alcatel OT-S853
MORE PICTURES

alcatel OT-S853

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • keenen

crisfall, 06 Jul 2009elow guys!! i would like to something, im here at sucat ... moreor maybe try to ask the store where you bought youyr s853, thanks...hope i could help you more

  • Nelson

crisfall, 06 Jul 2009elow guys!! i would like to something, im here at sucat ... moreJust visit versatile.

  • crisfall

elow guys!!

i would like to something, im here at sucat paranaque right now. i just came here last week and i would like to buy alcatel battery and seems like i can't find the right store. so, please guys. help me!! thanks..

  • keenen

UnpredictivE, 22 Jun 2009Hehe....if we could just access its system files maybe we c... morewell, thats not an easy move, lolz...

  • UnpredictivE

keenen, 20 Jun 2009well modding is fine< and also, hehe, i dont know what will... moreHehe....if we could just access its system files maybe we could mod it..id like to change the entire look..the main menu icons,the fonts,the GUI color or the themes,....haizt..theres so many things id like to change.. ..Ü.. ..

  • keenen

UnpredictivE, 15 Jun 2009Guys...have you ever think of modifying our phone... I mean... morewell modding is fine< and also, hehe, i dont know what will it become after that??? what sort of mods u like??? but pardon me, i dont know how to..

  • Knight Rider

Indicative price (this means not FINAL) for the OT800 is about 100€ and for the OTS988w is 400€ unlocked.

  • UnpredictivE

Guys...have you ever think of modifying our phone... I mean changing its interface.. ??We all know our phone doesnt have that cool user interface.. How about we work together and mod ot-s853... Make it more 'for youth' phone... Just like motorola.. Motorola phone owners has been modding their phones.. But i know its hard..but if we work together..mabye we can mod our beloved phone.. Ü

  • keenen

Knight Rider, 25 May 2009Yes Nelson, indeed this is the top of the range Alcatel OT-... moreivan<

oh i forgot, do u know how much would ots988 and ot800 costs for now? ty

  • keenen

Knight Rider, 25 May 2009Yes Nelson, indeed this is the top of the range Alcatel OT-... morehi ivan,

well its good to know that alcatel is there to make this improvements, by seeing at the specs of ots988, i guess its a nice pick... i love wifi u know, hehehe, ive been longing for wifi, coz my brother has the 5800, and it works well, thoguh i havent tried it with my hands coz he is far, waaaa... how about ot800, may i know where to find it?

  • keenen

UnpredictivE, 29 May 2009Hey, hey..who said s853 cant read or supports .wav files?..... morewell good to know u have .wav files on ur fone...coz i dont have them in mine. hehehe.. its not that i didnt tried it, but my fone just cant read it... thoguh i got this problem that my fone will not read the memory card most of the time, yes it is, but still id say its worth my money bthe time i bought this. may i know what u did to s853 that makes it read .wav files???

nelson:

my friend, the memory im using is good, its the fone that doesnt read it most of the time... the technician told me that they will fix it, saying it needed upgrade waaaa... well, havent tried it yet, but i will this month... goodluck guys

  • UnpredictivE

keenen, 11 Jun 2009im using this phone and until now, i got no settings for GL... moreWhy cant you play tribalwars with globe???...maybe your om is only for smart..or can you browse websites using globe??

  • keenen

im using this phone and until now, i got no settings for GLOBE... though i have tried SMART and it has the settings... im also using opera mini ver 4.0 for this model and i can play tribalwars on it but, only using the SMART one, not GLOBE... although some alcatel phones got GLOBE settings, but unfortunately, not for s853...

  • UnpredictivE

spiTFire, 07 Jun 2009hi UnpredictivE.. pls help me how to setup my phone to... more..there are so many java web browser to choose from.. Just make sure its a modded(has been modify) one..just ask mr. Google..hahaha..i use my internet every day..using opera mini..ucweb and sometimes bolt.. And hey may i know your age??..this is to every one specially to nelson and knight.. I think im your baby here.haha..im just 17 years old.. Ü.. I hope you reply..

