Asus ROG Phone 8 Pro
MORE PICTURES

Asus ROG Phone 8 Pro

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

DarlingYext, 09 Jan 2024Yap this comparison shows exactly why the Red Magic 9 Pro i... moreThe Red Magic 9 Pro does only have a cruddy 2MP macro camera while the ROG phone has a telephoto camera, but I wouldn't say it's all worse. I mean the ROG phone only supports 8k24 while the Red Magic supports 8k30. Plus the ultrawide camera might be a bit worse on the ROG phone. Main cameras look similar. Though idk what any of the sensors being used are so I could be wrong on those last two bits.

    DarlingYext, 09 Jan 2024Yap this comparison shows exactly why the Red Magic 9 Pro i... moreEdit: Rog Phone 8 (Pro), not 9 (Pro). Sorry.

      Not Again, 09 Jan 2024My bad this is the comparison for the ROG PHONE 8 PRO post ... moreYap this comparison shows exactly why the Red Magic 9 Pro is better, except when it comes to cameras, which are less important on a gaming phone, and they aren't the best at this price point.

      Rog Phone 9 (Pro) are just overpriced regular flagship phones with a gamer phone design on the back. Worst of both worlds.

      "Red Magic 9 Pro no IP protection but hey does it even matter"

      It doesn't matter, it's a gaming phone, there are plenty of flagships out there with the same chipset, or the last gen flagship chipset, that have an IP rating, cost around the same, or less, but have better features and cameras, like the S23 series, most particularly the Ultra, the newest Find X7 Ultra, vivo X100, X100 Pro(but with MTK), Xiaomi 14 series, upcoming S24 series, vivo X100 Pro+, so on.

      "On India ALL phone companies do this simple thing called a survey and act on the result"

      Oh and that makes it okay to give them worse specs for the same money, or most likely for even more money? Nice thinking, but I don't think so.

      "BTW my nickname is to your comments NOT AGAIN!"

      Don't worry @I Just Read, I got that the first time I saw your comment, but you still haven't got that you aren't the one deciding that, and will never be. Get lost, stalker.

        • N
        • Not Again
        • miA
        • 09 Jan 2024

        DarlingYext, 09 Jan 2024At this price point the Red Magic 9 Pro with a much bigger ... moreMy bad this is the comparison for the ROG PHONE 8 PRO post
        https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=12746&idPhone2=12709&idPhone3=12752

        BTW my nickname is to your comments NOT AGAIN!

          • N
          • Not Again
          • miA
          • 09 Jan 2024

          DarlingYext, 09 Jan 2024At this price point the Red Magic 9 Pro with a much bigger ... moreAt this price point the Red Magic 9 Pro with a much bigger battery and uninterrupted screen is easily the better choice, or even the Red Magic 9 Pro+ with the same sized battery as this, but much faster charging. If the cameras are that important for someone, and the hole-punch isn't in the way either, Find X7 (Ultra), S23/S24 Ultra are/will be the better choices. What was Asus thinking? Sure, Rog Phones have always been expensive, but this is nothing unique anymore.

          Downgraded 30W charging just for India isn't a good look either."

          Again your comments show that your post is devoid of anything called a thought process. I don't know if you are really stupid or just faking stupid
          This is misinformation deliberate, if not the above

          On India ALL phone companies do this simple thing called a survey and act on the result
          NOT ARBITRARY O.K

          Red Magic 9 Pro no IP protection but hey does it even matter
          Ram

          What was Asus thinking? Right back at you your TWO modes standby and off

          https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=12746&idPhone3=12380&idPhone2=12780 You clearly did not want your suggestion viewed so
          If you knew how to use the comparison tool you would have done so. ( In the review alternatives suggested

          Stick to crib mobiles master that first.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • kDk
            • 09 Jan 2024

            Hopefully it will be priced competitively. Since there is no expandable memory, the 1TB model would be the only one I am interested in. Would compete with the Red Magic 9 Pro+

            Hopefully will have bands for 5G in the United States. Custom rom support and good prices and I might get it instead of the Red Magic 9 Pro+. Right now, that phone has a more standard cornered display with no hole punch in the display, so it wins in terms of design for me. However, people like me would definitely just buy this phone outright instead of the Red Magic Pro 9+ if it had micro sd card support. I don't need the fastest storage in the world to put my photos, videos, and music. Especially if this thing has 8K recording.

