Google Pixel 6a
MORE PICTURES

Google Pixel 6a

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • V
  • Vango
  • vbA
  • 17 May 2022

I'm just very disappointed with this one. Compare this with the 5a and it's literally just
1. New design
2. Tensor chip
3. New ultrawide
4. Under display scanner
As the upgrades. The in display scanner is terrible on the 6 and 6 Pro so that actually is a downgrade. Same with battery life, they made it smaller and put in a much more power hungry chip, while the 5a had such good battery life. Headphone jack changer is gone too, and still no reduction in price.

It's such a miniscule upgrade - they could've given 8gb Ram, 30W charging, 90Hz screen, a big battery, better front camera. But nope. They just made the new design, put in the tensor and called it a day. Kept the same price too, at least if it was cheaper there would be more reason to get it.

I really hope the Pixel 7a is more of an upgrade and I'll get it - I like this one but just won't be able go justify the missing features for the price.

    • M
    • Maverick
    • uvE
    • 17 May 2022

    60 hz , 7 year old camera sensor, no 3.5mm , all this I can still digest, but the phone should atleast look good ..... Pixel 6 was criticised for huge bezels......well this one has even BIGGER bezels......not to mention the very uncomfortable 8.9mm thickness.......The design just lost Google a great opportunity!!

      sk, 14 May 2022Im feeling the same. Is the 60hz good enough in long termyeah like if you haven't experienced high refresh rate before, it's not as important for long term as battery life and performance.

        Hello Moto, 16 May 2022This phone is a solid mid-ranger with flagship performance,... moreBut it's all good when Apple gives that 12mp camera on their expensive phones? Good when Apple gives half sized tiny battery in the same? Have some shame

          Just Gorilla Glass 3 and no way to get rid of notch/punch hole. Thanks, bye.

            Anonymous, 15 May 2022You mean photo performance, because google pixels are CERTA... morePixel 6 Pro literally has a higher video rating than the S22U on dxomark.

              This phone is a solid mid-ranger with flagship performance, and excellent RAM/ROM, but Google fell behind when it comes to camera, battery, and display. The 12MP camera just can't keep up with today's phones. The battery is bad (pixels are known for sub-par battery life), and the 60hz refresh rate is simply unacceptable. Even the sub-200 dollar Moto G Power has a 90hz display and a better battery.

                • U
                • Ugh
                • x3a
                • 16 May 2022

                What a letdown in specs. I was waiting this one but sacrifices too much for being nearly the same price as the regular 6. This phone looks more like a money grab than a good budget phone.

                  • C
                  • Cannolus
                  • pV}
                  • 16 May 2022

                  the product itself is interesting but they should have dared more. The "a" line should be value for money, so not just a small and/or neutered version like this one, but optimized to offer the best experience for the price.
                  First of all, I would have used a less energy-intensive SOC, like a Tensor based on the Exy 1080 and not on 2100, giving up an X1 core in favor of more autonomy on a phone with a smaller battery; then I would have considered the 90Hz option and reintroduced the 3.5 jack, considering the advertising campaign of the 5a on the audio jack, it would have made sense and continuity; finally, I would not have used the main camera of the 5a, valid but now outdated, for something more modern, or I would have kept the 50Mp of the pixel 6 for economies of scale and because, being already in use, all the algorithms are already present.
                  So it seems like a half-done job.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • Tnk
                    • 16 May 2022

                    Tigolebitties, 15 May 2022The way everyone is highlighting the 60hz display but not t... more>Overall, it's a perfect all-rounder for everyone except those who play Genshin
                    Perfectly summarized.
                    I'll buy this day 1.
                    All you weebs go buy your cringy 144 hz weeb phones.

                      joe nodden, 16 May 2022I think I might've rather seen the 778G in this than t... moreIf they did a 90hz display you probably still would've exploded lul

                      Yeah I get that it is 2022 and the phone is $449 and it would've been better to use HRR - it's just funny to see people explode when the non-Pro iPhones still don't have high refresh rate screens either (at least not yet), and they're $800.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • nS%
                        • 16 May 2022

                        A 60 hertz display in 2022?! Come on Google.

                          • G
                          • G
                          • qce
                          • 16 May 2022

                          joe nodden, 16 May 2022I think I might've rather seen the 778G in this than t... moreThat is kinda whack. The 350$ galaxy a53 has a 120 hz screen

                            joe nodden, 16 May 2022I think I might've rather seen the 778G in this than t... moreif only the pixel 6 had a 120hz display, this might of had the chance to get a 90 hz refresh rate. also considering pixel 6's battery life wasn't that good... oh well just get a s21/s20 fe or a a52s

                              Anonymous, 15 May 2022You mean photo performance, because google pixels are CERTA... moreIt's a mid range. The least I would expect is for it to surpass the A series, iPhone SE and the other mid range competitors

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • Xah
                                • 16 May 2022

                                Man, I prefer a52s hardware wise. If only Samsung had computational photography, Google's saving grace.

                                  I think I might've rather seen the 778G in this than the Tensor SoC.

                                  And I absolutely hate the 778G.

                                  Edit: WAIT WAIT WAIT. THIS PIECE OF TRASH HAS A 60HZ DISPLAY!?!?! They had the AUDACITY to charge FOUR HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS for GARBAGE with a SIXTY HERTZ DISPLAY? Every now and then I see a phone that disappoints me beyond compare, and this is one of those.

                                    This is the best A I ever seen because it's flagship

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • xCC
                                      • 15 May 2022

                                      Tigolebitties, 15 May 2022In exchange for the best camera setups for a mid-range, the... moreYou mean photo performance, because google pixels are CERTAINLY not as good video compared to Samsung and especially Apple

                                        The way everyone is highlighting the 60hz display but not the other stuff... Talk abt something that has to be sacrificed in exchange for that close-to-flagship camera performance, Tensor chip and flagship-like design. Overall, it's a perfect all-rounder for everyone except those who play Genshin. Poco F3/F4GT is still the best option for the price