Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Wheez

Rizwan, 08 Oct 2010What is the expected price of N8? I am planning to own one but w... moreIm not indian but i read that preordered around 26k

  • Anonymous

Whatever the haters say

i will feel proud of being nokia n8 user, i can show off my

12 mp camera that is not only megapixel
show them i can use it as netbook with bluetooth mouse and keyboard
i can use my hdtv as big monitor to watch movie, surf net
i dont need any pouch to cover my beautiful n8 design
iwant to buy 32g memory card to boost my phone memory to 48g
iwill never get lost with that free lifetime offline ovi maps navigation
i can play games likeangry birds smoothly thanks to its broadcom gpu chip
i can buy two n8 because it is so well priced

  • Rizwan

What is the expected price of N8? I am planning to own one but would not like shell out more than 20k

  • Wheez

tictactaylor, 08 Oct 2010Nokia have already killed themselves I feel. They have not kept ... moreIf i knew you rl id make a bet with you

Nokia wont use android and Nokia will not die away anywhere.

Just look at the daily interest and hits. Compare it to any other current smartphone. And you say Nokia is dying?

  • tictactaylor

Wheez, 08 Oct 2010Nokia will not use Android. They have Symbian and maemo/meego. G... moreNokia have already killed themselves I feel. They have not kept ahead of the competition and the likes of htc etc have put the final nail in the coffin. I feel like with buying a laptop you will soon find the operating system will be the same on every phone, most likely android. And each phone manufacturer will as they are now add different features. You will not always bother who makes the device, but for quality you may go for a branded device, but that's the way the market will go. It will make it easy for applications and games to be made. Bada may too not be a dead duck, but do admire samsung for taking a risk. Nokia I love but sorry who cares now who makes the phone Nokia applications are not enough . Nokia needs to make android or there through as a smartphone company period!

  • DAM

@ Wheez
Please answer a few questions 4 me
1-do u have nokia messaging(push email) activated?if yes how many accounts?
2-have u tested the battery life with and w/o data activated?
3-does it have smart dialling?if yes does it search also company/nickname/job etc?
Thanks

  • snonre

hayato, 08 Oct 2010heh, i would never buy an n8 or any phone with 50x50 display at ... moreDude, he just being sarcastic and expressing that the N8 is a good phone.

  • Wheez

prince78, 08 Oct 2010Thanks a lot Wheez.. U have been a great helping hand to me with... moreThank you for your kind words. My crusade will go on a little further till large crowds such as india will get the device. As ive been amongst the first retail owners of the N8, I saw the need for defending its pride against the uncalled for hate its getting from fans of other brands, who are insecure due to N8s popularity.

Soon the phones success will be everywhere and the happy owners will steamroll the negative nokia haters, then my job is done

Before thr N8 i never paid attention to newest phones or read/wrote on forums like these. Im not sure if ill manage to just forget all this, cos ive now spent hundreds of hours reading and writing here. Its been extremely time consuming (time which i dont have cos of university), but i dont regret it :D

  • hayato

Anonymous, 08 Oct 2010Even if the display was 50*50 nokia fans will be happy. The sam... moreheh, i would never buy an n8 or any phone with 50x50 display at this price bracket. Is that how bad you see a nokia fan is?

  • prince78

Wheez, 08 Oct 2010Nokia will not use Android. They have Symbian and maemo/meego. G... moreThanks a lot Wheez.. U have been a great helping hand to me with all ur comments and posts. i've been following all ur comments on N8 since last 7 days.. I'm a proud owner of a nokia 5800 and a nokia E72. E72 is a nice device balanced overall. The only thing i disliked about nokia 5800 was its laggy OS and inconsistency of tapping method..
With E72 i'm fully satisfied function wise but wanted a responsive touchscreen phone with a larger display.. For that i was considering samsung wave or galaxy S. But again i wanted the functionality Symbian OS.. Now after reading all ur comments and early reviews from various sites i've made up my mind that i will go for Nokia N8.. Thanks dude.. Please do continue ur good work.... Cheers..

