Huawei Mate Xs 2
MORE PICTURES

Huawei Mate Xs 2

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Darknoor, 01 Jun 2022I just didn't and still don't find typing anythin... moreYou did not respond because you could not come up with a response.

    joe nodden, 01 Jun 2022You know people can see who posted each reaction. A mad fac... moreI just didn't and still don't find typing anything for a brick is worth the time and effort, but sure let others know why I saved my time by ignoring your very bias and opinions.

    Maybe I will save someone else's time too by letting them know to just ignore you if they encountered you :)

      Darknoor, 30 May 2022MTK is getting there rapidly but they are still not above S... moreYou know people can see who posted each reaction. A mad face emoji with zero reply doesn't make for a very mature looking response.

        Darknoor, 30 May 2022MTK is getting there rapidly but they are still not above S... moreIf Mediatek wanted to be scummy and aim for impractical peak performance while sacrificing thermals and battery life just like Qualcomm, they could easily do it.

          joe nodden, 26 May 2022My God are unable to read? "I mean it probably would&#... moreMTK is getting there rapidly but they are still not above SD.
          SD can still push forward and keep the gap big, if their upcoming chips fix their previous flaws.
          But probs to MtK, I never liked them (for obvious reasons) but truth to be told they earned my respect for their hard work.

            • C
            • Calta
            • XBJ
            • 29 May 2022

            I've never owned or even use a Huawei flagship before but after watching and reading a lot of reviews on them since 2018, I have two wishes. Firstly, I wish the Kirin processor could be brought back. Imagine if the Kirin processor had a 2022 upgrade... It'd outperform every smartphone processor in the market
            Secondly, I wish to own a Huawei flagship smartphone.

              Livius, 25 May 2022Kirin 9000 is much better than 888 will ever be. Have you r... moreMy God are unable to read? "I mean it probably would've been a more practical choice than the 888 but that doesn't mean it's a good choice."

              I'm saying both suck. Dimensity chips are better.

                Anonymous, 28 Apr 2022You still didn't learned after 3 years that Huawei wil... moreno

                and that sucks !

                  joe nodden, 09 May 2022Too slow imo and idk what the thermals are like. I mean it ... moreKirin 9000 is much better than 888 will ever be. Have you recorded 4K with 888 ? Not to mention 8 Gen 1 ? After 5 minutes, you will have the impression that the phone is going to explode. I've used Kirin 990 and 9000 and they were very good compared to what fails Snapdragon keeps coming up with for the past 2 generations.

                    • r
                    • rocky
                    • Iv}
                    • 25 May 2022

                    first of all, Huawei is a very good brand of phone. the bad is that since trump banned this Chinese phone, it can no longer support nor have any app that comes from the google play store to include the google play itself. in defiance of this, Huawei has came out with it's own operating system that does not rely on any google play store app. so, if you have or like any apps that came from the google play store, you will surely miss them.

                      • A
                      • Anon
                      • Fv1
                      • 23 May 2022

                      Anybody else think its a bad idea having most the surface area being a screen? seems impossible to hold without leaving finger smears all over the back screen if you got moist hands and if the device is dropped or just put on a rough surface then marks and scratches will be all over the display.

                        • A
                        • Anonymous
                        • MFG
                        • 20 May 2022

                        WheeleR, 19 May 20222022, April 28 - and no 4k 60 fps even not 8k for a 2000 eu... moreSo lets say you recorded 4k or 8k what makes you think you will display it on its native resolution? How first of all? Most probably you will encode it to the codecs your tv support and most probably you will watch a youtube version of your video. Its 2022 and people buy 8k televisions to view their content on 1080p and think that their tv outputs 4k or 8k from wifi or from USB. And on top MTJ thinks its an important feature. Go figure

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • yJt
                          • 19 May 2022

                          What is the use of this phone outside China? Huawei is a zombie brand.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • gDf
                            • 19 May 2022

                            Anonymous, 18 May 2022Does mate x2s got 4600mah and 4880mah battery? Or only 4600mah?512GB variant hast 4880mah battery, rest has 4600mah.

                              • W
                              • WheeleR
                              • mtj
                              • 19 May 2022

                              2022, April 28 - and no 4k 60 fps even not 8k for a 2000 euro phone (*mindblow*)

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • XWH
                                • 18 May 2022

                                Does mate x2s got 4600mah and 4880mah battery? Or only 4600mah?

