Nokia 808 PureView
MORE PICTURES

Nokia 808 PureView

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Hi,
Would somebody here like to help me with these :)
1. What best price people are getting in India? Where?
2. Does it have Purple tint issue like N8? Or any other problems?
3. Does it have TV-OUT (through 3.5mm jack on top)?

Thank you friends :)

  • Anonymous

HDRapp beta released.great news to manage Hdr photos on 808
http://pureviewclub.com/2012/8746

  • AnonD-21195

I bought the phone 2 weeks back.I'm loving the experience.It has all the features packed in one device. and it has a decent processor.so Interface is really smooth and far better than nokia N8. Previously I owned a Nokia N8. so I really feel the deference.Loving the clear black display. It doesn't have million applications. But have more than enough applications for good smart phone. No complains. So sad that the nokia is going to discontinue symbian Platform.They don't have good features like FM transmitter in new windows phones.

  • Carol

12xu, 11 Dec 2012Hi Carol, i'm also N8 user. Even here in Athens you must do the... moreYep i know what you mean. We're leaving in the era of smart phones and st*pid people:). But that doesn't change my way of seeing things, so i ignore the "fashionized" herd:)). You can try online stores or Ebay. It sucks that you cannot see it and test it before (I can see it in a electronic store called mediamarkt, it is a store for everything and has mobiles to, but is under a glass-box, you cannot touch it:))) but is enough that you ca buy it:). Here are allot of online contracts you can make and then purchase this jewel. Anyway is better now then was 5 months back. When i couldn't find it even online.

  • 12xu

Carol, 10 Dec 2012Hey, i don't support piracy, so the safest way is through Nokia ... moreHi Carol,
i'm also N8 user. Even here in Athens you must do the "007 agent" to find it, also be misunderstood or get angry by the hypocrisy when you ask for it in the shops....anyway sooner or later i hope to get one for me too. The funny thing is that despite the fact that in my country pureview has received xlent opininons from reviews (e.g. www.digitallife.gr, which also inform us for the gsm_arena test and the foto samples) people (and not neccesary young people as someone may suppose) has become "fashion victim", you know what i mean. It's a question of mentality.

  • pv user

hi guys. pls help me how to set the phone camera for low light setting. i want to capture the best shot even in low light condition

  • Anonymous

AnonD-2665, 10 Dec 2012go to nokia care ! Never install custom firmware, it can affect ... moretake out memory card.format mass memory.do a 3 finger reset.format mass memory again.install belle again.no luck.go to nokia care.Cfw are great.go for a one without mods if you plan on doing that to be safe.I have flashed mine by myself.works excellent.

  • nicky

Are there fakes phone on that type on the market too?

  • Carol

AnonD-65020, 10 Dec 2012yeh carol,,really i sad u don't own this beautiful beast do anyt... morei will upgrade to it for shore. But my n8 is good for now. All nokia's are blowing minds with their sound quality. Ok, 808 has a better software in that, but n8 is quite very good to, with an editable eq. Even if i buy the 808 in 2 years, it will still be my next phone:). But hey, thank you for the prayer:)). Good luck wishes with your new phone.

  • 12xu

Carol, 10 Dec 2012Hey, i don't support piracy, so the safest way is through Nokia ... moreN8user and 808 symbian fun also!!! Even here in Athens you must make voodoo to find 808, usually be misunderstood with the hypocrisy when you ask for it! The funny thing is that local reviews (such as digitallife.gr) are saying the best about pure view (and for N8 also when was released ) but the people, as you've correctly posted, has become fashion victim!

  • AnonD-65020

Carol, 10 Dec 2012Hey, thanx for the good words:). Yes, i will be proud when i wil... moreyeh carol,,really i sad u don't own this beautiful beast do anything but u go for it i did d same there is no limits to explain how good is this phone isin terms of all trust me i have downloaded equalizer and did some of my fav setting my God music is mind-blowing and photos UI just awsome personally i didnt like android its good only for games i think illbuy one cheap tab which are available in india for 80% less cost then pv but trust me no phone stores to compare pv ppl like u should grab it u have good knowledge though i pray u buy one...:)

  • Carol

AnonD-65020, 10 Dec 2012hey carol u don't talk too much u share ideas and technology few... moreHey, thanx for the good words:). Yes, i will be proud when i will owe it:)). Just cause here, is like a ghost makes it more unique then any other phone from the market. I can say that 80% of people here don't even know of it's existence. They are all samsung or iphone blinded. Real technology lovers cannot skip this phone just because is Symbian and doesn't have 4 cores and 700 torch apps, 2000 social apps and so on! This phone is pure innovation. It is just madness, a collection unit. Definitely a buy. (for me at least:D). Especially now, when is reduced. Here is from 420 euros to 480... from 0 to 200 euros with contract (depending on what contract).

  • AnonD-2665

sachin, 10 Dec 2012hi carol I have updated OS on 7th Dec. the update process went ... morego to nokia care ! Never install custom firmware, it can affect camera !