  • Partha

kmmbd, 08 Oct 2010I use an N86, and it's got class 32 EDGE, the speed is far super... moreCan u plz help me.coz all the high end phones have EDGE class 10 except nokia.only nokia is providing class 32.so wat if i want to buy Galaxy S or iPhone 4.both hav class 10 EDGE.I use gp.

  • Wheez

tictactaylor, 08 Oct 2010Why such a low resolution display? Using to write reply on an Or... moreNokia will not use Android. They have Symbian and maemo/meego. Going with android would make them a bulk manufacturer and probably kill nokia in the long run.

  • Wheez

Anonymous, 08 Oct 2010Even if the display was 50*50 nokia fans will be happy. The sam... moreYou completely ignore the GPU of the N8 that brings it on par with other 1ghz devices both in real life and benchmarks. I like you objective approach, but you need to do more research next time

N8 pretty much has a better battery life even when its battery is only 1200 mah.

  • SunnyP

Android:
Lots of Media Support.
Google Brand.
Open Source.
Fast development.
Good software upgrade mechanism.
Good UI.
Resource Intensive.
OK Features set.
Min-Priced handset sim free: 300$

Bada:
Samsung promoted.
Not many apps available.

iOS (iphone):
Marvelous UI.
Apple hyped.
Lots of apps.
Great resolution
Resource Intensive
Not open, as in most of the features are blocked.
Apps only via itunes.
Min-Priced handset sim free: 500$

Symbian:
Less resource intensive.
Open Source.
Less battery consumed.
Lots of apps.
Good features.
Completely open, the user can use all the features to its full extent.
Negative Media Publicity.
Catching onto the new touch features.
Slow development pace.
Min-Priced handset sim free: 200$

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 08 Oct 2010Even if the display was 50*50 nokia fans will be happy. The sam... moresamsung has higher processor but battery is very bad..i charge twice a day my galaxy s.. galaxy s has mentioned as more battery power but it never worked what they said..android n.eed more power as well but still my SGS lags..so overall i prefer the phone should be well balanced whatever cpu or RAM

  • Anonymous

tictactaylor, 08 Oct 2010Why such a low resolution display? Using to write reply on an Or... moreEven if the display was 50*50 nokia fans will be happy. The same applies to iphone or android fans. Lets stop being fans of phone companies and start thinking about which phone to buy after seeing the phones and consulting people who own the phones. Basically i feel nokia has again taken a sick approach and not given us a fast processor. The present processor might be enough for symbian but imagine what a fast processor would have done. Regarding lower battery life that is no excuse, they need to also develop better batteries just like other phone companies like samsung and iphone have done.

  • tictactaylor

Why such a low resolution display? Using to write reply on an Orange San Francisco, a k a Zte Blade. Let's see you get a 480x800 oled display that many feel is as good at that of a desire. Many like me were waiting for Nokia to produce a decent smart phone is this it? Even the phone I'm using that cost 99 uk sounds is better regarding speed of processor and screen , plus do feel anything symbian is past it's sell by date. Where are Nokia's android phones? Samsung can produce phones with different operating systems why not Nokia?

  • Anonymous

N8 will be available here in Pinas on Oct 23 on pre-orders.
it comes with a 16GB USB thumbdrive!

  • richie

it is sad that all the haters leave their various forum to the n8 forum just to bash it even those very savvy people still say things that get me suprised at how savvy they really are. the nokia n8 is just one phone and no one phone that exactly complete cos in making a smartphone u have to give sumthin for the other. the say the n8 should do this like the iphone, do that like the andriods and that again like bada phones it is just one phone and it cant be all ur various phones at once.the n8 is the n8 and it has its high sides which out weighs its draw backs in my opinion n8 rocks and u guy are just threaten by its existence.

  • Anonymous

Must have apps and games for n8

swype
ovi maps
ovi browser
nokia internet radio
joikuspot
garmin mobile xt
opera mobile mini

angry bird
ovi maps racing and challenge
bounce battle