Motorola Moto G7 review

GSMArena team, 15 February 2019.

6.2-inch LCD is about good enough

The Moto G7 is equipped with a 6.2-inch display of the IPS LCD variety. A FullHD+ resolution in 19:9 aspect ratio means 2,270px on the long side, while pixel density works out to 405ppi. Rounded corners are par for the course too, and the Moto G7 also has a notch in the middle - a rather large waterdrop one.

Motorola Moto G7 review

All the above specs are the same as on the Moto G7 Plus, but this vanilla G7 managed a slightly higher maximum brightness - 20nits isn't all that much, but it's something. We also measured lower illumination of the blacks, so the cumulative effect is about 10% better contrast ratio - again, not a huge difference, but still an unexpected advantage of the lower-priced phone. Sample variation and different panel suppliers are both possible explanations.

Display test 100% brightness
Black, cd/m2 White, cd/m2 Contrast ratio
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) (Max Auto) 0 602
Nokia 7.1 (Max Auto) 0.465 600 1290
Oppo F9 0.29 526 1814
Realme U1 0.283 518 1830
Motorola Moto G7 0.315 493 1565
Nokia 7.1 0.377 490 1300
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 0.358 479 1338
Motorola Moto G7 Plus 0.332 473 1425
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 0.322 468 1453
Huawei Mate 20 Lite 0.313 460 1470
Oppo RX17 Pro 0 455
Huawei Honor 10 Lite 0.344 441 1282
Huawei P Smart 2019 0.325 437 1345
Honor 8X 0.346 427 1234
vivo V11 0 418
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) 0 402

Under direct light the G7's contrast turned out virtually identical to the G7 Plus's and both are about average as far as LCDs go.

