Nokia 6.1
MORE PICTURES

Nokia 6.1

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Adi, 06 Aug 2020It's my message to Nokia company that's this phon... moreFinally an honest comment. Completely agree with your review. Seems like majority of good reviewers here are paid or spammers from Nokia itself

  • Satish

Hassam, 09 Sep 2020Using for more than 2 years and now facing battery issues Ya my 6.1 ...tooo after two years I'm facing several problems

Real person, 08 Sep 2020I have been reading a couple of hundred of the latest comme... moreHMD Global from its onset had an ambition to set new standards in phone design, material quality and manufacturing innovation by building on the hallmarks of a true Nokia phone experience. Their dream unfortunately did not last long and were mostly confined between 2017 & 2018. The reason was mainly due to very aggressive pricing of Chinese manufacturers by using cheap construction materials and techniques. On it's first year their lineup (Nokia 6) had the quality but lacked in performance except for the flagship Nokia 8. In 2018, they rectified this performance issue for mid to higher end models and three models stood out. Nokia 8 Sirocco, Nokia 7 Plus & Nokia 6.1.

Nokia 6.1 is a masterpiece in terms of design & craftsmanship. Nokia 6.1 belongs to what Nokia calls "material first led design". A pure Nokia under HMD banner. Alas current Nokia's are nowhere near them in terms of construction quality. For instance, Nokia 6.1's body is carved out for a single block of 6000 series aluminum to start with. It takes an hour to mill out the whole body from the aluminum block. There is no stamped metal parts for decoration here. In the next 10 hours of manufacturing process it goes through a unique two tone anodization process. First the phone is dipped in an anodization pool where bare aluminium body & the physical buttons receives the desired color (blue in my case). Then a cutter is used to shave the blue anodized aluminium body on both side edges, creating this unique diamond cut edges. Same for the buttons. A second layer of anodization is then applied on the edges & buttons to have the desired edge colors (gold color in my case). Thus the two tone Blue/Gold anodization process gets completed. The phone body then gets polished for no less than 5 times for roughly 2 hours to provide this incredible satin like look and in-hand feel. Entire manufacturing process takes over 13 hours to complete.

Finally a die cast metal mid-frame is screwed internally to the metal body which reinforces the core of the Nokia 6.1. No less than 19 screws locks the internal metal plate to its body which gives Nokia 6.1 it ultimate structural integrity & durability. This is an approach to engineering that is build to last. A Scandinavian design focusing on quality, design & craftsmanship with an incredible attention to detail. After all great engineering deserves bold designs just like Nokia 6.1. I have not even started talking about its hardware specification. Let's just say my 4 GB RAM model with 64 GB internal storage and expandable memory option is more than enough for decent performance. The display is great for its price, battery backup in enough to take you through a day. Comes bundled with 18 watts fast charger too. And that premium look kills anything in its price bracket.

No wonder it won prestigious smartphone design awards from Chicago Athenaeum: Musuem of Architecture & Design (2018) and also was one of the most durable phone of of 2018, awarded by JerryRigsEverything in YouTube. It is pity smartphones of this design caliber & internal strength are not produced anymore. Not even by Nokia.

  • Hassam

Using for more than 2 years and now facing battery issues

  • Anonymous

Prodromos, 25 Jul 2020Hi guys, I have this phone for two years now, still working... moreSony Xperia 5

  • Real person

I have been reading a couple of hundred of the latest comments
And the problem with these open blogs, all the fakes, working for foreign govts, and firms get on the blog just to rubbish the brand to promote their own rubbish copies.

I have two current Nokia's, all working well, most likely much better than those born yesterday fakes making poor nokia copies.
Nokia brand has proud history of building quality equipment, yes, I have used many of their products, and I know the score.

Fakes, you know who you are. GET LOST

  • Naveed

Purchased the Nokia 6.1 2 yrs back, initially working good but m facing battery problem since last month. Nokia is an old company and they should review their product if they want to survive in the market

  • Nokia 6.1

RishiGuru, 18 Aug 2020I admit, built quality & design are just two aspects of... moreN6.1 is still up to date. All bugs were mostly gone.

XRT10, 16 Aug 2020Yeah we do need great build quality but not "just"... moreI admit, built quality & design are just two aspects of a phone. Others are user experience and specification. I own two Nokia's under HMD banner, the Nokia 6.1 & Nokia 7 Plus. These are from their 2018 batch in which they pretty much nailed it in all three aspects bar software user experience.

Nokia's lacks the level of consistency in software and frequent software updates makes the situation even worse with the phone getting slower and slower with no time for optimization. In comparison LG provide semi-annual updates, just twice a year but they nail it in terms consistency, optimization, seamless operation and zero software issues. I like LG's approach where I can always rely on their phone as they always work.

Anonymous, 09 Aug 2020You have been "using Nokia" since 2015, huh? This... moreYeah we do need great build quality but not "just" the built quality.
By the way , I had written "its return" in 2017. The brand existed in 2015 right?

  • Anonymous

XRT10, 04 Aug 2020I have been using nokia since 2015 and it only had given me... moreYou have been "using Nokia" since 2015, huh? This phone came out in 2018. It's manufactured by HMD. It has incredible build quality, by the way. Your experience with "Nokia" has nothing to do with this Opinions page.

  • Vosa

Using this phone for over 2 years.Battery is draining faster than before,but that is expected after 2 years.It has slowed down a little bit,but overall it is a good phone.
P.S. it has great build quality(as expected of Nokia)

  • gweshe

Carol, 23 Jul 2020Take it to a repair center this type of problems can be cau... moremy phone started by heating up.now its switching on and off when on charger and will not boot.
it shows red and green icons for battery intermittently.Also cannot work without being on charger.

  • Anonymous

Sijo, 21 Jul 2020Omg... My phone facing rebooting issue while attending cal... moreEven me facing the same problem

  • Adi

It's my message to Nokia company that's this phone is one of the dumpest thing in the market 1. heating issue 2. both cameras are worst 3. PUBG game always lagging 4. Inbuilt hardware are cheap.
Please guys there are so many other options in the market so don't waste your hard earning money for buying this garbage.

I have been using nokia since 2015 and it only had given me hopes but nothing else.
It's a hopeless branded Phone since it's return in 2017.

  • Prince

scottybotty, 26 Jul 2020i had same issue. had too many apps installed. i think if i... moreI have over 120 apps and the phone Still do great.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Jul 2020That's not true I've been using this phone and I ... moreWhat is that only one issue you had noteced?

  • Sijo

Carol, 23 Jul 2020Take it to a repair center this type of problems can be cau... moreNow I am using this phone with the help of a powerbank...

  • Sijo

Carol, 23 Jul 2020Take it to a repair center this type of problems can be cau... moreSo this causes huge expensive...?
Then looking for new phone!!!