Nokia N8
MORE PICTURES

Nokia N8

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • rdca

Its so many n8 haters putting bad cmments here, n8 haters no one can believd what are you talking about negative cmments againts n8, because n8 is the best phone and best seller in mobile market stores worldwide. N8 it has new technology usb otg,hdmi,fm transmitter,12mp with xenon flash,great gpu hd games and many more, so n8 haters if you want new features like n8 buy it firs before you judge. Im using this phne since dec1,2010 up now without any issue of hang and laggy, i had 16gb micrsdhc fully loaded of 40movies with 284mb remaining memory,16gb built in memory with fully loaded of thousand of songs,hd games,photos with 800mb remainining memory, so n8 haters my phone is fully loaded its really work fast and smooth responsive. Stop bashng n8, n8 is the best phone.

Note: Dont trust to all n8 haters, believed me n8 is rock its perfect gadget its worth to buy with no doubt 101%.

N8 ORANGE User
sw.011.012
phillippines

  • Sasuke

I own a N8 but not gonna praise it.
I'll just say that Nokia is manufacturer AND OS developer... Only Apple do that and Samsung with Bada OS.
Android will b dead in 2-3 years.
That's my opinion.

  • esw

nokia, 22 Jan 2011MUST READ I AM GIVING 100% GOLDEN SOLUTION TO N8 USER TO SOL... morethanks message

  • Afolabi Abiola

I'm from Nigeria using MTN network,My pain is that I couldn't use my Nokia N8 to browse,

  • Anonymous

adkane, 22 Jan 2011"-get decent support and software updates (get from version... moreHTML5 was coming in 2012 however recent news show that the standard "won't make it" so recently they decided to stick to just HTML and implement it one step at the time:

http://theiphonefever.blogspot.com/2010/04/5-rea­sons-flash-is-here-to-stay.html

LoLz, would be fun to see steve jobs "no flash" face when he reads HTML5 won't be finalized in the next decade =))
Btw N8 does have html 5 support at least for the tags released so far.

As for the updates, it does work THAT way for android and iOS. It doesn't for symbian because the last devices with decent hardware before symbian 3 were N82 and N95. The can't upgrade because they've put miserable hardware in the previous devices and instead of this being a lesson, they keep being cheap.

  • Anonymous

Kevin, 22 Jan 2011Been using for 2 months and i must admit it's not so great after... more@ kevin yes agree with u

  • adkane

Anonymous, 22 Jan 2011hi my friend adkane okkk goto google type problems of n8 and do... moreHey no phone is perfect. If i were to type 'problems of *insert phone name here*', i would get the same results so that doesnt prove anything.

"till i have read the latest conversation and reviews from nokia discussion forum posted by people that they r facing problems and some r commenting that from 2nd batch also some faulty n8 have found and regarding about n8 dead too"

that statement is full of BS, nvr trusted the forumers at nokia's discusstion forum anyway. Some are just pure trollers.



  • Kevin

Been using for 2 months and i must admit it's not so great after all. Camera is good and the rest are really upset. Slow, boring ui and unstable software. Find my wife iphone4 far better in terms of everything except i4 are nightmare snapping photos at night.Will definetly switch to the coming iphone5.
Been using nokia since the great 8250 in market and have been purchase dozens of nokia but guess N8 will be my last.Sorry nokia, really hope u could done better ios, stable software and should know what end user want.

  • adkane

Anonymous, 22 Jan 2011Can't: -get decent support and software updates (get from versi... more"-get decent support and software updates (get from version 1 to 2. No symbian has ever made it to another software version)"

is simply because it doesnt work that way for symbian os. go learn a thing or two about symbian os firmware updates first.

"-get developer interest and have a wide app&game choice"

who says so. actually there are a very large number of apps for symbian os. problem is that ovi store doesnt really provide a good point of centralization for this apps. thus you will have to do a bit of digging if you cant find your app in ovi store. btw if your actually keeping track of symbian^3, there have been a decent number of apps and games for it already. and QT coding is just gonna expand the number of apps for symbian^3 to a larger scale.

