile time: 22-Dec-2020

Yet to figure out the changes, but it will be nominal if any.

Good to know Vivo NEX (NEX S in China) will get Vivo's latest OriginOS next year. This means this phone released on June, 2018 with FuntouchOS and Android 8 will finally be updated to OriginOS over Android 11. Awesome if this becomes true for us global ROM users.

https://www.gsmarena.com/vivo_unveils_originos_update_roadmap_over_30_phones_to_get_it_in_2021-news-46347.php

Received the third OTA update over Android 10 in India. Below are the details:

Update Version: vivo rev 8.70.5 (432.42 MB)
1) Improved system stability
2) Latest android security patches

After the software upgrade:
Android Version: 10
Android security patch level: 01-Oct-2020
Vivo ROM: Funtouch OS_10
Software Version: PD1805F_EX_A_8.70.5
Compile time: 18-Aug-2020

Other than latest security patches, I observed Vivo's own apps like default music player, iManager, etc have all be updated to the latest version.

Received the second OTA update after major Android 10 update in India. Below are the details:

Update Version: vivo rev 8.11.1 (220.76 MB)
1) Improved the smoothness of fingerprint scanner
2) Fixed an audio issue with TikTok
2) Latest android security patches
3) Improved system performance, stability & smoothness

After the software upgrade:
Android Version: 10
Android security patch level: 01-Aug-2020
Vivo ROM: Funtouch OS_10
Software Version: PD1805F_EX_A_8.11.1
Compile time: 18-Aug-2020

Other than latest security patches, I observed the under-display fingerprint scanner is a fraction faster to unlock. I do not use TikTok, hence cannot comment on the resolved audio issue.

Sonia, 21 Aug 2020After the update have you check if you can install the 3rd ... moreI have two Vivo NEX S, and both are running Android 10. I never use any 3rd party launchers on any of my smartphones. Hence never tried. I think you should consider contacting Vivo customer care in your country to know the specifics of this update.

  • Sonia

RishiGuru, 10 Jul 2020Received first update after Android 10 in India. Below are... moreAfter the update have you check if you can install the 3rd party app such launchers etc? It does work? In Philippines no update yet for Android 10 dunno why.

Received first update after Android 10 in India. Below are the details:

Update Version: vivo rev 8.10.1 (229.08 MB)
1) Reduced power consumption in the locked standby screen
2) Latest android security patches
3) Optimized system operating performance

After the software upgrade:

Android Version: 10
Android security patch level: 01-Jun-2020
Vivo ROM: Funtouch OS_10
Software Version: PD1805F_EX_A_8.10.1
Compile time: 18-Jun-2020

Other than latest security patches, I observed new notification bar icons which looks more modern and suave. Coupled with the OS10 Default theme, the phone UI looks very refined and polished.

RishiGuru, 05 Jun 2020Just checked the DSD audio playback capabilities on my Vivo... moreVivo NEX S audio capabilities after Android 10 update:

1) As before native DSD playback is supported only for DSD64. Uses in-built Cirrus Logic CS43199 HiFi DAC for DSD hardware decoding inside the DAC. Need to enable "Professional DSD Mode" inside sound settings and use the default music player. DSD logo shows up on notification bar. This mode provides the best sound quality eyes closed.

2) DSD128 & DSD256 will be software decoded by the default music player from DSD to PCM and then fed to the HiFi or normal DAC as PCM stream. If "Professional DSD Mode" is disabled will also convert DSD64 to PCM. HiFi logo shows up on notification bar.

3) As usual upto 384 kHz PCM playback are allowed. HiFi logo shows up on notification bar.

No doubt Vivo NEX S is the phone to have if you are a music lover.

Just checked the DSD audio playback capabilities on my Vivo NEX (Vivo NEX S in China). Good news is the feature remains intact after Android 10 update.

The NEX also have two audio DACs:

1) HiFi Enabled: Cirrus Logic CS43199: Support for DSD64
2) HiFi Disabled: Qualcomm Aqstic WCD9340: No support for DSD playback

In NEX there is a dedicated DSD enable switch in sound settings. If that switch is disabled and I play DSD64, DSD128, DSD256 files, all files will be converted to PCM by the default music player and get played. I can even toggle between HiFi enable/ disable modes now as both DACs supports PCM playback upto 384kHz. But if I enable the DSD switch, and then play DSD using default music player:

DSD64: DSD logo shows up on notification bar, and bit perfect DSD64 is fed straight to CS43199. As WCD9340 does not support DSD, HiFi enable/ disable toggle gets disabled.

