Huawei P Smart 2019 review

GSMArena team, 25 January 2019.

6.21 inches of color accuracy, so-so brightness

The P Smart 2019 is equipped with a 6.21-inch IPS display with a dewdrop notch in the middle. It's got a tall aspect ratio of 19.5:9 and a 2340x1080px resolution for a pixel density of 415ppi - pretty standard numbers these days.

Huawei P Smart 2019 review

In our testing, the P Smart posted average results for brightness and contrast. There's no boost in auto mode, and the 430-something nits you can get in manual is the ceiling in auto as well. You can get more nits from some of the competition and the one phone in this bunch that does crank up the brightness in its auto mode, the Galaxy A7 (2018), is actually the brightest.

Display test 100% brightness
Black, cd/m2 White, cd/m2 Contrast ratio
Huawei P Smart 0.356 531 1492
Huawei P Smart 2019 0.325 437 1345
Huawei P20 Lite 0.27 482 1785
Huawei Mate 20 Lite 0.313 460 1470
Huawei Honor 10 Lite 0.344 441 1282
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) 0 402
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) (Max Auto) 0 602
Honor 8X 0.346 427 1234
Huawei Honor 10 Lite 0.344 441 1282
Oppo F9 0.29 526 1814
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 0.322 468 1453
Nokia 7 plus 0.254 432 1701
Oppo Realme 2 Pro 0.306 537 1755
Xiaomi Redmi Note 6 Pro 0.314 481 1532
vivo V11 0 418

Under direct light, the P Smart 2019 fares decently and produces an average contrast score for its class. It's a noticeable improvement over the old model and it's also superior to the Honor 10 Lite, but the OLED displays of the Galaxy A7 (2018) and the vivo V11 will remain more easily legible out in the sun.