"-run on a tablet"

true, but for a price of an average tablet in my country, i can get myself a nice new lappy or netbook.

"-have up to date hardware ("because symbian is not as demanding as other OSes" well windows 7 only requires 1gb of ram but you don't see anyone sticking strictly to that 1gb, now do you?)
-decent resolution. It WAS ok for 2007 but it's 2011 now and 800x480 is a standard"

There are two things for this post
-hardware is all about manufacturer, not software. Heck even some droid phones run on lower specs than symbian^3 phones but no one seams to be complaining. BTW windows 7 needs AT LEAST not ONLY 1gb ram. and IMHO putting higher specs on a symbian phone will be overkill. but it wont help one bit cause there are some people who turn down a nokia phone cause they heard the word 'symbian', no matter what super-duper-ultra specs you put into it cause some people just hate symbian (but they dont really exactly know why they hate it).
-symbian DOESNT have a limitation to the screen resolution. the best example is the E90 internal screen resolution. The reason why it sticked to the nHD resolution is because it can provided a 16:9 ratio, perfect for multimedia. (symbian os is still regarded as the best os for mutltimedia)

-full flash support

"thats coming soon to symbian^3 as well as HTML5 so be patient"

  • Anonymous

adkane, 22 Jan 2011Can you post actual and proven numbers to prove your statisticshi my friend adkane okkk goto google type problems of n8 and do a search there u will find 100' of page and still i have read the latest conversation and reviews from nokia discussion forum posted by people that they r facing problems and some r commenting that from 2nd batch also some faulty n8 have found and regarding about n8 dead too.see people u got perfect phone with no faults they will obviously think that people are posting fake information but people should think from there point of view who r facing problems too thats what iam saying i am not against n8 its best phone but the faults and problems of this is still not finished yet its been 3 months now so just want from nokia that first they should find all problems from hardware to software and then they should solve it and then they should manufacture it..its not good that problems are still found on set and they r continuing their shipping and sales without bothering......

  • Anonymous

KING, 22 Jan 2011BRO what is it that andriod can and symbian cant? Can't:
-get decent support and software updates (get from version 1 to 2. No symbian has ever made it to another software version)
-get developer interest and have a wide app&game choice
-run on a tablet
-have up to date hardware ("because symbian is not as demanding as other OSes" well windows 7 only requires 1gb of ram but you don't see anyone sticking strictly to that 1gb, now do you?)
-decent resolution. It WAS ok for 2007 but it's 2011 now and 800x480 is a standard
-full flash support

  • adkane

Anonymous, 22 Jan 2011the day when n8 launched from that day till today about 70% of c... moreCan you post actual and proven numbers to prove your statistics

  • Anonymous

the day when n8 launched from that day till today about 70% of comments i have seen in whole internet that this handset has lots of problem and only 30% i have seen that this mobile rockss..so obviously 70% overtakes 30% so it is sure that n8 will not survive in market too long bcoz only 30% r satisfied and 70% r annoyed bcoz of the faults so its 100% nokia's fault that they r not seriously looking forward to the faults and despite of that they r continuing their shipping and sales i don't know what nokia is doing these days i think so nokia days r over.now people will think whether to buy nokia or something else .days back when people only refer to nokia without knowing others but now days have change now people think whether to buy nokia or not ...so nokia do something to survive in the race of mobiles bcoz in past their were no competitors but now the time has change.so best of luck..

  • KING

[deleted post]BRO what is it that andriod can and symbian cant?

  • sunil kushwaha

Shallow space bar, 22 Jan 2011Does any app exist which enables us to download torrents to the ... moreya, installed SYMTORRENT application, its for s5th edition but work properly.