Sunlight contrast ratio

  • Apple iPhone XS
    5.171
  • Apple iPhone X
    5.013
  • Huawei Mate 20 Pro
    4.965
  • OnePlus 5T
    4.789
  • Samsung Galaxy S8
    4.768
  • Asus ROG Phone
    4.765
  • Samsung Galaxy S8+
    4.658
  • Samsung Galaxy S9
    4.63
  • Samsung Galaxy S6 edge+
    4.615
  • Samsung Galaxy S9+
    4.537
  • Samsung Galaxy Note9
    4.531
  • Apple iPhone XS Max
    4.516
  • Sony Xperia XZ3
    4.502
  • Motorola Moto Z2 Play
    4.459
  • Oppo R11
    4.454
  • Samsung Galaxy S7 edge
    4.439
  • Oppo RX17 Pro
    4.434
  • OnePlus 3
    4.424
  • Samsung Galaxy S7
    4.376
  • Google Pixel 3
    4.35
  • Huawei Mate 20 X
    4.337
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018)
    4.324
  • OnePlus 6
    4.321
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix 3
    4.291
  • vivo NEX Dual Display (second display)
    4.289
  • HTC One A9
    4.274
  • LG V40 ThinQ
    4.256
  • Oppo R15 Pro
    4.251
  • Samsung Galaxy Note7
    4.247
  • Samsung Galaxy A3
    4.241
  • Nokia 8
    4.239
  • Google Pixel 2 XL (pre-update)
    4.234
  • OnePlus 3T
    4.232
  • Samsung Galaxy A9 (2018)
    4.22
  • Google Pixel XL
    4.164
  • ZTE Axon 7
    4.154
  • Samsung Galaxy Note8
    4.148
  • Meizu Pro 7 Plus
    4.147
  • OnePlus 6T
    4.138
  • Samsung Galaxy S6 edge
    4.124
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2017)
    4.124
  • vivo V11
    4.113
  • vivo NEX Dual Display
    4.108
  • Huawei Mate 10 Pro (normal)
    4.096
  • Samsung Galaxy Note5
    4.09
  • Huawei P20 Pro
    4.087
  • Xiaomi Mi 8
    4.086
  • Meizu 15
    4.082
  • Nokia 6 (2018)
    4.052
  • Google Pixel 2 (pre-update)
    4.023
  • LG V30
    4.022
  • Huawei Nexus 6P
    4.019
  • vivo NEX S
    4.012
  • Honor Magic 2
    4.01
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 Pro
    3.998
  • OnePlus X
    3.983
  • Vivo Xplay5 Elite
    3.983
  • LG G7 ThinQ (outdoor)
    3.978
  • Oppo R7s
    3.964
  • Apple iPhone 7
    3.964
  • Apple iPhone 8 (True Tone)
    3.957
  • Huawei P9 Plus
    3.956
  • Oppo Find X
    3.954
  • Meizu Pro 6 Plus
    3.935
  • Lenovo Moto Z
    3.931
  • Samsung Galaxy A7 (2016)
    3.918
  • OnePlus 5
    3.914
  • Samsung Galaxy C5
    3.911
  • Xiaomi Mi 8 SE
    3.901
  • Samsung Galaxy C7
    3.896
  • Samsung Galaxy A5
    3.895
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 outdoor
    3.879
  • Samsung Galaxy J2 outdoor
    3.873
  • Motorola Moto G6 Plus
    3.865
  • Samsung Galaxy A8
    3.859
  • Samsung Galaxy A8 (2018)
    3.842
  • Apple iPhone 6
    3.838
  • Microsoft Lumia 950XL
    3.837
  • Samsung Galaxy A6+ (2018)
    3.834
  • Sony Xperia XZs
    3.818
  • Samsung Galaxy A9 (2016)
    3.817
  • Motorola Moto X (2014)
    3.816
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2017)
    3.812
  • Samsung Galaxy A5 (2017)
    3.804
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016) outdoor mode
    3.802
  • Xiaomi Redmi Pro
    3.798
  • LG V20 Max auto
    3.798
  • Sony Xperia XZ
    3.795
  • Samsung Galaxy A5 (2016)
    3.789
  • Apple iPhone 6s
    3.783
  • Meizu Pro 5
    3.781
  • Microsoft Lumia 650
    3.772
  • Xiaomi Mi 6
    3.767
  • Sony Xperia XZ1
    3.765
  • Samsung Galaxy J7 (2016)
    3.756
  • Nokia 8 Sirocco
    3.745
  • Sony Xperia XZ1 Compact
    3.729
  • Apple iPhone 8 Plus (True Tone)
    3.725
  • Oppo F1 Plus
    3.709
  • Vivo X5Pro
    3.706
  • Sony Xperia X Compact
    3.694
  • Samsung Galaxy A3 (2017)
    3.688
  • Huawei P20
    3.683
  • Apple iPhone SE
    3.681
  • Huawei Mate 9
    3.68
  • Samsung Galaxy A7
    3.679
  • Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact
    3.675
  • Meizu PRO 6
    3.659
  • BlackBerry Priv
    3.645
  • Sony Xperia XA1 Ultra
    3.597
  • Huawei Honor View 20
    3.597
  • Apple iPhone 7 Plus
    3.588
  • Sony Xperia XZ2
    3.58
  • LG G6
    3.556
  • Apple iPhone 6s Plus
    3.53
  • Motorola Moto Z Play
    3.526
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 (2016)
    3.523
  • Samsung Galaxy J3 (2016) outdoor mode
    3.523
  • Acer Jade Primo
    3.521
  • Microsoft Lumia 950
    3.512
  • Oppo R7 Plus
    3.499
  • Nokia 7 plus
    3.479
  • nubia Z11
    3.466
  • Huawei P10 Plus
    3.456
  • HTC U Ultra
    3.453
  • Motorola Moto G6
    3.448
  • Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
    3.445
  • Sony Xperia XA2 Plus
    3.445
  • Samsung Galaxy J7
    3.422
  • Motorola Moto G6 Play
    3.419
  • Meizu MX5
    3.416
  • LG V20
    3.402
  • Samsung Galaxy A6 (2018)
    3.397