  • UnpredictivE

spiTFire, 07 Jun 2009hi UnpredictivE.. pls help me how to setup my phone to... moreAh-huh..ahmmm.. Yes, nelson is right..but at the same time wrong..haha..peace.. Im a globe user..if youll ask globe for an internet settings theyll just give you dust..why? Because globe inet,connect or whatsoever internet setting does not support alcatel phones.. Huhu..why do we have gprs profiles in our phone? because it is been preloaded by someone who works for alcatel ..how can we access internet through ot-s853? Set it our selves..or sometimes it is already set.. How to browse the net?. Well we cant browse external links or sites from openwave..we can only access yahoo and globe sites.. How to browse other sites? Use opera mini or use ubt/fbt on openwave (@ trick is no good for ot-s853).. Opera mini 3?? Thats too old! ! Use om 4.2 or higher just make sure its a java application and a MODDED version..not the original.. Im using om 4.2 mod.. I hope you thank me for this..hahaha..joke

  • Nelson

spiTFire, 07 Jun 2009hi UnpredictivE.. pls help me how to setup my phone to... moreI want to post my answer here so everybody will know. Sending this post to your email will just inform you
alone and other users and possible users will not be accomodated.

If your unit is not preloaded with the necessary SMART/GLOBE GPRS/MMS settings, just do the following:

SMART/GLOBE GPRS Settings:

1. Press OK button then press WAP icon.
2. Choose or select Profiles
3. Highlight SmartGPRS (for SMART) or myGlobe GPRS (for Globe) and press Options
4. Choose Modify then enter the following:

SmartGPRS

Profile Name => SmartGPRS
Homepage => http://wap.smart.com.ph
IP Address => 010.102.061.046
Profile Type => Wap normal
Bearer Choice => GPRS-EDGE then press Confirm


myGlobe GPRS

Profile Name => myGlobe GPRS
Homepage => http://www.myglobe.com.ph/globe.wmlc
IP Address => 203.177.042.214
Profile Type => Wap normal
Bearer Choice => GPRS-EDGE then press Confirm

Do this also:

1. Press OK then choose My Settings and choose More Settings
2. Choose WAP/GPRS-EDGE then choose:

WAP Access => Profile access
Acces modem => Blank (no data)
GPRS-EDGE attachment => connection

Then, if you are SMART subscriber, be sure you have load credits then just type GPRS ON and send it 3401 then type MMS ON and send it
to 3401. You will receive a reply from smart saying that the service you have requested has been activated. Turn off your phone then
turn it on again. You can now browse the internet with OT S853.

I am a SMART subscriber so I am not so familiar with GLOBE's GPRS. But this is what I've learned from GLOBE
subscribers. To activate GLOBE's GPRS, be sure you have load credits and your phone is already loaded with
GLOBE's GPRS/MMS necessary settings. Then, just send MMS for only 5 pesos then your GPRS/MMS is activated.
It is much better if you take your unit to GLOBE's customer service center and tell them that your phone is already
loaded with the necessary GPRS/MMS settings and that only their go signal command to activate the GPRS is lacking like
GPRS ON send to 3401 for smart. GLOBE does not provide this command.

The best opera mini version for this model is version 3.1.

  • spiTFire

UnpredictivE, 29 May 2009Hey, hey..who said s853 cant read or supports .wav files?..... morehi UnpredictivE..


pls help me how to setup my phone to its ip, gateway etc.. i wanted to try use opera mini to my phone ot-s853 but i don't know the setting for globe or smart sim im using and what version of opera mini does the phone support..pls teach me if you have time..

pls email me at ian_aps@yahoo.com

thanks a lot...

  • spiTFire

UnpredictivE, 31 May 2009Yeah yeah..im using 1gb too..i got all kinds of multimedia ... morehi to all...

just want to ask about the setting for globe and smart because i couldn't connect to the internet..pls, i want to know how to configure the setting of this fon coz i want to use internet to it..

what version of opera mini could this for support...


thanks..

pls email to me your answer ian_aps@yahoo.com

:P

  • UnpredictivE

Hey..does anybody know what OS/Operating System Alcatel specifically ot-s853 uses??.........

  • UnpredictivE

Im using opera mini to post my very long comments. . Ü