                                  • K
                                  • Kev
                                  • CcS
                                  • 13 May 2022

                                  joe nodden, 11 May 2022When I mention the thermals I'm not concerned about st... moreYeah. You're right about that. I'm unsure what the critical temperature of the Kirin 9000 is, but the Kirin 980 inside the P30 Pro quits at about 55 degrees Celcius. (Per the temperature monitor in Antutu) And regarding how hot the phone actually is, it's just on the cusp of manageable. It's quite hot to the touch, but not burning. Your hands will get used to the heat, but touch cold skin and it'll burn. It's hot, of course. But it isn't nearly as hot as the SD888s or Exynos chips. (Hot spots are the screen and top rail. The rest of the phone was curiously quite lukewarm.)

                                  Regarding the Kirin 9000 itself, Technick did various tests of the P50 Pro he had. During a battery test, he started recording video on all phones, and all the phones started heating up. However, the P50 Pro and Mi 11 Ultra started totally burning, cooking along at 62 degrees. And more surprisingly, after he moved over to benchmarks, the P50 Pro and iPhone all cooled down, but the SD888s all stayed at a very high temperature or started increasing in temperature even more. (Both the Mix 4 and Mi 11 Ultra quit at that time, due to the incredibly high temperatures of the sustained benchmarks. The Ultra packs a normal 888 while the Mix uses an 888+)


                                  Long story short, the Kirin 9000 admittedly does heat up quite significantly. The recording video seems to be the Achilles heel, while it is a bit better at benchmarks.

                                    Kev, 10 May 2022Peak performance is sustainable on the Kirin 9000 more or l... moreWhen I mention the thermals I'm not concerned about stability so much as I am about burning your hands. Oh and even if I was, you seem to be under the assumption that the Kirin 9000 has the same level of stability as the Kirin 980. They're different architectures, even if the way throttling is handled is the same, the stability may not be the same. If they've done anything like Samsung, they may let the chip get hotter in order to increase peak performance, which would result in the throttling period you mentioned being longer. (If that's even how they handle the throttling, I mean I'm going off what you said here)

                                    In addition to burning your hands, the chip can get damaged from running at high temps for too long. That's why older LG phones had that bootlooping issue. I think they got so hot that they undid some of their own soldering. So the peak temp is important here.

                                      • K
                                      • Kev
                                      • 0Za
                                      • 10 May 2022

                                      joe nodden, 09 May 2022Too slow imo and idk what the thermals are like. I mean it ... morePeak performance is sustainable on the Kirin 9000 more or less indefinitely. It throttles in a way similar to all Huawei flagships, with jumps down to 50% for a minute before heading back up to 100%. After 8 loops, it had cooled enough that it could sustain 100% for a longer period. The chip seems to be monitoring itself as the heat rises and starting the cooling protocol as soon as the temperature is too high. And as soon as it has done the throttling, it's cooled down enough that it can run for longer. My P30 Pro, for example, didn't start throttle-looping until 45 minutes, and only needed 3 dips to 75% before running smoothly again. The Mate 40 Pro seems to need the cooling faster, as it started at only 20 minutes and dipped 8 times before resuming full power.

                                      However, the P50 Pro with the SD888 seems to struggle more. GSMArena never mentioned WHEN the P50 Pro started the throttling cycle. But they said that when it DID, the performance dropped to 30%, much more severe than my Kirin 980 and the Kirin 9000. Long story short, the Kirin 9000 simply runs cooler and throttles less aggressively than the SD888, when Huawei's thermal management software is concerned. It also does seem that despite the better thermal management, it isn't TOO far behind. The Kirin 9000 peaks at 230k to 240k, while the SD888 edges out at 240 to 270k. Meanwhile, The GPU is the same story, according to Nano review; The SD888 is just slightly ahead by maybe 5-10%.

                                      They're both great chips, make no mistake. But honestly, the Kirin 9000 makes more sense to me. While the Kirin 9000 is less powerful, being able to sustain performance with fewer throttling penalties is nice. The SD888, while being more powerful, simply gets too hot to take advantage of the extra grunt over longer periods.

                                        Kev, 02 May 2022Would you have preferred a Kirin 9000? Just curious, given ... moreToo slow imo and idk what the thermals are like. I mean it probably would've been a more practical choice than the 888 but that doesn't mean it's a good choice.