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 AI Dual Camera
    3.393
  • LG G7 ThinQ
    3.39
  • Huawei P10
    3.379
  • Samsung Galaxy J5 (2016)
    3.378
  • Oppo R9s
    3.352
  • Honor Play
    3.349
  • Honor 8 Pro
    3.341
  • Oppo F7
    3.333
  • Oppo R7
    3.32
  • Lenovo P2
    3.316
  • Archos Diamond Omega
    3.305
  • Honor 9
    3.289
  • Xiaomi Mi 5s
    3.276
  • Nokia 5
    3.261
  • Nokia 6 (Chinese version)
    3.244
  • Nokia 6 (Global version)
    3.238
  • Samsung Galaxy J2
    3.235
  • Oppo Realme 2 Pro
    3.235
  • Sony Xperia X Performance
    3.234
  • Xiaomi Mi Note 2
    3.228
  • Motorola Moto X Play
    3.222
  • Oppo F3 Plus
    3.218
  • BlackBerry KEY2
    3.212
  • Huawei Mate 9 Pro
    3.206
  • Huawei P9
    3.195
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix 2
    3.19
  • ZTE Nubia Z17
    3.159
  • Oppo R11s
    3.153
  • Lenovo Vibe Shot
    3.113
  • Honor 8X
    3.113
  • HTC U11 Life
    3.108
  • Motorola Moto X Force
    3.105
  • LG Nexus 5X
    3.092
  • HTC U11
    3.089
  • Xiaomi Mi A2 Lite
    3.087
  • HTC U12+
    3.085
  • Xiaomi Redmi S2 (Y2)
    3.077
  • Huawei Mate S
    3.073
  • Oppo F9
    3.069
  • Huawei P Smart 2019
    3.069
  • Microsoft Lumia 640 XL
    3.065
  • Xiaomi Mi Max 3
    3.061
  • Xiaomi Pocophone F1
    3.059
  • Huawei Mate 20
    3.052
  • Huawei Mate 20 Lite
    3.051
  • Motorola One (P30 Play)
    3.026
  • Apple iPhone 6 Plus
    3.023
  • Asus Zenfone 4 ZE554KL
    3.019
  • Sony Xperia XA1
    3.012
  • Motorola Moto X4
    3.012
  • Motorola Moto G7
    3.011
  • Motorola Moto G7 Plus
    3.01
  • Oppo Realme 2
    3.006
  • Sony Xperia L1
    2.994
  • Sony Xperia X
    2.989
  • LG Q6
    2.987
  • Huawei P10 Lite
    2.974
  • Samsung Galaxy Note
    2.97
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 6 Pro
    2.966
  • Huawei P20 Lite
    2.952
  • Xiaomi Redmi 5
    2.951
  • Huawei Mate 8
    2.949
  • Sony Xperia XA2
    2.938
  • Oppo Realme 1
    2.932
  • Razer Phone 2
    2.932
  • Xiaomi Redmi 4
    2.92
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3S
    2.913
  • Xiaomi Redmi 5 Plus
    2.913
  • Sony Xperia XA Ultra
    2.906
  • LG G5
    2.905
  • Huawei Honor View 10
    2.896
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3s Prime
    2.893
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 7
    2.893
  • Xiaomi Mi 5s Plus
    2.884
  • Sony Xperia XZ Premium (sRGB)
    2.877
  • Sony Xperia XZ Premium
    2.877
  • Sony Xperia Z5
    2.876
  • Nokia 3
    2.871
  • Sony Xperia XZ2 Premium
    2.867
  • Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite
    2.862
  • Microsoft Lumia 550
    2.851
  • Nokia 3.1
    2.837
  • Realme U1
    2.815
  • Lenovo Moto M
    2.813
  • Nokia 7.1
    2.804
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3 Pro
    2.803
  • Sony Xperia Z5 compact
    2.784
  • Honor 10 (Vivid)
    2.757
  • Nokia 2
    2.752
  • Meizu MX6
    2.751
  • LG V10
    2.744
  • Huawei Mate 10 (normal)
    2.742
  • Motorola Moto G5S Plus
    2.737
  • Xiaomi Redmi 3
    2.735
  • Huawei Honor 7X
    2.734
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 (S625)
    2.714
  • Meizu M5
    2.71
  • Xiaomi Mi A2
    2.696
  • Sony Xperia M5
    2.69
  • Xiaomi Mi A1
    2.689
  • Huawei P9 Lite
    2.679
  • Xiaomi Redmi 4 Prime
    2.679
  • vivo V7+
    2.671
  • Vivo V3Max
    2.659
  • Xiaomi Mi Mix
    2.658
  • Huawei Mate 10 Lite
    2.654
  • Oppo F5
    2.653
  • Doogee Mix
    2.642
  • Xiaomi Mi 4i
    2.641
  • Xiaomi Redmi 4a
    2.635
  • Sony Xperia Z3
    2.618
  • Xiaomi Mi 5X (Standard)
    2.616
  • Sony Xperia XA
    2.609
  • Motorola Moto G4 Plus
    2.582
  • Motorola Moto G4 Plus (max auto)
    2.582
  • Meizu M5s
    2.58
  • Xiaomi Mi 4c
    2.574
  • LeEco Le Max 2
    2.567
  • Microsoft Lumia 640
    2.563
  • Asus Zenfone 3 ZE552KL
    2.563
  • Huawei P Smart
    2.563
  • Xiaomi Mi Max 2
    2.561
  • HTC U11+
    2.556
  • Xiaomi Redmi Note 5A (Y1)
    2.556
  • Lenovo Moto G4
    2.544
  • Lenovo K6 Note
    2.544
  • Oppo F1
    2.528
  • Sony Xperia Z5 Premium
    2.525
  • Huawei Honor 7 Lite / Honor 5c
    2.506
  • Sony Xperia M4 Aqua
    2.503
  • Huawei Honor 10 Lite
    2.497
  • BlackBerry Motion
    2.494
  • Oppo F1s
    2.481
  • Motorola Moto G
    2.477
  • Lenovo Vibe K5 Plus
    2.473
  • Huawei G8
    2.471
  • Huawei nova
    2.467
  • Sony Xperia Z
    2.462
  • Lenovo Vibe K5
    2.459
  • Meizu m3 max
    2.447
  • Xiaomi Mi 4
    2.424
  • Xiaomi Mi 5X (Auto)
    2.417
  • HTC 10 evo
    2.407
  • Huawei Honor 7
    2.406