  • nokia

MUST READ
I AM GIVING 100% GOLDEN SOLUTION TO N8
USER
TO
SOLVE UR PROBLEM N8
PROBLEM:
1. Phone hangs then
restarts after a
few seconds
2.phone hangs, shuts down, then cannot be started up
again for a while, like 30
minutes.
3)music and video player goes
blank sometime
4)widget not working properly 5)browser not working properly
N8 SOLUTION: Mine also has
defect in
it and i rectify in following way. ~back up ur
msg,contact,videos,image
to PC through ovi suite.
~then format ur mmc through PC
and remove
it. ~remove 3rd party app,games
from ur phone memory and mass
memory
~delete msg and contacts
~do soft reset by pressing
*#7780# then
~do hard reset by pressing
*#7370#
~u must have latest version of
NSU and ovi suite v3.0.0.284
~after then reinstall ur original N8 firmware from nokia
care or from NSU(Nokia software
updater) and after that
~then update ur phone with first
firmware release v12.011 on
1nov 2010 through NSU/OVI SUITE OR FOTA(firmware over
the air) by going to setting-
software-update.
FILE SIZE-2.89 MB and then
restart ur device.
IMPROVEMENTS- ^Boost up the performance and
stability of phone. ~after Then update ur phone
with'phone app update' firmware
release on 1jan via FOTA.
File size-3.3MB.
And restart ur phone.
If firmware is not available through fota then update from
NSU/ovi suite.
IMPROVEMENTS-
^Restarting issue solve
^homescreen changes now fast
and smoothly ^overall stability and
performance improve.
^hanging marginally decreases. ~then update ur phone with
latest PR 1.0 release on 15 jan.
IT is available via FOTA/NS
file size-1.1 Mb.
And then restart ur phone if it
automatically doesnt restart. IMPROVEMENTS-
^Browser speed increase
^camera runs fast
^folder opening become fast
^more smooth transition in UI.
^gallery runs fast ^finger scan to unlock screen
increases
~now update ur video player
with firmware app "video subtitle
"that provide subtitles in video.
It is available via FOTA and restart ur phone. ~now put ur
images,video,msg,contacts back
into ur phone and then restart it.
U will find that ur phone runs
very smooth without any hangs
and lags and restarting problem NOTE-most of the firmware has
been available world wide except
PR 1.0 .if any of the firmware
does not release in ur country it
will be available SOON .contact ur
local Nokia care. NEXT FIRMWARE PR 1.1 IS
COMING ON 24 JAN.
IMROVEMENTS & CHANGELOG-
^New W Lan Icon
^New clock animation if you
select for the screensaver to have
music song listed
^Overall fast and very smooth
performance. New features-
^landscape dialer
^search for music,pictures etc
^ new split input
interface (cool)
^cached web pages with forward and backward
buttons,
^configuration of view
for functions,(grid and list)
^navigation using address from
contact book BUGS IT WILL FIX ARE-
^WLAN search,
^the
functionality of not saving the
message for SMS, keyboard ^Touch responsiveness. After that PR2.0 BIG UPDATE
WILL RELEASE ON FEB 15
50+improvements r coming
-like new web browser with lots
of function like
copy,paste,multiple tabs,visual bookmarks ,web page
saving,synchronisation with
pc,ultra fast etc.
-split screen keyboard
-new impoved gallery
-improvement in homescreens etc.
WE WE SHOULD BE HAPPY THAT
NOKIA IS COMMITTED TO GIVE
MOST USER FRIENDLY AND BUG
FREE OS TO ITS USERS REMEMBER-THE BIGGEST UPDATE
PR 3.! AKA S^4 WILL COMES IN
SUMMER WITH A TOTALLY NEW UI
LIKE MAEMO AND WITH MORE
REAL LOOK AND TRANSITIONS
Thank you

  • Anonymous

Toughness of the aluminum N8 compared to E72

http://www.thenokiareport.com/2011/01/nokia-n8-n­o-case-no-screen-protector-no.html

  • zuber

i never had a beter cell phone than this. It has all the features i need. I don't even carry my laptop.

  • Villu

[deleted post]Good Catch..sorry about this..:-)

  • zuperman

gitty, 22 Jan 2011wtf ! N8's 4m 1st batch were faulty ! If u ve faulty then go to ... morefaulty means = ??? my n8 have a super slow changing screen position for about 5 secs and for some times it say insert sim card even though it have one then restart.