Nokia 9 PureView
MORE PICTURES

Nokia 9 PureView

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Carol

32bit, 23 Feb 2020my phone went into boot recovery, hat to factory reset to restor... moreI do not know what people are doing with their devices, mine is almost an year old i dropt it a lot of times (quite hard) and still runs smoth as ever

  • 32bit

my phone went into boot recovery, hat to factory reset to restore losing my data. then some months after the touchscreen stops working. All this under a year

Bad performance, camera proccesing failure (doesn´t save 1 o 3 pictures taken from main camera) and ghost notifications of Nokia 9 PV after the update to Android 10.

  • Carol

Hirsimaki, 16 Feb 2020Wow, you must be really lucky one since you don't have any probl... moreI do not know how lucky i am, i also had Nokia 8 another device people complained about, now is around 3 years old and still cicking as i gave it to my sister, it never took a break and it's battery still holds 2 days. Maybe is me being lucky, or just honest, or maybe i know what to do with them, i don't know. Their are very few things that don't work for me, and when that haopens i send them back as they are 100% defective.

Carol, 14 Feb 2020The only frustration i have with this device is that it forces m... moreWow, you must be really lucky one since you don't have any problems with your Nokia. Good for you! :)

  • Z

Hirsimaki, 10 Feb 2020I was so excited when they announced this phone. I bought it 4 ... moreThe software is not being optimised for this and Nokia 7.2.. many users are facing lagging and crashes as you and for camera yeah it sucks., That's why HMD dropping this technology for their next flagship as it's not ready yet.. Such a disappointment by HMD in the name of nokia... a failed flagship.. like I said it for the 20th time

  • Carol

CGKY, 15 Feb 2020Bought the phone, used the phone, got frustrated with what happe... moreOk, strange. Well i wish you success. Let us know the story.

  • CGKY

Carol, 28 Oct 2019I owe the device more then half a year now and do not have the p... moreBought the phone, used the phone, got frustrated with what happened with the phone. Why wouldn't it be true? :)

Anyway, I thought to check back here to see if anyone else encountered the issues I did - doesn't seem to be the case.

It wasn't until January when a USB-C board assembly finally became available for purchase online - strangely, from Spain's Impextrom and not China's Aliexpress, which would've been anyone's first place to check. To gauge how difficult of a job it would be and since I already had a Samsung Note 10+ for daily use, I opened the rear up to remove and inspect the original USB-C board assembly.

1. The rear glass panel is sensitive to flexing. I shattered the glass on mine in the process of removal.

2. The USB-C board also has an antenna connection. This *might* have been responsible for the shoddy LTE performance that I mentioned in the past.

3. The USB-C receptacle itself was very cheaply made. Plastic was used all throughout, other than 2 thin metal pieces that are soldered onto the board and serve as supports. Plugging USB cables in a little too firmly is enough to cause the 2 thin metal pieces to permanently dislodge, with the USB-C receptacles soldered data/power pins serving as the last stand for support.

#3 probably explains why there are lots of devices out there with loose charging ports. Dropping the phone with a USB cable attached is easily a recipe for disaster.

The job seemed easy enough, so I ordered a new rear panel and 2 new USB-C board assemblies (1 extra) to try to fix the phone. They should arrive some time next week.

  • Carol

Hirsimaki, 14 Feb 2020I'm using exactly the same HMD Global Nokia 9 as you. With all t... moreThe only frustration i have with this device is that it forces me to much to use it and i have over 60 apps installed more then 6 are constantly running as they are tools for gestures and so on. Android 10 has buggs yeah, but first they need to be firstly crushed by google they tested and crushed by HMD when it comes to their devices. But it never frustrated me as they never got in the way of my work.

Carol, 11 Feb 2020Never had one lag on this device, camera is actually f good. The... moreI'm using exactly the same HMD Global Nokia 9 as you. With all the latest updates. The lag came with some update. (Was it Android 10?)
They fixed ghost notifications on glance-screen couple updates ago and now with latest update the broke it again.
Well ok, camera is AMAZING sometimes with manual mode, but with auto-mode 70% of them are awful.
This phone really is such a let down for it's price. (500€)
Actually i was so frustrated with it that i've been using my old LG G4. Not even nearly as nervebreaking experience as Nokia 9.

  • Carol

Krachtpatser Karel. , 13 Feb 2020I read reviews on websit4s from retail stores and webshops of ph... moreNever tought about it, but you are right.

  • Krachtpatser Karel.

I read reviews on websit4s from retail stores and webshops of phone retailers about the Nokia 9 and I dont see the complaints issued here. Maybe that is because one can only leave a review after one bought the phone, so trolls are eliminated. Same counts for me Nokia 7.2 it is awesome device and positive reviews, but again one can only leave a review once one actually purchased the phone online. You get a link, to write a review. Unlike on this forums any body can write what ever they want. Biased or not, troll or not. That is the difference.

  • Carol

Hirsimaki, 10 Feb 2020I was so excited when they announced this phone. I bought it 4 ... moreNever had one lag on this device, camera is actually f good. The finger print reader i never used. I do not know what Noki 9 you use, but is definetly not the one from HMD.

I was so excited when they announced this phone.
I bought it 4 months ago, but oh dear.. What kind of disappointment this was.
Camera is mediocre, fingerprint reader useless and there is so much lag. Only reset every 2 days keeps it usable. There's so much little quirks which pisses me off. I hope Nokia will shape up for next flagship they release. Nokias glory days from 2000's are long gone atleast for now. Sad to see this since i'm from Finland.

  • Carol

sanshiro, 08 Feb 2020I hope Nokia will do something meaningful with their flagship th... moreYou have some good points, but i do not think HMD should lower their quality therefore their prices, as they should not be market as a cheap Brand, as they are not one. Their pricing is good, but in the rest you are right, they need to find stability, and fast. And they need more developers as i have a feeling their team is under constant presure because they need to support and update to many devices.

I hope Nokia will do something meaningful with their flagship this time.
I admire OnePlus for having developed their flagship very complete.
It's solid and they are improving their product every year. They found the correct formula to do it.
Nokia lost its way unfortunately with a few implementations that people did not like. They didn't follow a pattern which they could build on and this year they opt for a new approach.
I don't think they have the luxury to make a new start every year. They have to find a concept that works and build on it delivering a more finished product at a lower price-point than the competition. OnePlus thought it very well here. I hope their business and efforts will pay off.

  • Z

BACKHAMMER , 30 Jan 2020I got the Nokia 9 some days ago over de P30 and the phone is awesome!Bad choice.. Bad decision.. Nokia 9 is a poor flagship that you can get in this price range... Poor software optimisation, poor camera, poor battery life, an ancient processor.. It got everything you expect from a dull flagship.. P30 was far better than this.. sorry to disappoint you.. but hey it's ok as long as you satisfied..

  • Carol

Aadrian, 02 Feb 2020The update for the 5.1 plus isn't yet available so there might b... moreThe launcher problem is an android 10/ or maybe just android 10 one problem, pixel devices have the problem too. Google made a fix but it is still not good, HMD did not release that fix.

No Security Update for Nokia 9 Pureview in UK since November 2019.
Phone is sim free unlocked with giffgaff used with it.
Anyone else in the UK with no Security Updates since last November? Any with software issues from Android 10?

Carol, 31 Jan 2020Yes, i was talking about android's 10 biggest issue. Google blam... moreThe update for the 5.1 plus isn't yet available so there might be some fixes on that area first before it comes available. At least I hope so. Or it might be a Nokia 9 only issue, I have no idea about that. We'll see.