Sunlight contrast ratio

  • Apple iPhone XS
    5.171
  • Apple iPhone X
    5.013
  • Huawei Mate 20 Pro
    4.965
  • OnePlus 5T
    4.789
  • Samsung Galaxy S8
    4.768
  • Asus ROG Phone
    4.765
  • Samsung Galaxy S8+
    4.658
  • Samsung Galaxy S9
    4.63
  • Samsung Galaxy S6 edge+
    4.615
  • Samsung Galaxy S9+
    4.537
  • Samsung Galaxy Note9
    4.531
  • Apple iPhone XS Max
    4.516
  • Sony Xperia XZ3
    4.502
  • Motorola Moto Z2 Play
    4.459
  • Oppo R11
    4.454
  • Samsung Galaxy S7 edge
    4.439
  • Oppo RX17 Pro
    4.434
  • OnePlus 3
    4.424
  • Samsung Galaxy S7
    4.376
  • Google Pixel 3
    4.35
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018)
    4.324
  • OnePlus 6
    4.321
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix 3
    4.291
  • vivo NEX Dual Display (second display)
    4.289
  • HTC One A9
    4.274
  • LG V40 ThinQ
    4.256
  • Oppo R15 Pro
    4.251
  • Samsung Galaxy Note7
    4.247
  • Samsung Galaxy A3
    4.241
  • Nokia 8
    4.239
  • Google Pixel 2 XL (pre-update)
    4.234
  • OnePlus 3T
    4.232
  • Samsung Galaxy A9 (2018)
    4.22
  • Google Pixel XL
    4.164
  • ZTE Axon 7
    4.154
  • Samsung Galaxy Note8
    4.148
  • Meizu Pro 7 Plus
    4.147
  • OnePlus 6T
    4.138
  • Samsung Galaxy S6 edge
    4.124
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2017)
    4.124
  • vivo V11
    4.113
  • vivo NEX Dual Display
    4.108
  • Huawei Mate 10 Pro (normal)
    4.096
  • Samsung Galaxy Note5
    4.09
  • Huawei P20 Pro
    4.087
  • Xiaomi Mi 8
    4.086
  • Meizu 15
    4.082
  • Nokia 6 (2018)
    4.052
  • Google Pixel 2 (pre-update)
    4.023
  • LG V30
    4.022
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
    4.019
  • vivo NEX S
    4.012
  • Honor Magic 2
    4.01
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 Pro
    3.998
  • OnePlus X
    3.983
  • Vivo Xplay5 Elite
    3.983
  • LG G7 ThinQ (outdoor)
    3.978
  • Oppo R7s
    3.964
  • Apple iPhone 7
    3.964
  • Apple iPhone 8 (True Tone)
    3.957
  • Huawei P9 Plus
    3.956
  • Oppo Find X
    3.954
  • Meizu Pro 6 Plus
    3.935
  • Lenovo Moto Z
    3.931
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2016)
    3.918
  • OnePlus 5
    3.914
  • Samsung Galaxy C5
    3.911
  • Xiaomi Mi 8 SE
    3.901
  • Samsung Galaxy C7
    3.896
  • Samsung Galaxy A5
    3.895
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 outdoor
    3.879
  • Samsung Galaxy J2 outdoor
    3.873
  • Motorola Moto G6 Plus
    3.865
  • Samsung Galaxy A8
    3.859
  • Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018)
    3.842
  • Apple iPhone 6
    3.838
  • Microsoft Lumia 950XL
    3.837
  • Samsung Galaxy A6+ (2018)
    3.834
  • Sony Xperia XZs
    3.818
  • Samsung Galaxy A9 (2016)
    3.817
  • Motorola Moto X (2014)
    3.816
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2017)
    3.812
  • Samsung Galaxy A5 (2017)
    3.804
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016) outdoor mode
    3.802
  • Xiaomi Redmi Pro
    3.798
  • LG V20 Max auto
    3.798
  • Sony Xperia XZ
    3.795
  • Samsung Galaxy A5 (2016)
    3.789
  • Apple iPhone 6s
    3.783
  • Meizu Pro 5
    3.781
  • Microsoft Lumia 650
    3.772
  • Xiaomi Mi 6
    3.767
  • Sony Xperia XZ1
    3.765
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016)
    3.756
  • Nokia 8 Sirocco
    3.745
  • Sony Xperia XZ1 Compact
    3.729
  • Apple iPhone 8 Plus (True Tone)
    3.725
  • Oppo F1 Plus
    3.709
  • Vivo X5Pro
    3.706
  • Samsung Galaxy A3 (2017)
    3.688
  • Huawei P20
    3.683
  • Apple iPhone SE
    3.681
  • Huawei Mate 9
    3.68
  • Samsung Galaxy A7
    3.679
  • Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact
    3.675
  • Meizu PRO 6
    3.659
  • BlackBerry Priv
    3.645
  • Sony Xperia XA1 Ultra
    3.597
  • Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    3.588
  • Sony Xperia XZ2
    3.58
  • LG G6
    3.556
  • Apple iPhone 6s Plus
    3.53
  • Motorola Moto Z Play
    3.526
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 (2016)
    3.523
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 (2016) outdoor mode
    3.523
  • Acer Jade Primo
    3.521
  • Microsoft Lumia 950
    3.512
  • Oppo R7 Plus
    3.499
  • Nokia 7 plus
    3.479
  • nubia Z11
    3.466
  • Huawei P10 Plus
    3.456
  • HTC U Ultra
    3.453
  • Motorola Moto G6
    3.448
  • Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
    3.445
  • Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
    3.445
  • Samsung Galaxy J7
    3.422
  • Motorola Moto G6 Play
    3.419
  • Meizu MX5
    3.416
  • LG V20
    3.402
  • Samsung Galaxy A6 (2018)
    3.397
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 AI Dual Camera
