Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

anyone here knows how much free ram in N8??
hope its more than 150mb of free ram.


  • Stef

Nokia vs. Apple :-) Oh where are SonyEricsson/Samsung/HTC/LG fans ? lol
I like Tom messages. We can dislike Apple or iPhone for numerous reasons. I've never bought an Apple product because I don't like MAC, I uses Philips MP3 player (and after my mobile) instead iPod and I don't like to have the same devices "like all people".
Just, we are not *stupid* like I can understand from friend (or others) if we have an other mobile than iPhone.
SonyEricsson(my best now), Nokia, Samsung ... are great too.
And hope for WinMo 7 + Symbian^4/^5 for battle agains iPhone.

YES, iPhone is really easy-to-use. Incredible apps (but 45 weather apps really usefull?), Good design....
Until now, bad features (radio, Flash LED/Xenon) but with iPhone 4G it will be better !!!

iPhone is a GREAT device, but I don't like "closed" environment as Apple make... Yes you can jailbreak. But it's not logical at all to must modify an item for use it as YOU want !

  • warlock1117

this looks like a power-packed phone! would it last for long? cause the price range is not that high...

  • Niraj

arul, 01 Jun 2010dude, n8 is crap with still 600 mhz processor. and stupid sym... moreOk tell me which Android phone has xenon flash in the same price of N8..? I will go for it. No answer..? Go back your home..

  • Dev

arul, 01 Jun 2010dude, n8 is crap with still 600 mhz processor. and stupid sym... moreIts a ARM 1176 processor with default clock rate of 680Mhz and the ARM 11 family processors come with great overclocking ability. Particullarly ARM 1176 can be safely overblocked up to 840Mhz. Get the facts clear before you post something.

  • Aseem

[deleted post]obv n8 is next big thing in mobile world. if u like any other device go to that device forum. Even with 680mhz processor it has all the features nd still it is running smooth. other device like x10 dn't have all the features like multi-taking, divx support, full flash support etc nd then they are smooth that too with 1ghz processor. Presently n8 is the best. I dn't understand yy some dumb fools are arguing unnecessarily. It is the first device with hdmi support, the best camera phone, u cn connect ur pendrives with it, bluetooth 3.0 and most importantly it is gonna be cheap as compared to other devices which lack all these features.

  • nick

i dont understand why people dont accept the fact that nokia is the best damn thing. i mean if they're on top, one should appreciate their efforts...
NOKIA RULES...

  • arul

Dev, 01 Jun 2010You comparing silly samsung with Nokia? Samsungs doesnt even pr... moredude,
n8 is crap
with still 600 mhz processor.
and stupid symbian is still crap.
go for google os.

  • Dev

[deleted post]You comparing silly samsung with Nokia?
Samsungs doesnt even provide proper updates, half of the phones are running on touch wiz crap with no OS, how do you expect firmware complaints from these phones? They dont even have proper solution to push firmware upgrades.

  • Jack

They should have put in a qwerty keyboard and it would be perfect for net browsing, but I still might get this phone.

  • sameer

symbian getting snapdragon but not 1ghz .... Symbian 4 ..

  • 5800xm_user

Niraj, 01 Jun 2010If you see the video review of Galaxy S you will also see that k... moreYes that's the sad bit. It's true that bigger numbers are better, but it doesn't apply to all phones.

  • Niraj

5800xm_user, 01 Jun 2010lol Some people in dailymobile, anti-Nokia movement, hahaha say ... moreIf you see the video review of Galaxy S you will also see that kind of lag on Galaxy S. But still no one will complaine because it have 1ghz processor. Most of people only see the numbers but not actual performance.

  • Dev

I just laugh when someone says I want 1Ghz processor on Symbian!

  • 5800xm_user

lol Some people in dailymobile, anti-Nokia movement, hahaha say there's a tiny bit of lag when scrolling on the multitasking bar.

  • Niraj

5800xm_user, 01 Jun 2010Before you eagle eyed fanboys that are eager to see flaws in thi... moreWhat do you mean by I'm searching flaws on this video..? I love N8 and dont see any flaw. Can you explain me what you mean by saying this..?

  • 5800xm_user

Niraj, 01 Jun 2010See N8 performing multitasking ( a slightly new firmware, it don... moreBefore you eagle eyed fanboys that are eager to see flaws in this vid, be mindful of the fact that this is initial firmware on the N8.

  • Niraj

See N8 performing multitasking ( a slightly new firmware, it dont lags and see the icons also changed)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSSugfrqxNM

  • Niraj

5800xm_user, 01 Jun 2010There is actually a large possibility of Symbian^4 not being ava... moreHere said that symbian^3 is also made to support multicore cpu. And mind it there is also a version of Arm11 which is multicore. I think N8 is using that version.

  • 5800xm_user

There is actually a large possibility of Symbian^4 not being available for N8.

http://developer.symbian.org/wiki/index.php/Scra­tchpad_Symbian_minimum_hardware_requirements

That link has the requirements for Symbian Operating Systems. The Low tier category basing on the info, refers to s60v2, while Mid Tier refers to s60v3 and v5. High Tier devices are divided into two, with the one requiring A8 Cortex exactly corresponding to the Symbian^3. Nokia just used an ARM 11 with 680Mhz since it has better power management features than A8.

However note that Nokia made a deal with Qualcomm to provide them with Snapdragons, and we see that the highest tier Symbian OS requires SnapDragon hardware at a minimum 720Mhz. This likely refers to Symbian^4.

Note however that Nokia has said it wants to bring smartphones to the masses, and they currently have the cheapest smartphones. From this, I would expect the low end to lower midrange (currently held by 5800, 5530 and 5230 variants) to be populated by Symbian^3 devices since it has cheaper hardware. The high midrange to high end would be populated by Symbian^4 (currently held by X6 and N97 duo) since Snapdragons are expensive, MeeGo holding the flagship, and sharing high end with Symbian^4.

Quoted from a forum member in Dailymobile.se