Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • snonre

snonre, 10 Nov 2010Dear haters: Different people have different needs, as i will... more"And it does burden the resources on the phone."

Oops, i meant "it doens't burden"

  • nikki

when is the blue colour version coming out ?

  • snonre

Dear haters:

Different people have different needs, as i will now explain to all of you

Iphone - Great for apps and games, you can jailbreak it to unleash is potential (e.g sending files through BT, using 3G for face time, but will void ur warranty). The easy to use and stable software also is a hit with the consumers

Android - An alternative to iphone (less app and games though). Great for iphone haters but still want a touchscreen. Updates for android OS are also coming fast. IMHO, android is greater than iOS overall

Blackberry - for those who like to stay in touch online on the move. Popular with VIP and business men for the encrypted emails. Has also a nice qwerty keypad in all models.

Symbian - for expert user. It takes some time to learn, but once u get the hang off it, god know's what you can do with Symbian OS. Also great for multimedia junkies (natively supports the most multimedia formats). And it does burden the resources on the phone.

So u see guys, there is no point of forcing another guy to buy another phone just because u like or have it.

  • Gitty

prasanth, 10 Nov 2010Does Nokia N8 support SWF wallpapersYeah,i think u r talking about screensaver !

  • prasanth

Does Nokia N8 support SWF wallpapers

  • Anonymous

bought my n8 on oct 23, oct 25, it hangs so nokia replaced it with a new one on oct 26. it's nov 10, after only 17 days, it hangs again. this time i just press the power for about 10 seconds and then the phone just turn off. i turn it on again and its working again. nokia quality not as good as before.

  • Nameless

Ali Abdulla, 10 Nov 2010yes there is a restart problem.. for me it happens when the ph... moreThis is why people said that don't use those 3rd party softwares yet. N8's OS (Symbian^3) is not stable yet. Let it go for a few months and get at least one update. Then if you'ld install the 3rd party softwares, maybe this wouldn't happen. And SPB shell is not reliable. If you would read thoroughly, you would know that they said to install it at your own risk. Anyway, TC.

  • snonre

[deleted post]doesn't even have a portrait keyboard like iphone - will come with the software update

the processor speed is 680 mhz - is quite fast enough for the symbian os. Coupled with the great GPU, this baby is faster than u first thought. Im also very sure that hackers will find a way to overclock the processor in the future.

the lack of apps like iphone - Symbian^3 is still new, just a month old. U dont expect a new os like that to have 300k apps from the start do u? Even iOS just started off with a few apps. There is currently more than 120 apps available for the n8 and more coming soon.

  • Ali Abdulla

yes there is a restart problem..
for me it happens when the phone tries to connect to the internet, and there is no internet... email client especially..

it trys to connect, then 0.1 sec later says failed, then again trys to connect 0.1 sec afterward, and fails again, and so on, .. this takes about 2 secs, then the system mini restart

restart takes around 10 seconds... annoying but ya :(

with SPB as a default home-screen, the restart and launching of spb takes 20-25 seconds on total...

  • kuchiki

kuchiki, 10 Nov 2010hye, can i ask u a few questions.. since ur previous phone is th... morethank you so much :)

i'm definitely at ease now. no more doubts.

thanx again :)

  • Rohit

sun, 10 Nov 2010its weird question is it possible to connect pendrive to it n8 ,... moreYes it is possible by USB on the go cable supplied with the phone.

  • Lionel

[deleted post]Smart Dailing does not work, simple as that. Nokia maintains that it is a default feature, but they cant get it working on my N 8

  • Anonymous

Lionel, 10 Nov 2010Cant get the Smart Dailing feature working, even though Nokia cl... moreI have just tried the Smart Dailing on my phone and it also does not work. Is there a problem with the N8 sold in Malaysia? What about users in Asia, have anyone encountered the same problem ???????????

  • Anonymous

Cant get the Smart Dailing feature working, even though Nokia claims it to be a default feature.Returned to dealer in Malaysia, and after testing 3 phones, confirmed that might be problem with software. Took the N8 to Nokia Service centre and after reloading software, could not get this feature working and gave up. Nobody at Nokia Care line able to assist. It appears that the N 8 sold in Malaysia have a different software or something wrong with hardware.
I advise that potential buyers to take note and check before buying the N 8

  • Lionel

Cant get the Smart Dailing feature working, even though Nokia claims it to be a default feature.Returned to dealer in Malaysia, and after testing 3 phones, confirmed that might be problem with software. Took the N8 to Nokia Service centre and after reloading software, could not get this feature working and gave up. Nobody at Nokia Care line able to assist. It appears that the N 8 sold in Malaysia have a different software or something wrong with hardware.
I advise that potential buyers to take note and check before buying the N 8

  • Ijaz

nik_cupid, 09 Nov 2010go for N8 buddy, it is the best phone available at it's price point.I love n8, nokia n8 is my life. .coz it got all the features i ever dreamed. .plz sm 1 tel me all its features n details. .oh god plz do smtng. .i love n8. .bt im nt so rich plz hlp me, my email id is aloneijaz@gmail.com plz email me

  • Gitty

I formatted mass memory last nyt,it
was still restarting,but today
morning i went to other state,since
then it is surprisingly working nice !
My phn is blank,now i am afraid to
put songs,pictures in my N8 ! Should
I keep it blank

  • Kentthegreet

This phone has countless of problems. Same problem I got on my Nokia X6 16Gig

Read reviews: http://www.phonesreview.co.uk/2010/05/28/nokia-n­8-review-problems-and-questions/

  • Anonymous

kuchiki, 10 Nov 2010hye, can i ask u a few questions.. since ur previous phone is th... moreI've only been using it a couple days so keep that in mind.

So far the browser experience is MUCH better than the E72. The E72 was pain stakingly slow for example at going to a previous page. With the N8 it is much faster. Also, with the larger screen it's a much better experience overall

Regarding the touch screen, I am starting to get used to it and also my typing on the onscreen keyboard has improved dramatically in just 2 days.

Finally, from what I have seen in the last 2 days the battery life is quite impressive. I spent hours today downloading downloading apps, browsing the web over 3G and WiFi, and also configuring the panels/settings. I also made a few phone calls and used the FM transmitter to listen to music in my car. The phone has been with me since 8am and by 11pm at night it still has ~30% charge left. That is quite good if you ask me.

  • fakhrul

its the most attractive phone set I have ever see.