Google Pixel 5a 5G
MORE PICTURES

Google Pixel 5a 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • E
  • Eres7
  • XWQ
  • 6 hours ago

Why this phone more expensive than pixel 6a? Any logical explanation? 😂

    • A
    • Altair
    • X$7
    • 26 Jan 2023

    Should i buy this phone in 2023?
    cant decide which should i pick. Pixel 4XL / 4a / 4a 5g / 5a / Please suggest. Need your valuable advice.

      • p
      • pcwifi
      • 843
      • 26 Jan 2023

      Google Pixel 5a 5G not support recording 4K/60fps video !!! Because using CPU SD765G dont support this...

        Well, a heads up this will be a long rant. Had this phone for more than a year now, tried to make this my main phone, still can't get used.

        People switch for Google's ‘clean’ Android experience, but after trying to use this phone, and then trying again and again, I just don't get it, it's so annoyingly bad. I will give some examples, maybe I am dumb and it's just me, but I could go on with these.

        My personal number one issue, Google has through some strange brainstorming process decided not to allow photo app in quick launch from the lock screen. This is my favorite way to launch camera on Samsung, especially when busy, it's easy access when jogging or driving, but google thinks I don't need it. First I thought this can't be, it's probably hidden in settings, but no, this is intentional from Google. Samsung allows this, everyone allows this, but not Google. For Google, it’s either Google Wallet or nothing when it comes to lock screen apps. That alone should be a reason to steer clear from Google’s ‘clean’ Android, but let’s explore more.

        What's next? The layout... Home screen. Expected this to feel a lot smoother on Google’s native Android, going from Samsung's bloatware, but well, surprise surprise, Google is even more stuck here. Super annoyingly, home screen is reduced by a about a third in usable space since Google in some 'clever' group-think process decided to put non-removable search widget at the bottom, and another supposedly AI or whatever widget on top, which just displays weather. You can’t get rid of either. Again, what, why?

        Going further, the settings layout. Just something out of the top, wifi and mobile data settings are jumbled up into an icon called “internet”. Great? Well, no! This means everytime I want to enable/disable wifi, I need to click twice - every single freaking time. Even ‘better’, you can’t access any basic settings from there like data usage, despite clicking twice just to see wifi networks. There is no long press option or anything. To get mobile data settings, you need to go through the full expansive settings menu, swipe down from top, swipe down from top again to expand settings, find that tiny settings icon on the bottom and go to phone settings. Do this everytime, for basic things like disable roaming when traveling. Honestly I wouldn't be surprised if some people choose to run roaming bills because it’s so just so frustrating to reach these settings.

        Then issues with wifi... Was very surprised when I couldn’t connect to office Wi-Fi with this Pixel. Well it turns out, it’s also not an accident, Google installed new certificate domain requirements that affect only Pixel phones so I can't connect to office Wifi, tech guys at a pretty large company don't know how to set it up. All other phones work fine, security is just fine, but not with Google which rolled standards on their own phones expecting to force the whole industry along, only to find out most tech support just ignores Pixels and advises to change phone, since it works for everyone else.

        Now, Pixel 5a is getting old, I could get a newer Pixel, but I think it’s a deeper issue, it’s the philosophy underpinning Google, how they design their phones. None of these will change unless philoshophy changes. This whole ‘clean’ Android experience was the main reason I bought this phone, but turns out it's is a myth. Sadly. And Google force pushes their own apps in a much more blunt way than Samsung does. If you did read up to this, feel free to advise what I am doing wrong, because I just don't get the Pixel phones and why people love them.

          • E
          • Eres7
          • XWQ
          • 07 Jan 2023

          How's the speaker bass quality compared to pixel 3 guys?

            • S
            • Seifou
            • CDA
            • 21 Dec 2022

            Anonymous, 20 Dec 2022Imagine putting LOS on it :)You just made a beast

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • m}B
              • 20 Dec 2022

              Milko Georgiev, 20 Dec 2022I bought this phone to check what is going on with Google p... moreImagine putting LOS on it :)

                I bought this phone to check what is going on with Google phones these days. My current phone is Asus Zenfone 8 and I can say that the software from Asus is a much better version of the stock - clean and in the same time very useful, full of shortcuts. I would not buy a Pixel phone to be my main device. I will not even comment the weak hardware of the Pixel.