    3.393
  • LG G7 ThinQ
    3.39
  • Huawei P10
    3.379
  • Samsung Galaxy J5 (2016)
    3.378
  • Oppo R9s
    3.352
  • Honor Play
    3.349
  • Honor 8 Pro
    3.341
  • Oppo F7
    3.333
  • Oppo R7
    3.32
  • Lenovo P2
    3.316
  • Archos Diamond Omega
    3.305
  • Honor 9
    3.289
  • Xiaomi Mi 5s
    3.276
  • Nokia 5
    3.261
  • Nokia 6 (Chinese version)
    3.244
  • Xiaomi Mi 5
    3.24
  • Nokia 6 (Global version)
    3.238
  • Samsung Galaxy J2
    3.235
  • Oppo Realme 2 Pro
    3.235
  • Sony Xperia X Performance
    3.234
  • Xiaomi Mi Note 2
    3.228
  • Motorola Moto X Play
    3.222
  • Oppo F3 Plus
    3.218
  • BlackBerry KEY2
    3.212
  • Huawei Mate 9 Pro
    3.206
  • Huawei P9
    3.195
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
    3.19
  • ZTE Nubia Z17
    3.159
  • Oppo R11s
    3.153
  • Lenovo Vibe Shot
    3.113
  • Honor 8X
    3.113
  • HTC U11 Life
    3.108
  • Motorola Moto X Force
    3.105
  • LG Nexus 5X
    3.092
  • HTC U11
    3.089
  • Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite
    3.087
  • HTC U12+
    3.085
  • Xiaomi Redmi S2 (Y2)
    3.077
  • Huawei Mate S
    3.073
  • Huawei P Smart 2019
    3.069
  • Oppo F9
    3.069
  • Microsoft Lumia 640 XL
    3.065
  • Xiaomi Mi Max 3
    3.061
  • Xiaomi Pocophone F1
    3.059
  • Huawei Mate 20
    3.052
  • Huawei Mate 20 Lite
    3.051
  • Motorola One (P30 Play)
    3.026
  • Apple iPhone 6 Plus
    3.023
  • Asus Zenfone 4 ZE554KL
    3.019
  • Sony Xperia XA1
    3.012
  • Motorola Moto X4
    3.012
  • Oppo Realme 2
    3.006
  • Sony Xperia L1
    2.994
  • Sony Xperia X
    2.989
  • LG Q6
    2.987
  • Huawei P10 Lite
    2.974
  • Samsung Galaxy Note
    2.97
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 6 Pro
    2.966
  • Huawei P20 Lite
    2.952
  • Xiaomi Redmi 5
    2.951
  • Huawei Mate 8
    2.949
  • Sony Xperia XA2
    2.938
  • Oppo Realme 1
    2.932
  • Razer Phone 2
    2.932
  • Xiaomi Redmi 4
    2.92
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3S
    2.913
  • Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
    2.913
  • Sony Xperia XA Ultra
    2.906
  • LG G5
    2.905
  • Huawei Honor View 10
    2.896
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3s Prime
    2.893
  • Xiaomi Mi 5s Plus
    2.884
  • Sony Xperia XZ Premium (sRGB)
    2.877
  • Sony Xperia XZ Premium
    2.877
  • Sony Xperia Z5
    2.876
  • Nokia 3
    2.871
  • Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
    2.867
  • Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
    2.862
  • Microsoft Lumia 550
    2.851
  • Nokia 3.1
    2.837
  • Realme U1
    2.815
  • Lenovo Moto M
    2.813
  • Nokia 7.1
    2.804
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3 Pro
    2.803
  • Sony Xperia Z5 compact
    2.784
  • Honor 10 (Vivid)
    2.757
  • Nokia 2
    2.752
  • Meizu MX6
    2.751
  • LG V10
    2.744
  • Huawei Mate 10 (normal)
    2.742
  • Motorola Moto G5S Plus
    2.737
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3
    2.735
  • Huawei Honor 7X
    2.734
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 (S625)
    2.714
  • Meizu M5
    2.71
  • Xiaomi Mi A2
    2.696
  • Sony Xperia M5
    2.69
  • Xiaomi Mi A1
    2.689
  • Huawei P9 Lite
    2.679
  • Xiaomi Redmi 4 Prime
    2.679
  • vivo V7+
    2.671
  • Vivo V3Max
    2.659
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix
    2.658
  • Huawei Mate 10 Lite
    2.654
  • Oppo F5
    2.653
  • Doogee Mix
    2.642
  • Xiaomi Mi 4i
    2.641
  • Xiaomi Redmi 4a
    2.635
  • Sony Xperia Z3
    2.618
  • Xiaomi Mi 5X (Standard)
    2.616
  • Sony Xperia XA
    2.609
  • Motorola Moto G4 Plus
    2.582
  • Motorola Moto G4 Plus (max auto)
    2.582
  • Meizu M5s
    2.58
  • Xiaomi Mi 4c
    2.574
  • LeEco Le Max 2
    2.567
  • Microsoft Lumia 640
    2.563
  • Asus Zenfone 3 ZE552KL
    2.563
  • Huawei P Smart
    2.563
  • Xiaomi Mi Max 2
    2.561
  • HTC U11+
    2.556
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 5A (Y1)
    2.556
  • Lenovo Moto G4
    2.544
  • Lenovo K6 Note
    2.544
  • Oppo F1
    2.528
  • Sony Xperia Z5 Premium
    2.525
  • Huawei Honor 7 Lite / Honor 5c
    2.506
  • Sony Xperia M4 Aqua
    2.503
  • Huawei Honor 10 Lite
    2.497
  • BlackBerry Motion
    2.494
  • Oppo F1s
    2.481
  • Motorola Moto G
    2.477
  • Lenovo Vibe K5 Plus
    2.473
  • Huawei G8
    2.471
  • Huawei nova
    2.467
  • Sony Xperia Z
    2.462
  • Lenovo Vibe K5
    2.459
  • Meizu m3 max
    2.447
  • Xiaomi Mi 5X (Auto)
    2.417
  • HTC 10 evo
    2.407
  • Huawei Honor 7
    2.406
  • Vivo V7
    2.404
  • Sony Xperia E5
    2.386
  • ZUK Z1 by Lenovo
    2.382
  • HTC 10
    2.378
  • Oppo F3
    2.376

