Carbon 1 MK II
MORE PICTURES

Carbon 1 MK II

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Average CFRP Enjoyer

SA466, 14 Nov 2021The fact that they launched this at 800 dollars and it'... moreLikely that they're desperate.
Some of the reviews on the website seems extremely dubious.

Plus the quality\arrangement of Carbon fiber is questionable (based from what I saw in durability test videos on YouTube so take it with a sack of salt).

The fact that they launched this at 800 dollars and it's now 580 dollars kind of makes me think that A) Their profit margins on the original price were very high or B) they're getting really desperate already

Is this smartphone also shockproof, or better to have silicon case, similar to cheaper devices? (E.g. Xperia 10 III has the virtually unbreakable Gorilla 6, but the plastic frame is still prone to serious scratches and deformations when dropped.)

  • John

I definitely love to see innovations like this, especially when they made their own radio-enabled hybrid carbon composite. But I do think that they can give better chipset in future models. Maybe a Helio G90T and a headphone jack will do nicely.

  • Average CFRP Enjoyer

DannyRitiu, 04 Sep 2021I was very excited to find something like Carbon, I liked t... moreThis is extremely informative, thank you for sharing this.

I was willing to give them a pass despite some odd reviews on their website but your experience seems to indicate that they're either super shady or super incompetent. Neither of which is good.

Hopefully, they're genuine and learn from their mistakes. Although, that seldom happens with these no name manufacturers.

I was very excited to find something like Carbon, I liked the concept so much that I even wanted to become a local reseller. Sadly I didn't know that I am dealing with a very irresponsible company.
After lots of trials I could finally speak to the Sales Manager which promised to send me a pricelist for our collaboration but that never happened.
I waited 3 weeks and then finally I decided that I will order at least one piece to try it out. I placed the order from a business account and I was expecting NOT to pay VAT (as it should be in the EU), but nevertheless I was charged the full gross price. I've sent an email asking a VAT return, but I've never got an answer on that.
The phone came pretty fast (in 3 days) but then I found out that the phone is actually not that good. Here are my impressions:

- The phone gets very hot after a couple minutes of usage, I installed an app and after 5-10 mins of videochat the CPU is over 40 degrees C
- The connections are unstable, WiFi gets often dropped, Mobile net also gets often dropped
- Battery lasts for a very short time, my 4 year old Samsung with 66% capacity lasts 3 times more
- Camera doesn't focus in many apps, so you get blurred pictures. Otherwise, if you manage to focus properly, the quality is OK
- The sound is very bad, I have trouble hearing others and every other person had trouble hearing me. Literally every person who I called (phone, WhatsApp, Messenger, anything) said that I sound like I was speaking from far away
- Can't set different ringtones for the 2 SIMs, maybe that's an Android problem, but I didn't like it
- Proximity sensor doesn't work, many times when my phone is at my ear some random things get pressed on the screen
- The stock Android is nice, but lacks some nice features that Samsung's One UI has, for a person coming from Samsung environment, the Carbon UI just sucks

The biggest problem is anyway, the communication with Carbon. My emails are not answered, I have to send many reminders to receive one answer.
The tragedy came when I wanted to send back the phone. Somebody immediately contacted me and wanted to get my feedback, but I had to insist many times to get the return address from them. I've sent my return intention on Aug 3 and they've sent me the return address on Aug 9. I've sent back the phone on Aug 14 and up until now (Sep 4) I didn't receive my money back.
I start believing that I will never get my money back and I am sad that a nice idea can die in the hands of some irresponsible people...
Think twice before ordering from them and don't believe that the phone is something extraordinary. The marketing is good, but the technology sucks and the company is a disappointment.

  • Average CFRP Enjoyer

Alex, 12 Jun 2021What website? Carbon website? Are you that dumb to have to ... moreLate reply, but it doesn't seem to be a scam. Not an obvious one at least.
There are some questionable reviews but I could see some criticisms that have been left there for everyone to read as well.

https://www.carbonmobile.com/carbon1/reviews

One thing that bugs me is that they claim to offer 4 years worth of Android support, yet there is no mention of the device getting Android 11. This is happening because
- they are pulling out because they see it as a failed investment
or
- there are delays since they are understaffed (LinkedIn lists 12 people)
or
- GSMArena hasn't been updated yet.