                  • R
                  • Rob J
                  • 4H@
                  • 03 Dec 2022

                  MB, 25 Nov 2022Total malarky. I dont know what your doing but you are 200... moreWas it bought from the Google store? There are lots of people that have a Pixel 5a they bought from Google store are not permitted on Verizon.

                    • M
                    • Mbgoog1
                    • IJJ
                    • 25 Nov 2022

                    Rob J, 19 Nov 2022NO Verizon Service!!!!! Seems that Google does not send in... moreFunny, ive had my unlocked 5a5g from google on verizon for a year. Verizon mvno too.

                    Oh, it has cdma too......try looking at specs

                      • M
                      • MB
                      • IJJ
                      • 25 Nov 2022

                      Rob J, 19 Nov 2022NO Verizon Service!!!!! Seems that Google does not send in... moreTotal malarky. I dont know what your doing but you are 200% wrong.

                      First.....it has cdma. Look at specs.

                      Second....ive had unlocked ftim google on verizon and Verizon's mvno for over a year

                      Get a new sim card. Problems always start with fools trying to reuse sim cards

                        • R
                        • Rob J
                        • 4H@
                        • 19 Nov 2022

                        NO Verizon Service!!!!!
                        Seems that Google does not send info to Verizon that this CMDA-less will work on the Verizon network. Thus despite being "unlocked", Verizon will not accept Pixel 5a on their network if 5a bought from Google store or Fi. I read that possible to get Verizon support to allow an exception, But I tried for 2 hours talking to 5 different support techs, not possible.

                          • R
                          • Rob J
                          • 4H@
                          • 17 Nov 2022

                          T4techdroid, 16 Nov 2022Pixel 6a is really better than 5a , you would get more 5g b... moreThe camera is the SAME 5a vs 6a, a very good camera. I agree the 6a has better bands and processor, however, battery life is less than 5a despite the 6a smaller display (due smaller battery in 6a or Tensor CPU in 6a).

                          The GSMarena review on 6a comments:
                          "Pixel 6a went with Google's ol' reliable: the Sony IMX363 and IMX386 for the main and ultrawide cameras, respectively. This is the same main camera sensor that Google's been using since the Pixel 2"

                            • T
                            • T4techdroid
                            • sSM
                            • 16 Nov 2022

                            Pixel 6a is really better than 5a , you would get more 5g bands , better camera , flagship tensor chipset. Premium looks like the 6 and pro . Good oled panel clocked at 60hz.Pixel 7a will be best ever camera performance too

                              Mr. X, 01 Oct 2022I guess your phone’s problem is related with setting.I've checked every possible settings and I can't find anything, I'm just starting to think it software done intentionally by Google.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • CxX
                                • 06 Oct 2022

                                David, 04 Oct 2022About to buy this phone at just under 300$. But unsure if ... moreWith the price you are asking for, it's a tough ask. In term of updates, Google devices will be the best.

                                Headphone jack, there aren't too many manufacturers that offer that anymore, except Sony. There is the Sony Xperia 10 IV. It has similar midrange spec to the Pixel 5a and Samsung A53. Compared to Pixel 5a, has slightly bigger battery, telephoto camera, microsd, possibly nicer display, but no 4k video recording. Don't know about their update frequency, probably not as good as Samsung and Google.

                                  • D
                                  • David
                                  • fnR
                                  • 04 Oct 2022

                                  About to buy this phone at just under 300$. But unsure if there's anything else out there better overall from battery wise to camera, headphone jack and Android updates. Is there anything else better or should i buy it??

                                    • M
                                    • Mr. X
                                    • Q9N
                                    • 01 Oct 2022

                                    AshawoNumber1, 16 Sep 2022My stereo speakers doesn't work with most apps, most n... moreI guess your phone’s problem is related with setting.

                                      My stereo speakers doesn't work with most apps, most notably being the phone app.... Music does work but receiving calls doesn't same on WhatsApp calling..... Anyone else noticed same on their device ??

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • NkW
                                        • 29 Aug 2022

                                        Anonymous, 13 Aug 2022@Lam - 5a hands down. samsung has been going sub-standard l... morebro have you heard of warranties??????