DSD128: HiFi logo is shown instead, DSD to PCM converted by the player and send to the DAC. CS43199 has no support for DSD128.

DSD256: HiFi logo is shown instead, DSD to PCM converted by the player and send to the DAC. CS43199 has no support for DSD256.

One more enhancement noticed is the introduction of Vivo's upgraded Multi Turbo 2.0 tech with latest FuntouchOS 10 (Android 10). To me it seems apps feels more fluid and games seems to run a tad smoother. The ART++ compilation acceleration engine in Multi Turbo is the most interesting part, it is a complete software thing which keeps pre-compiled code ready to execute with nothing to interpret by a typical Java interpreter. Hence all apps seems to load a tad faster than before.

BTW, after Android 10 update I performed a complete hard factory reset on my Vivo NEX (Vivo NEX S in China) before using it. This definitely clears anything and everything in the phone and provides a factory default phone. Best after Android version upgrades for seamless operation.

After two days of continuous uses, happy to say the battery optimization on Vivo NEX (Vivo NEX S in China) is done very well on the stable Android 10 release. Till now providing stellar battery endurance on a single charge. The biggest plus is standby time power draw is negligible hence under moderate usage this a two day phone.

With the latest FuntouchOS 10 over Android 10 update, I finally received the most awaited feature on my Vivo NEX.

Yes, I am talking about Display DC Dimming feature which can now be enabled on the gorgeous Samsung AMOLED panel on my NEX. BBK Electronics seems to have invested money to bring this new feature to all its sister brands models sporting OLED displays. Hence Vivo, Oppo, OnePlus, RealMe & IQOO are reaping benefits of this investment while naming them differently to segregate the brands.

1) Vivo and its sub-brand IQOO calls it "Low Brightness Anti Flicker"
2) Oppo and its sub-brand RealMe calls it "Low Light Flicker Free Eye Care"
3) OnePlus which operates under Oppo calls it just "DC Dimming"

For all these brands and their smartphones this option can only be found deep down into Display Settings. This feature is specifically targeted to those customers who are sensitive to OLED display flicker at low brightness levels in dark environments like night.

DC Dimming can have a negative impact on display color performance as OLEDs tends to show a color shift. This is because in OLED displays, each pixel is a LED and is powered separately and reducing the voltage or current through these OLEDs causes a shift in color. However now the DC Dimming technology have matured a lot and I am finding almost no noticeable color shift while enabling this feature. This is a very welcome feature from my side as I an susceptible to OLED flickering.

Thanks Vivo!!!

hari, 29 May 2020all the nex users in my group, 3 of them who bought at vari... moreFinally, I have Android 10 running on my Vivo NEX (Vivo NEX S in China). The new Funtouch (ver.10) UI overlay over Android 10 is a welcome change over the previous ver.09. The new overlay is more modern, refined and feels more optimized.

But still not as refined or as intuitive as Huawei's EMUI 10 over Android 10. This gap is understandable though as Huawei (with Honor) is the biggest smartphone manufacturer of China, so they have more money for software development. Vivo's Funtouch OS have no shortage in features, it is actually as feature rich as EMUI. It's just that it lacks the level of intuitive operational feel I get from EMUI 10 on my Honor View 10.

Below are the details of the OTA update:

Update Version: vivo rev 8.9.1 (3.36 GB)
1) Android 10
2) Latest android security patches
3) Optimized stability & performance
4) Optimized network compatibility and adaptability for more stable network connections
5) Optimized power consumption for better battery life

After the software upgrade:

Android Version: 10
Android security patch level: 01-Apr-2020
Vivo ROM: Funtouch OS_10
Software Version: PD1805F_EX_A_8.9.1
Compile time: 09-May-2020

Later I will post my user experiences, battery life & new features introduced after this update.

hari, 29 May 2020all the nex users in my group, 3 of them who bought at vari... moreJust now checked... and o boy the huge 3.36 GB stable Android 10 OTA update is here. Will update and inform. Thanks for sharing the info.

  • hari

RishiGuru, 26 May 2020Today had detailed conversation with Vivo India Customer Ca... moreall the nex users in my group, 3 of them who bought at various time period, all got the update now. last one got 2 days before. Im guessing you should have got it already. please check