We've been saving the best bit for last - the P Smart 2019 can be spectacularly accurate in representing the sRGB color space. In the Normal+Default display setting it achieves an average DeltaE of 1.2 but a slight tweak with the color wheel brings that down to a negligible 0.6.

Custom color setting - Huawei P Smart 2019 review
Custom color setting

Of course, that's not the default mode, because people tend to prefer livelier colors. The Vivid+Default setting (the actual out-of-the-box state) delivers those, but it also renders slightly bluish whites though it still manages a decent average DeltaE of 5.5 when compared against an sRGB target.

One issue we observed that doesn't fall into any of the usual categories is the less than ideal uniformity of the panel. On bright screens you'll be able to notice some dimming around the edges - it's not a deal breaker, but it's the type of display flaw we thought we had left in the past.

Huawei P Smart 2019 battery life

The P Smart 2019 packs a 3,400mAh battery, up from the 3,000mAh of last year's model. It does have a larger display area to light up, to the tune of 15%, which is that extra bit more than the bump in capacity.

The newer and more efficient chipset played its role too, and this year's model showed vastly improved endurance in standby and 3G voice calls, slight increase in video playback longevity and a minor (within the margin of error) decrease in Wi-Fi web browsing. Neither screen-on test returned spectacular numbers, but 10 hours of looping our web script and 11 hours of video playback are quite reasonable results. Overall, the P Smart 2019's Endurance rating works out to 88 hours - a tangible 15-hour improvement over the predecessor.

Huawei P Smart 2019

Our battery tests were automated thanks to SmartViser, using its viSer App. The endurance rating above denotes how long a single battery charge will last you if you use the Huawei P Smart 2019 for an hour each of telephony, web browsing, and video playback daily. We've established this usage pattern so that our battery results are comparable across devices in the most common day-to-day tasks. The battery testing procedure is described in detail in case you're interested in the nitty-gritty. You can check out our complete battery test table, where you can see how all of the smartphones we've tested will compare under your own typical use.

We were gearing for some heavy ranting after we saw the plain 5V/2A charger, but in reality it filled an empty battery in 1:42h which isn't too shabby. Sure, the 36% we got after a 30-minute stint isn't mind-blowingly fast, but the whole charging experience wasn't really rant-worthy.

Loudspeaker

The P Smart 2019 has a single loudspeaker - a classic bottom-firing one next to the charging port. It's plenty loud and won't leave ringtones unnoticed, but using it for any sort of music playback is likely to disappoint you due to some clipping at high volume and distinct lack of punch in the low frequencies.

Speakerphone testVoice, dB Pink noise/ Music, dB Ringing phone, dB Overall score
Honor Play 68.3 73.8 75.8 Good
BlackBerry KEY2 66.5 72.0 79.8 Good
Nokia 7 plus 67.5 71.3 79.7 Good
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) 69.4 70.9 79.9 Very Good
Honor 8X 67.1 72.9 81.6 Very Good
Huawei Mate 20 Lite 67.8 70.0 84.2 Very Good
Huawei P Smart 65.9 70.8 85.8 Very Good
Huawei P20 Lite 66.3 71.5 84.9 Very Good
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 67.5 77.8 77.6 Very Good
vivo V11 70.7 73.8 80.7 Very Good
Realme 2 Pro 69.1 74.8 81.4 Very Good
Oppo F9 71.7 74.4 81.6 Very Good
Xiaomi Redmi Note 6 Pro 70.1 73.1 85.4 Excellent
Huawei P Smart 2019 69.5 73.6 86.0 Excellent
Huawei Honor 10 Lite 70.0 73.8 87.0 Excellent
Nokia 7.1 75.6 76.0 81.1 Excellent

Audio quality

The Huawei P Smart 2019 had above average loudness with an active external amplifier and excellent scores across the board, which was a very promising start.

Unfortunately, headphones did quite a lot of damage - volume dropped to way below average, frequency response got somewhat shaky and some intermodulation distortion crept in. Stereo crosstalk increased by an above average amount too, adding up to a rather mediocre performance in the more important part of the test.

TestFrequency responseNoise levelDynamic rangeTHDIMD + NoiseStereo crosstalk
Huawei P Smart 2019+0.02, -0.02-93.193.00.00390.0088-81.9
Huawei P Smart 2019 (headphones)+0.64, -0.38-88.691.90.00690.606-50.6
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite+0.04, -0.04-93.593.40.00110.0070-93.4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (headphones)+0.45, -0.18-93.493.40.0210.457-54.9
Honor 8X+0.01, -0.04-92.392.40.00410.0085-80.7
Honor 8X (headphones)+0.45, -0.54-92.292.80.00840.492-51.5
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018)+0.02, -0.02-93.192.90.00260.0089-92.5
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) (headphones)+0.25, -0.17-91.491.60.1150.306-55.4
Nokia 7.1+0.02, -0.06-91.088.60.00210.016-94.4
Nokia 7.1 (headphones)+0.05, -0.03-93.889.60.00190.034-54.9

Huawei P Smart 2019 frequency response
Huawei P Smart 2019 frequency response

You can learn more about the tested parameters and the whole testing process here.

Reader comments

  • Yavuz

Ten touches

  • Luu

Am not happy with the camera pictures looks like red can i change that?

  • Anonymous

how many touch points does have this phone's touchscreen?