Just as you would find on a Pixel, the Moto G7's display options let you select between Natural, Boosted, and Saturated colors. Out of the box, it's set to Saturated and that's pretty self-explanatory. Measuring against an sRGB target we got an average DeltaE of 6.1. Neither Natural (5.4), nor Boosted (5.3) gave us a truly accurate sRGB rendition, and in all three modes the whites were particularly bluish with a DeltaE of around 8.

Motorola Moto G7 battery life

The Moto G7 relies on a 3,000mAh battery for autonomy and it's not a particularly big number these days. For perspective, the Galaxy A7 (2018) has a 3,300mAh power pack for a smaller 6-inch display, while the Xiaomi Redmi Note 7's capacity is a generous 4,000mAh. Then again, if you're looking for more juice, there's always the Moto G7 Power with its 5,000mAh cell.

Anyways, the Moto G7's battery life is alright, but not great. We measured 9 hours and change in our video playback test, and close to 11 hours of running our web browsing script. The Redmi Note 7 has 14 hours in either discipline, while the Galaxy A7 (2018) can do 15 hours in video and 12 hours in web browsing. We clocked 25 hours of talk time over 3G on the G7 - virtually identical to the Galaxy, and some 7 hours short of the Redmi's time.

Overall, accounting for the less than stellar standby endurance, the Moto G7's Endurance rating works out to 66 hours.

Motorola Moto G7

Our battery tests were automated thanks to SmartViser, using its viSer App. The endurance rating above denotes how long a single battery charge will last you if you use the Motorola Moto G7 for an hour each of telephony, web browsing, and video playback daily. We've established this usage pattern so that our battery results are comparable across devices in the most common day-to-day tasks. The battery testing procedure is described in detail in case you're interested in the nitty-gritty. You can check out our complete battery test table, where you can see how all of the smartphones we've tested will compare under your own typical use.