We'll see how things play out after they release a successor. IF they release a successor.

  • Anonymous

John, 11 Jul 2021I did some digging about the Helio P95 chipset and it turne... moreSnapdragon 670 and 710? It means that we are looking at the likes of Google Pixel 3a/3a XL and also the Nokia 8.1.

  • John

I did some digging about the Helio P95 chipset and it turned out that it has the same core configuration and microarchitecture as in Snapdragon 670 and 710. In a way, this is an interesting upper-midrange smartphone.

Alex, 12 Jun 2021What website? Carbon website? Are you that dumb to have to ... morehttps://www.carbonmobile.com/store/order

It's okay to be an idiot, you just don't have to show it publicly.

  • Alex

John, 09 Jun 2021Lol, have you went to their website? There are a lot of use... moreWhat website? Carbon website? Are you that dumb to have to go to the brand website (possibly manufactured) comments to assess that 900$ for phone with a P95 processor and a 2800mAh battery is nothing more than a scam? This people really, like to defend any shit brand they see on the internet scamming people

If it only had 5G I would buy.

Sakib3AS, 02 Apr 2021800 Euro is 4/5 times higher than any mi/samsung/oppo mobil... moreCurrently I use Xperia XA2 with Li-Ion 3300 mAh and SDM630. And I’m in deep love with its look and feel, it’s one of all time’s prettiest phones. Don’t care about the old chipset and the 3 GB RAM, never run games by example. Also don’t care about the camera, if I want good pictures I anyway use my pro gear. On the other hand I really hate rounded, punch hole displays, so brands like Xiaomi, Samsung etc. are out of question for me.
BTW this “small” battery lasts almost 3 days.

I have just 3 concerns:
1. Heavy,
2. Not that good display aspect ratio (16:9),
3. Fragile, in spite of the Gorilla 4 glass (replaced the display already 2 times).

So, do you still consider that if the price was just a little cheaper this phone wouldn’t be a perfect choice for me? 😁

  • John

As much as I love this phone for its advanced construction, I do hope that it will have dual 48MP main+ultrawide camera setup and a Snapdragon chipset. Either 730G or 860 will do nicely since this is still effectively a non-5G phone.

  • John

alex, 08 Jun 2021Xiaomi mi 11 Lite 5G at half the cost and this is still a j... moreLol, have you went to their website? There are a lot of user reviews left for it.

  • alex

Xiaomi mi 11 Lite 5G at half the cost and this is still a joke compared to it. Come on now, this is a complete scam for old people to fall for...

I'm still amazed, even two months later, at how light this phone can be thanks to the monocoque carbon fibre design. What also surprises me is that they can fit the latest GG Victus glass protection. With a 6" screen and an 18:9 screen aspect ratio, it looks almost identical to the Nokia 9 PureView.

But since this phone body was made entirely out of carbon fibre, something begins to hit me: Is it possible to have wireless charging support with a carbon fibre back panel? I deeply aware that phones with glass and aluminium back panel have no problem providing wireless charging support, but no one has ever attempted to do it with a carbon fibre back panel. It would be intriguing to find out.

  • yloibx

RichardStation, 06 Apr 2021What tha... is that? A expensive phone with a 2015 specific... moreBut you underestimate how thinnest it is. Battery and some specifications have to be limited in order to make thin mobile phone.

  • captain obvious

some random dude, 31 Mar 2021It is expensive because the phone is made of carbon fiber.Carbon fiber costs about $15-20 per kg.

  • Anonymous

YUKI93, 01 Apr 2021Lol, you trust a rugged case? My experience using a lot of ... moreAt least you get a proper flagship killer plus cases than shitty phone with textured condom on the back