              • V
              • VeoTK
              • bJb
              • 09 Jan 2024

              im own a rog 5, Asus support thier phone OS update 2 year , OS update like never happen, you have to wait like 4/5 month..... then rog 8?! when will optimize old model? worst os service

                kind of expensive lmao, red magic looks better and is cheaper.

                again with asus "rog" and their overrated expensive gamery gimmicks..

                  Let's see, the Indian model is rated at 30w, why? Can any Indian person here explain what's going on with that? I think India is the largest market for the Asus rog phone!! Why this despair? And guess what, that version comes without the charger in the box?

                    DarlingYext, 09 Jan 2024At this price point the Red Magic 9 Pro with a much bigger ... moreWhat the hell, didn't know the Indian model is limited to a slow 30 watts

                      • T
                      • Truth
                      • BP}
                      • 09 Jan 2024

                      DarlingYext, 09 Jan 2024At this price point the Red Magic 9 Pro with a much bigger ... moreAfter a careful and thoughtful reading of the various latest generation devices released on the market and after a pragmatic consideration of all aspects and above all the gaming side, BUT above all;

                      - Emulation (PPSSPP-AetherSX2/NetherSX2-Vita3K-Citra-Dolphin-Yuzu-etc.)

                      and lateral;

                      - Processor temperature (because on smartphones it is useless to have giga and giga Hertz, when the latter go into thermal trotthling after less than 5 minutes of serious gaming in RETRO-Emulation!!!!)

                      My personal final choice of this generation of third-generation SnapDragon falls on the following device:

                      - RedMagic 9 Pro.

                      The model purchased will be the 12GB-256GB, more than excellent and sufficient to easily carry out all normal routine operations, but with particular attention to the aspects I am looking for;

                      - Autonomy,
                      - Long-term ability to handle overheating,
                      - DTS Plus 32-bit audio (I listen to a lot of music, and DTS technology is fantastic)
                      - Lightweight interface
                      - General design very close to the ZTE Z60 Ultra (another device that I was following and reading), in practice it is a "Z60", but without the camera compartment of the latter, significantly more harmonious in shape (no strange protrusions) and aimed at (Back )gaming.

                      In practice, a beautiful, robust, long-lasting device that does not miss anything even in terms of the latest technological advances.

                      Then the price;

                      HALF of this disgusting thing called "Rog".

                      At Asus, thieves exist.

                      Because that's what many "companies" operating in the technology field are.

                      Especially in recent years;

                      - Thieves and Deceivers/Poisoners of the masses.

                        1200 for that? Asus has lost their mind.

                          • T
                          • Tandy
                          • JKM
                          • 09 Jan 2024

                          Is it possible that a € 1,200+ phone does not have eSIM?

                            At this price point the Red Magic 9 Pro with a much bigger battery and uninterrupted screen is easily the better choice, or even the Red Magic 9 Pro+ with the same sized battery as this, but much faster charging. If the cameras are that important for someone, and the hole-punch isn't in the way either, Find X7 (Ultra), S23/S24 Ultra are/will be the better choices. What was Asus thinking? Sure, Rog Phones have always been expensive, but this is nothing unique anymore.

                            Downgraded 30W charging just for India isn't a good look either.

                              Now he looks like just another one of the bunch with that ugly hole up there....

                                It's nice to see upgraded tripple camera setup finally, but, i don't like this weaker battery. Why ASUS thought, it will be better to put smaller battery, instead of a little bigger? It's gaming phone, not some sh!tty 24/7 charging device!

                                  • r
                                  • russel
                                  • 0p}
                                  • 09 Jan 2024

                                  a punch hole on a gaming phone? asus has lost they mind :)

                                    • l
                                    • lord5
                                    • L1D
                                    • 09 Jan 2024

                                    No HDR10+ No Dolby Vision the most important features.

                                      Jesus Christ this thing sucks. It's not a good gaming phone nor is it remotely worth it at that absurd price.

                                        Nick gerr, 20 Dec 2023No rog vision on the Pro/Ultimate version? It technically does have it, but it's behind the rear panel of the phone, and now it's Mini-LED, instead of OLED.