The Moto G7's bundled 15W charger will do zero to full in 1:34h while a 30-minute stint will get you from flat to about 47% - pretty good numbers, but nowhere near the crazy fast charge times of the Moto G7 Plus.

Loudspeaker

The Moto G7 has a basic loudspeaker setup - just one driver pointed downwards. For a stereo configuration, you'd need to step up to the Moto G7 Plus.

The Moto G7 came a couple of decibels short of an 'Excellent' rating in our three-pronged test, for a 'Very Good' mark. The sound quality is pretty good too, with no distortion at max volume and adequate reproduction of the entire frequency range, including some decent lows.

Speakerphone testVoice, dB Pink noise/ Music, dB Ringing phone, dB Overall score
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3 67.9 71.6 73.7 Good
Realme U1 68.6 73.4 72.4 Good
Honor Play 68.3 73.8 75.8 Good
Samsung Galaxy A7 (2018) 69.4 70.9 79.9 Very Good
Honor 8X 67.1 72.9 81.6 Very Good
Huawei Mate 20 Lite 67.8 70.0 84.2 Very Good
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite 67.5 77.8 77.6 Very Good
vivo V11 70.7 73.8 80.7 Very Good
Realme 2 Pro 69.1 74.8 81.4 Very Good
Moto G7 (Smart Audio) 70.2 71.9 84.6 Very Good
Oppo F9 71.7 74.4 81.6 Very Good
Moto G7 Plus (Smart Audio) 70.8 72.4 84.9 Excellent
Huawei P Smart 2019 69.5 73.6 86.0 Excellent
Huawei Honor 10 Lite 70.0 73.8 87.0 Excellent
Xiaomi Redmi Note 7 69.8 71.5 90.5 Excellent
Nokia 7.1 75.6 76.0 81.1 Excellent

Audio quality

The Motorola Moto G7 did well to keep up with its G7 Plus sibling in terms of the clarity of its audio output. It was just as flawless with an active external amplifier and the difference with headphones was a slightly bigger increase in stereo crosstalk, but all in all the G7 will reproduce tracks the way they were meant to sound.

Where the vanilla G7 wasn’t able to match the Plus is volume. Whereas the more premium of the two blew our minds in both parts of the test, the G7 was below average, which may prevent it from driving higher impedance headphones to sufficient loudness. Still, the overall performance is par for the course for the price range and while it won’t earn the G7 any extra points, it won’t be held against it either.

TestFrequency responseNoise levelDynamic rangeTHDIMD + NoiseStereo crosstalk
Motorola Moto G7+0.04, -0.04-93.690.90.00340.0100-94.8
Motorola Moto G7 (headphones)+0.06, -0.03-90.593.20.00360.048-62.5
Motorola Moto G7 Plus+0.04, -0.00-93.393.20.00290.0077-93.8
Motorola Moto G7 Plus (headphones)+0.07, -0.01-92.993.20.0150.076-68.8
Redmi Note 7+0.04, -0.04-90.790.70.00150.014-94.5
Redmi Note 7 (headphones)+0.05, -0.29-92.592.50.0240.296-55.0
Huawei P Smart 2019+0.02, -0.02-93.193.00.00390.0088-81.9
Huawei P Smart 2019 (headphones)+0.64, -0.38-88.691.90.00690.606-50.6
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite+0.04, -0.04-93.593.40.00110.0070-93.4
Xiaomi Mi 8 Lite (headphones)+0.45, -0.18-93.493.40.0210.457-54.9
Honor 8X+0.01, -0.04-92.392.40.00410.0085-80.7
Honor 8X (headphones)+0.45, -0.54-92.292.80.00840.492-51.5

Motorola Moto G7 frequency response
Motorola Moto G7 frequency response

You can learn more about the tested parameters and the whole testing process here.

Reader comments

  • Spamper

That's true

  • Ali Hunsicker

I just got my Moto G7 and it doesn't come with a case.

  • Al

Had mine for 2 weeks. Battery life is excellent and charges very quickly. I use Android Auto and in my 20 minute drive the car has recharged the phone to 100% at the end of the day! My old Sony M5 wouldn't have charged up at all in that time. Everyth...