  • AnonD-65020

Carol, 10 Dec 2012Hey, i don't support piracy, so the safest way is through Nokia ... morehey carol u don't talk too much u share ideas and technology few are there who have good knowledge about technology im crazy guy for reading And interested to know new innovative products specifically phones...i used almost all nokia phones until 2010 when i purchased n8 and used it for 18months when I felt its.getting slow with time so i sold it and purchased pv Which was dream phone bcoz in india it was 32k and now 26k which is a very good deal immediately i purchased and very happy and proud to own...

  • Harish

I bought this phone with gr8 expectations, but now Mechanical shutter not working all the times.. pls help.. can this be s/w issue..

  • Carol

sachin, 10 Dec 2012hi carol I have updated OS on 7th Dec. the update process went ... moreHey, is this the only problem you have? Normally this comes from a not so successful update. You can try this... i've copy paste this from an earlier post of mine:

What ever problem you have after updating you can "repair" it very easy. Just format your mass storage and bring your phone to factory settings then reinstall the system. That's it!
If you don't know how:

1. First backup mass memory important personal files, then: Enter Files/long press Mass Mem. hit format.

2. Now hit *#7370#, will ask for security code (if you have one) give your security code. Accept everything, then the phone will restart and will remain to just "NOKIA" for a couple of minutes (in this period the phone is formatting and rewriting the original apps). In the meantime, delete the folder containing your firmware (if you updated via nokia suite) in your pc presuming you have win7 the files are ex: C:\Users\Ray\AppData\Local\Nokia\NSU3\NOSSU2\var­­iants\Products\rm-807

or this C:\ProgramData\Nokia\Nokia Suite\NOSSU2\variants\Products\rm-807

This are hidden paths, so you need to activate "show hidden files, folders and drives" from folder option/view

After all is done, phone restarted and everything is formatted, plug the phone into usb, open Nokia suite and hit reinstall firmware. See if this problems are persisting. Remember to backup first the important files. Never backup apps or settings. i usually update only contacts and messages.

  • Carol

AnonD-65020, 10 Dec 2012hi,carol,whr r u frm i mean which country...i ha ve one doubt is... moreHey, i don't support piracy, so the safest way is through Nokia store. But i never had problems with "other" type of downloads. Also, no problem hacking my device... i use N8, not 808, but they are quite the same... only that 808 has (way) better camera and is faster. Also 808 will be my next phone 100%. I really don't care so much about 300.000 apps and as long as works perfect i will hold it until it dies (if it ever will:)). I use Nokia-Symbian since 2003-2004 and was never about the apps, was about the things it could do and about quality that Nokia provided with their smartphones in front of other phones. Signal, sound and build, BEST QUALITY. No Nokia smartphone died on my but only the n70 (once, when i tried to plug some defective headphones it cracked the jack). Second n70 lasted 4 years, and then my brother lost it:)). So it was still not dead. I love technology but i don't like wasting money. Nokia is a good long term buy, with, or without upgrades and one "zezilion" apps:). Lumia's are good phones to, but i would have prefer that Nokia would have not abandoned Symbian. Oh well, there is still 808 there that waits for me to buy it. There is no rush upgrading. I'm in no useless fight that sounds like: hey i have bigger screen slimmer body and 8 cores and a tone of ram... and my phone can cook pizza's. What 808 can do is more then any user needs. Even a tech fanatic like me feeds his appetite with the n8 (which is quite a superior phone, while
others think only about quadcores:)) So, 808? Will be a 4 years superb technology without any feeling that you are behind. Minding the fact that it's camera will be surpassed in 20 years. This day to day fight between smartphones is coming to an age of ridiculousness! Where manufacturers make a sh*tload of money from people that don't think for them selves and buy every 2 mounts a new phone that will never satisfy them cause after the next two mounts comes a 6 core with 0,5 cm bigger screen and with that one, they are "not" up to date anymore... most of this guys are looking for 5 points more in benchmark and to be on top of the... NOTHING:). The others are just going with the herd. I' m from Germany, by the way... and i usually talk to much.

  • sachin

hi carol
I have updated OS on 7th Dec. the update process went through fine but the camera hangs 9 out of 10 times I try to use it. any suggestions?? Regards sachin

  • AnonD-65020

Carol, 10 Dec 2012Hey, no problem, good to help. You can take games from other sit... morehi,carol,whr r u frm i mean which country...i ha ve one doubt is it good to retain pv in long run compare to lumias any chances of future upgrade,,and to use alpha keyboard have any ideas...how safe if i download apps from 808fanclub.com have u used.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-65020, 07 Dec 2012friend,if u have doubt on orignality of nokia 808 then visit nok... moreThanks for your advise. Glad that you're finally made a right choice,enjoy your 808 PV, the best Cameraphone and a Great Smartphone too (All in One phone - you have all functionalities that you need in one phone).